Fordmods Logo

V8 TCM in I6 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: V8 TCM in I6
Posted: Tue Nov 14, 2006 8:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

I have got a spare TCM from a ED V8 (non XR) laying around. Would there be much benifit in replacing the one in my 3.9 with the one from the V8 model??

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2006 5:55 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 51

Posts: 377

Joined: 22nd May 2005

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: NF Fairlane V8

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Nope!! won't work without lots of mods as the I6 has the Trans control built in the ECU, only the 8's have a seperate TCM.

 

_________________

The TORQUE Monster project begins!

Pic's, details and all the yummy stuff:
http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=22693

"There's no replacement for displacement!"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2006 6:33 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

NFGhia wrote:
Nope!! won't work without lots of mods as the I6 has the Trans control built in the ECU, only the 8's have a seperate TCM.


i am talking about a 3.9 which all have a sperate trans ECU but the shift points are s**t

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2006 6:44 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 51

Posts: 377

Joined: 22nd May 2005

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: NF Fairlane V8

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Ahh sorry was thinking EF/L's, so not sure there. :oops: I do know you need a second TPS on the throttle body for the V8 TCM.
So if you already have a second one on yours then there's the possibility of wiring it in. I've got the EF/L Fact man with all the info on the V8 one I can send to you if you need it.
But knowing Ford I doubt It'll be a plug and play thing. :cry:

 

_________________

The TORQUE Monster project begins!

Pic's, details and all the yummy stuff:
http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=22693

"There's no replacement for displacement!"

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 1:09 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names