XH Longreach Ute - Driver's Side mirror replacement 

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

Post subject: XH Longreach Ute - Driver's Side mirror replacement
Posted: Sat Jul 05, 2014 2:01 pm 
Fordmods Newbie

Ride: XH Falcon Ute

VIC, Australia

HI guys

OK, I admit I'm a newbie and don't know much about working on cars, but i thought i could replace my driver's side mirror on 1998 Longreach ute after some unhelpful person knocked the old one off.

I have removed the remnants of the broken mirror and purchased a new one, but am having trouble fitting it.

Can anyone give me a simple step by step guide to how it goes back in?

Do I need to remove the interior door panel or window guide to be able to slide it into place?

My old mirror had two screws that attached it to the metal of the window guide, but the new one
seems to have only the fittings for the 2 screws that attach it to the door rim and then a smaller screw which attaches to in the interior mirror control panel. Does this sound right?

Any help or comments would be really appreciated as this is getting really frustrating!

Thanks in advance...

Post subject: Re: XH Longreach Ute - Driver's Side mirror replacement
Posted: Tue Jul 08, 2014 11:08 am 
Parts Gopher

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: XH Ute

QLD, Australia

Hey Jeremy,

I just had the passenger mirror off mine last week. From your description it would seem that you've found the two screws hidden behind the window guide to get the old one out (that took me a while to figure out). On mine there was a right angled plastic moulding that took the screws that passed through the window guide. That in turn was screwed to the main body of the mirros with a couple of screws, you may need to transfer the old one to the new one.

I fitted the mirror back in place by pushing the window guide out of the way to give a bit of wiggle room to get the mirror to slide into the upper angled channel of the door then pushed it down into the corner, hope that makes sense to you.