Fordmods Logo

Variable Effort Power Steering 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Variable Effort Power Steering
Posted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 10:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 1934

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Ride: BA Falcon XR8

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

What are peoples opinions on variable effort power steering (VEPS)?

How does VEPS work exactly? Does it make the steering lighter at low speeds and heavier at high speeds? Is it a two stage mode (light or heavy), or is it infinitely varible dependant on speed?

I have a standard EL Fairmont (12/96) which doesn't have VEPS, but the wrecked EL Fairmont Ghia i have, does. I have a spare electrical socket in the wiring loom next to the oxygen sensor in the engine bay, but looking at the Ghia it has been taken by, obviously, the valving for the VEPS.

Now im assuming it will be a straight forward plug and play. I have recently swapped the ECU's over from a standard ECU (6DBB) to the Ghia unit (6DJA) and when i had my car in for a gearbox service an error code was discovered and identified as an error with the VEPS (obviously, as the VEPS rack was not present), which gives me the idea that it will all be plug-and-play.

If anyone has any answers to the above questions, it would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers - Matt :wink:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 10:45 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

el fairmont ghia's should have SSPS,
may have been replaced with a stocko at one stage?

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 11:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 2351

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Gallery: 30 images

Ride: Blown XR8

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

SSPS sucks.
I found in my old mans EL Ghia, it was still way to light even at 60-100km/h. I personally would not bother with it. If i had it, i would get it removed.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2007 12:10 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5587

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

Your standard ECU (6DBB) will run SSPS also, and will show the same error code when SSPS is not present.

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2007 1:18 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 354

Joined: 27th Jun 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghiaaaaa!

Location: Wesside, Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I cant decide, i drove my brothers AU2 Falcon for a week while mine was at the pannel beaters and I really dod't mind not having it. Now I've got mine back, i cant decide. Its really handy for around town and carparks but on the free way i find it too light like EL XR8 and definantly hasnt got as much 'feel' to it :)

 

_________________

Image
Whiteline'd

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2007 1:53 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 5051

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Kia Rio - 1.4L Auto

Power: 238 rwkw

Location: Westside
VIC, Australia

You will need to change the rack and the power steering lines, thats all that is different.

The wiring is all there, and as snap said, your existing Fairmont ECU would have run it. Fairmont ECU's are the same as a Fairlane.

While most people hate it, driving an EL with ticky alignment specs and bigger/wider tyres, its a godsend. Driving an EL with standard size wheels its very light, but stick a 17 x 8" rim on there, it firms up so its mid way between stock Ghia and non Ghia steering.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2007 9:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 1934

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Ride: BA Falcon XR8

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

snap0964 wrote:
Your standard ECU (6DBB) will run SSPS also, and will show the same error code when SSPS is not present.


Hmm strange, when i had the stock ECU there were no error codes at all :? .

Thanks for the help and suggestions guys!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2007 9:39 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 5051

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Kia Rio - 1.4L Auto

Power: 238 rwkw

Location: Westside
VIC, Australia

fordman351 wrote:
snap0964 wrote:
Your standard ECU (6DBB) will run SSPS also, and will show the same error code when SSPS is not present.


Hmm strange, when i had the stock ECU there were no error codes at all :? .

Thanks for the help and suggestions guys!


I just realised, your original ECU wasn't a Fairmont ECU. It would have been a GLi. Fairmont/Fairlane/Wagon ECU's are a 6DDx.

You never had a problem with shift points did you?
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 8 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 10:25 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names