Which tires are best? 

Page 1 of 2 [ 16 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

Post subject: Which tires are best?
Posted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 10:54 pm 
Fordmods Newbie

Ride: 2008 BF Falcon SR

VIC, Australia

Hi Gents,

Just wondering if anyone out there has used any of the below tire brands/models. I am looking to upgrade to either 18" or 19" wheels depending on what the costs look like without flaking out on a cheap set of tires. But I am a bit of a novice when it come to what tires would be best suited to what I use them for. My car is a 2008 mkII SR sedan (factory gas) so not really concerned too much about a tire that can withstand high performance, more after something that is going to have little road noise and has a reasonably good lifespan. This is what I have looked at/been recommended so far.

- Dunlop SP Sport 3000 (Simply thought of these because they were OEM fitted to BA xr's)
- Kumo KU19 Ecsta Asymetric
- Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymetric

If anyone can shed any light on these three tires (or suggest something better) it would be much appreciated.

Cheers!

Post subject: Re: Which tires are best?
Posted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 11:01 pm 
NSW Cruise Moderator

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: TE50

NSW, Australia

I would scrap those and go for a Falken ZE912. Good quality, low road noise for the price range. all these are around the $200 a tyre price. A bit less if you have a contact.

I have run most of those as well as some Yokies and continentals, I rated the Falkens very highly in the price range.

I have a car.

Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2011 6:17 am 
Fordmods Newbie

VIC, Australia

Thanks for that,

What size wheels do you have them on? And do the falkens go alright in the wet?

Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2011 7:01 am 
Tyre Shredder

Ride: BA XLS Ute

VIC, Australia

I would agree with dc_todd. Falkens are a great tyre.