Fordmods Logo

will it work ? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: will it work ?
Posted: Sun Jun 12, 2011 8:20 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 24

Posts: 3

Joined: 18th Jan 2011

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: ef falcon

Location: bordertown
SA, Australia

i am wanting to drop a ba gearbox into my ef falcon i know it is the same stud patern just not sure wether it will all fit togeter nicley or not
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: will it work ?
Posted: Sun Jun 12, 2011 10:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

Hi.

What sort of gearbox?

Manual or Auto?

BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: will it work ?
Posted: Sun Jun 12, 2011 10:40 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 93

Posts: 152

Joined: 12th Jan 2010

Power: 141 rwkw

0

Last edited by micky4433 on Sun Jan 01, 2012 3:12 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: will it work ?
Posted: Mon Jun 13, 2011 1:51 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 1507

Joined: 14th Aug 2009

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: BA XT V8

Location: Gosnells, Perth
WA, Australia

if its the 4spd auto i wouldnt bother. the internals are marginally weaker in the Bseries compared to Eseries. well im sure somone that knows for sure will correct me if im wrong.

 

_________________

BA XT V8. Ice Mint. 18" Speedys. XR6T LSD. Full Pacemaker twin 2 1/2inch Stainless Steel system. Custom CAI. Black XR interior with white trimming. Powerbond underdrive kit 25%.
13.65@102mph. 2800 hi-Stall.
230RWKW@5250 rpm. 625NM.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: will it work ?
Posted: Mon Jun 13, 2011 8:23 am 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

you will need to change the extension housing , as ba use there abs for the speedo so the ba box has no provision for the e series speedo sender..

unless the box is from a ba povo ute..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: will it work ?
Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 8:45 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 24

Posts: 3

Joined: 18th Jan 2011

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: ef falcon

Location: bordertown
SA, Australia

it is a 5 speed auto from an xr6 t
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: will it work ?
Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 9:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

While it will probably fit physically in the trans tunnel, and that is a broad assumption, ensuring the flex plate and torque converter have the correct spacing etc and then getting it to run will be the hard part.

I imagine you would need an FG PCM that is tricked with all the required input signals to even have a remote chance.

If you can get it done, you would be the first that I am aware of.

Cheers
BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 2:49 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names