Fordmods Logo

Trouble with flexplates 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Trouble with flexplates
Posted: Mon Oct 30, 2006 10:15 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 54

Joined: 27th May 2005

Ride: el fairmont ghia

Location: Wagga Wagga
NSW, Australia

Hi
Well i've been having problems with flexplates for the last 2 months. I have a El fairmont ghia auto with stage 3 crow cam, chip torque chip, 2800 rpm stally, mini spool.

I have broken 2 flexplates in 2 months. the last one was on the weekend when i took out the best 6 cyl burnout at the revfest, but on the way home it started going again.

It seems to be always chewing out the bolt holes to the crank.
If anyone knows where i can get a stronger flexplate from, it would be much appreciated.

 

_________________

LIVE LIFE FLAT OUT AND SIDEWAYS

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 30, 2006 10:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Id be looking for the reason why they are breaking instead of trying to find a stronger one.

Are the crank and convertor bolts being torqued up correctly? Are you using loctite? Any chance the convertor could be way off balance?

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 31, 2006 10:52 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 54

Joined: 27th May 2005

Ride: el fairmont ghia

Location: Wagga Wagga
NSW, Australia

got the convertor from jim mock and haven't checked if its out of balanced.

the first flexplate i done we didn't even take it off when we put the stally in. And it lasted problem 2-3 months. Then it chewed the bolt holes to the crank.

Then we put the next one on and used loctite. Done the tension up to wat was in the books and it only lasted 1 1/2 months.

Rang jim mock today and they recommed useing one off the AU and using AU bolts which are a lil short becuase he thinks they are botteming out. i don't think they are but its worth a try i think. maybe worth doing it up a lil tighter too.

 

_________________

LIVE LIFE FLAT OUT AND SIDEWAYS

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 02, 2006 9:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 7029

Joined: 18th Apr 2005

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

best thing to do is get another flywheel & take the converter to a machine shop & check for balance. it is possible that a bit of stator blade or impeller lodge it self tight, throwing it out of balance.

It might be just bad installation.... thats what I think.

click on the link below to find out what you're actually doing wrong.

http://www.partshp.com/ConverterInstructions.htm

 

_________________

Mind f**k!!! it works on feeble minded ignorant sheeples... there's plenty of em on this site... some are very intelligent but by god they are so thick!!!

Pakrat wrote:
You can buy them seppertly

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 5:36 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names