Looking for more bass, cannot sacrifice boot space 

Page 2 of 2 [ 25 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2

Post subject: Re: Looking for more bass, cannot sacrifice boot space
Posted: Sat Jun 25, 2016 5:49 pm 
Oompa Loompa

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Falcon AU I XR8

NSW, Australia

I'm actually in Bunnings now getting parts to make such a thing.

I just finished in Masters a few minutes aho, got some real cheap aluminium tubing and expensive as all hell bolts.

Now I'm looking for wire. The amp indeed recommends 4 gauge, and I am still unsure if my 8 gauge is enough or not.
Technically, I am going to be running the amp at less than half full power, but its my first time doing this, and I'm half relying on the information I was given by Autopro. They were the ones who said 8 gauge would be enough.

Edit:

I finished making my cradle / shelf.
All I need now is the 4 gauge wire I ordered through ebay. I couldn't get it anywhere else.

Not pretty to look at, but it'll do the job with an inch of clearance and completely exposed vents.
I used some spring washers to ensure the nuts stay tight. The bottom ones are going to have the nut welded to the thread before final assembly.

Thank you everyone who contributed / participated in this thread.

Owner of a 1992 EB Falcon, 2000 AU series II falcon and now a 1999 AU series I AU XR8

Posted: Mon Jun 27, 2016 9:17 am 
Fordmods Junkie

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

VIC, Australia

CRL13X wrote:
I'm actually in Bunnings now getting parts to make such a thing.

I just finished in Masters a few minutes aho, got some real cheap aluminium tubing and expensive as all hell bolts.

Now I'm looking for wire. The amp indeed recommends 4 gauge, and I am still unsure if my 8 gauge is enough or not.