XH Falcon and Smartlock ... I need understanding 

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

Post subject: XH Falcon and Smartlock ... I need understanding
Posted: Mon Nov 12, 2018 7:36 pm 
Fordmods Newbie

Ride: 1998 XH Ute

New Zealand

Hi all.

I'm new to Falcons and have had some trouble understanding the workings of the Smartlock system on the older Falcons … specifically the 1998 XH that I have.

As explained below, I need new door locks and would like to get a new ignition as well - I want to know if I'm going to run into trouble doing this with the aftermarket locks (from someone like Ace Auto Parts in Melbourne).

I understand the general operation of the Smartlock system, no issues there. However there are a few things that don't make sense to me - my situation is summarised as follows:

1. I have no remotes for locking/unlocking the car.

2. The driver door lock has been replaced with a non-XH door lock and is not electronically connected to the vehicle.

3. The passenger door lock is broken and the door can only be opened from inside the car by pulling the interior door handle. When I pull the internal handle, there is a sound of an electric motor actuating and the lock releases - same noise happens when the passenger door is locked by pushing down on the door lock button on the top of the door sill.

4. When I get in the car, the Smartlock symbol is flashing on the dash - insert the key, light goes out and vehicle has not failed to start since I've owned it.

My assumptions are this:

1. Smartlock is working as it should - this is based on the dash light and also that one of the fuses popped and the Smartlock light on the dash went out, car would turn over but not start. Replaced the fuse and it started as it always has. I believe that this is expected behaviour.