Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

Post subject: Xr6t clicking noise
Posted: Fri Oct 26, 2012 11:06 am 
Oompa Loompa

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: ef futura

VIC, Australia

Gday ford moders?

I have a xr6t and find that when i drive i can hear a clicking noise from under or back of the car, but when i brake it slightly goes away,

I am no me mechanic but dreading the idea of it being my diff? Or mytailshaft or gearbox??

Any ideas would be greatlly appreciated

Cheers,

Post subject: Re: Xr6t clicking noise
Posted: Fri Oct 26, 2012 11:41 am 
Getting Side Ways

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Ef Fairmont

NSW, Australia

power of elimination. You say it goes away when you brake. Start there at the brakes and work from there. Either that or take it to a workshop and say find this problem and fix it, but remember labour costs for a mechanic aint cheap

Posted: Fri Oct 26, 2012 11:45 am 
Oompa Loompa

VIC, Australia

79raven wrote:
power of elimination. You say it goes away when you brake. Start there at the brakes and work from there. Either that or take it to a workshop and say find this problem and fix it, but remember labour costs for a mechanic aint cheap

Yea i kno mate, i can do the labour if the job isnt big enough, i have a couple of mates who are mechanics its just the stress of not knowing what is wrong with my car...

Bc last night i noticed one wheel had a flat tyre so i pumped it up but the noise didnt go away
So again ill check it out

Appreciate it mate,

Posted: Fri Oct 26, 2012 9:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways

NSW, Australia

Its a hard one dude because if its not the brakes then it could be countless thing making that sound directly from the brake application. Sounds awfully like one of those jobs you spend month worrying about and search for to find it was something stupid, well I hope thats the case ( being nothing major I mean).
Does anything happen when the sound is heard? What I am asking is does the sound do anything other than make a sound?