Fordmods Logo

transmission ???? 

 

Page 2 of 3 [ 31 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

 
 Post subject: Re: transmission ????
Posted: Thu Aug 20, 2009 12:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 6746

Joined: 13th Mar 2006

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: NCII Fairlane

Location: Bathurst
NSW, Australia

LP_ wrote:
Froudey wrote:
LP_ wrote:
EBII to EL 6 cylinders do not have the separate TCM only the V8's

you sure it was only the 8's?


Yes have helped work on the following
2 EBII, 1 ED six cylinders that have the ECU only
1 EB1 six cylinders had separate TCM now runs a EL Ghia ECU only


i stand corrected

 

_________________

R.I.P Tobias my son.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: transmission ????
Posted: Thu Aug 20, 2009 12:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

LP is correct.

The vehicles he has referred to are/were my cars.


The pics above of the black box are for a GLi EB2 Body Control Module, not the auto ECU. The Auto ECU is mounted to the left of the steering column above the handbrake lever, and should be silver in colour, much like an ECU.

To convert your car to 4spd, is a big job, and would require a fair bit of rewiring. Labour wise the cost would be quite expensive, and in my opinion it would be cheaper to buy another Lane with the 4spd auto fitted from factory.

BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: transmission ????
Posted: Thu Aug 20, 2009 2:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 6467

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

BenJ wrote:
LP is correct.

The vehicles he has referred to are/were my cars.


The pics above of the black box are for a GLi EB2 Body Control Module, not the auto ECU. The Auto ECU is mounted to the left of the steering column above the handbrake lever, and should be silver in colour, much like an ECU.

To convert your car to 4spd, is a big job, and would require a fair bit of rewiring. Labour wise the cost would be quite expensive, and in my opinion it would be cheaper to buy another Lane with the 4spd auto fitted from factory.

BenJ


What drugs are you on BenJ??????
This is a pic of a body electronic module/smartlock module, which is found above the parkbrake.
High series BEM's have 2 plug in's.

 

 

Attachments:
IMGP2565_resize.JPG
IMGP2565_resize.JPG [ 133.01 KiB | Viewed 26 times ]
IMGP2564_resize.JPG
IMGP2564_resize.JPG [ 142.28 KiB | Viewed 9 times ]
IMGP2563_resize.JPG
IMGP2563_resize.JPG [ 196.64 KiB | Viewed 27 times ]
IMGP2562_resize.JPG
IMGP2562_resize.JPG [ 184.35 KiB | Viewed 18 times ]

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: transmission ????
Posted: Thu Aug 20, 2009 3:03 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 114

Joined: 21st May 2009

Ride: EBI Wagon & Mass Transit

Location: The Hills Area
NSW, Australia

yes that is the smartlock module only.

The BCM is different and located adjacent to radio on the right hand side (between the radio and the handbrake lever)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: transmission ????
Posted: Thu Aug 20, 2009 3:16 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

lp is right again!!!
your a fast learner luke...

the black module in the pic is the bcm not the auto ecu..
as my ea 5 speed had one of these..
and i believe the one in my ed is blue..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: transmission ????
Posted: Thu Aug 20, 2009 3:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

Yep, that is a smartlock module, which is mounted directly above the handle of the handbrake, to the dash, in EB11 Sept 92 onwards. Oh, and an EB1 does not have smartlock, so that is absent in those cars.

In an EB1, which use the stand alone auto ECU is mounted as I indicated above.

I had to cut that bracket off to fit the manual pedal box.

Incidentally, my EB Fairmont Ghia Wagon had a White BCM. I swapped in a Green EB11 BCM as the functions are a little more refined, but had to swap a wire or two as the pinouts are slightly different.

And for those that don't know, EF/ELs have the BCM and smartlock combined into one module, unlike the EB11/ED which have two separate modules.

Cheers
BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: transmission ????
Posted: Fri Aug 21, 2009 3:18 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 6467

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

My 88 EA had a BCM..it was black and is above the parkbrake...it controls wiper functions, interior light function including the courtesy light for the ignition key. They are different for Fairmonts, F/Ghia's, and Fairlanes & LTD's.
In any E series Falcons/F'monts etc...you can hear the BCM clicking when the intermitent wiper setting is engaged.
The EA GL..flick the wiper lever towards you for washers.....2 sweeps of wiper arms
The EA S pack and up.....4 sweeps.
My current ED GLi.....2 sweeps.

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Last edited by cjh on Fri Aug 21, 2009 11:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: transmission ????
Posted: Fri Aug 21, 2009 8:23 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

I know. Ford was all over the place.

My GL EB11, didn't have a BCM at all. Just had relays.

No consistency from Ford. Makes it nice and confusing.

BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: transmission ????
Posted: Fri Aug 21, 2009 11:56 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 6467

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

BenJ wrote:
I know. Ford was all over the place.

My GL EB11, didn't have a BCM at all. Just had relays.

No consistency from Ford. Makes it nice and confusing.

BenJ


Are you really sure about that????...they all had them...controlled wipers, washers, interior lights, central locking...etc..etc.

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: transmission ????
Posted: Sat Aug 22, 2009 12:02 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 6746

Joined: 13th Mar 2006

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: NCII Fairlane

Location: Bathurst
NSW, Australia

cjh wrote:
BenJ wrote:
I know. Ford was all over the place.

My GL EB11, didn't have a BCM at all. Just had relays.

No consistency from Ford. Makes it nice and confusing.

BenJ


Are you really sure about that????...they all had them...controlled wipers, washers, interior lights, central locking...etc..etc.


my ebi had acrude bem.

 

_________________

R.I.P Tobias my son.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: transmission ????
Posted: Sat Aug 22, 2009 1:18 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

Yep, very sure. Remember I pulled my dash wiring and inspected it all as part of the dash upgrade to the EL gear. There was no BCM. I also have wiring diagrams that show both arrangements.

BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: transmission ????
Posted: Thu Dec 03, 2009 2:15 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 251

Joined: 9th Sep 2009

Ride: ED falcon gli - XR6 replica

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

ok so desided to post in this topic because it seemed to be most current.

i have an ED gli 4 spd auto and from a mate im getting all the 5sp manual gear outta his old ea/eb (just kno is mpfi).

ive read around and seen some issues with smartlock system during this conversion, im guessing because ive got smartlock at the moment and the manual ecu im guessing wont have it, is there going to be a problem? or will i just lose smartlock? should i be looking for a smartlock 5 speed man ecu? or do i have a separate BCM that i have to swap?
also are the tailshafts the same length?

cheers fellas

 

_________________

Ford ED Falcon Gli, T5 conv, Twinlight lights, exedy sports tuff clutch, modified EA front grill, ED XR6 complete interior, 19" speedy graphites, monroe gt shocks, kingspring superlows, CAI, ported tickford head, 3:45 LSD.
Soon: paccies, custom centre console

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: transmission ????
Posted: Thu Dec 03, 2009 2:30 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

p****d'N'broke wrote:
ok so desided to post in this topic because it seemed to be most current.

i have an ED gli 4 spd auto and from a mate im getting all the 5sp manual gear outta his old ea/eb (just kno is mpfi).

ive read around and seen some issues with smartlock system during this conversion, im guessing because ive got smartlock at the moment and the manual ecu im guessing wont have it, is there going to be a problem? or will i just lose smartlock? should i be looking for a smartlock 5 speed man ecu? or do i have a separate BCM that i have to swap?
also are the tailshafts the same length?

cheers fellas


you can use a non smartlock ecu in a smartlock car.. smartlock isnt really that smart..lol..(just the ecu wont be imobilised when off)
you cant use a smartlock ecu in a non smartlock car without a bypass module..
aslong as the ecu is from a mpfi you can use it wether its from ea,eb or ed..
and your auto tailshaft and x member will be fine..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: transmission ????
Posted: Thu Dec 03, 2009 2:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 1166

Joined: 31st Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: ef falcon, el fairmont ghia

Location: Christchurch
New Zealand

snapper wrote:
hello everyone i am new on this i just want to ask a question i am pretty confuse . my car is na ford ltd 1988 model 3.9 transmission is 3 speed auto no overdrive on my car now but had no reseved ! i was thinking about change transmission to 4 speed auto with over drive .but i was told wont fit cos my car dont have overdrive button and wire ? i went to see my meacical he said wont fit cos of overdrive and wire loops ! then i went to see other fews mechical they said is will fit on my car some said wont fit could anyone help with this pls pls pls pls need HELP many thank


i think you mean da not na, and the da2 which is the first 4 speed, had 3:23 lsd.
i think you have to use the bellhousing off the 3 speed tho i could be wrong..
oops didn't relise this was a thread was couple of months old
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: transmission ????
Posted: Thu Dec 03, 2009 5:15 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 251

Joined: 9th Sep 2009

Ride: ED falcon gli - XR6 replica

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

awesome, thanks troyman. also is it easier to use a manual version of the engine wiring harness or just modify the auto one? i noticed on the conversion doc that the manual trans is topped up with dexIII? shouldnt it be 75w85 or something?

 

_________________

Ford ED Falcon Gli, T5 conv, Twinlight lights, exedy sports tuff clutch, modified EA front grill, ED XR6 complete interior, 19" speedy graphites, monroe gt shocks, kingspring superlows, CAI, ported tickford head, 3:45 LSD.
Soon: paccies, custom centre console

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 3  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 12:07 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names