Fordmods Logo

The Free EL Project 

Page 1 of 3 [ 31 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Post subject: The Free EL Project
Posted: Sun Oct 09, 2016 5:00 pm 
Oompa Loompa

Gallery: 1 images

G'day guys,

I've been meaning to make this thread for some time now, but I'm still deciding as to how I'm going to approach the build. I might as well start from the beginning (grab ya popcorn) :lol:

I was hunting around for a cheap car that I could call my own and learn in. I have plenty of knowledge in electronics and am very handy with a soldering iron, and I love researching and learning. My mechanical knowledge isn't the best, but I was determined to improve that.

It all started during the Easter holidays. Me and my mother are great friends with the pub owner, and I'd thought I'd ask if he knew of anyone with a cheap car they're wanting gone and needs work. My mother ended up asking him and he said that he had a car that a mob of backpackers left out the back. He had no use for it, and said I could have it for nothing. He said he could get it out and tow it in "at a later date". It wasn't running, but I was determined to fix whatever needs fixing. He is very forgetful, and told me it was a Ford ute.

So June comes around, and I am extremely excited to get the car. He delayed it for a far while, but on a random Monday afternoon, the car finally came. To my surprise it wasn't a ute, but instead a Falcon wagon.