Fordmods Logo

(upperkuts) NA Fairlane 

 

Page 1 of 6 [ 80 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

 
 Post subject: (upperkuts) NA Fairlane
Posted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 1:15 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 33

Joined: 28th Mar 2011

Ride: NA Fairlane

Location: tamworth
NSW, Australia

This Fairlane is the first Ford that I've owned and im pretty impressed so far, i got it today for $600 with a fair bit of rego so i was pretty happy with my purchase. It has a few minor problems but nothing too serious, and nothing that either me or the old man cant fix. I got home and threw some old wheels of my old man's XF on it, painted them satin black and polished up some chrome dress rims for it, they look a thousand times better than the s**t wrapped in bald tyres that were on it..

I plan on just keeping this pretty stock (to an extent), probably do some tint, lower it on super lows maybe ultras.. i haven't seen one of these on ultras so I'm not sure how low they get.. tidy up the interior a bit, put all my audio gear out of my last car in it, exhaust and extractors maybe.. and then just cruise i guess. I will be looking out for chrome bits and pieces as they come up like the chrome wheel arch things, and chrome mirrors, door handles and stuff though.

I only have 1 photo that's worth showing at the moment, lighting in it is not very good so the car looks like its a different colour (its actually a light blue/grey).
When i start getting some stuff worth taking photos of i will post some new ones up..

Cheers

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

 

_________________

SIGNATURE REMOVED, signature pics must not exceed 120x500 pixles

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: (upperkuts) NA Fairlane
Posted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 1:42 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 21

Joined: 16th Apr 2010

Ride: Ford BA Ute

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

Nice man, but lets see how long it stays "pretty stock"

P.S drop it. go ultra lows

 

_________________

Red cars go faster Black cars look cooler
Red over black EA with a DJR kit and "little power tweaks"
Soon my precious

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: (upperkuts) NA Fairlane
Posted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 2:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

good to see another another fairlane getting around.

some inspiration for you
my NC II GHIA turbo
Image
my DA LTD I6 LPG
Image
and my DC LTD V8
Image


revengelanes old fairlane which is no owned by nut347
Image

impravens NA SVO
Image

MRE-50L old fairlane
Image

randoms
i believe this one was owned by DCSTRAIGHT
Image
Image
Image
Image

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: (upperkuts) NA Fairlane
Posted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 3:48 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 33

Joined: 28th Mar 2011

Ride: NA Fairlane

Location: tamworth
NSW, Australia

zzz-ba ute wrote:
Nice man, but lets see how long it stays "pretty stock"

P.S drop it. go ultra lows


I reckon a week haha :P

huggiebear your cars are heaps tidy, i like the paint on the DC LTD :D

DAAAAMMMMNNNNNNN look at them Wires!!!
I want wires and white walls!!

Did the chrome wheel arch things come on the LTD's only or can you buy them new somewhere? and how hard is it to find one of these LTD grills?? I've seen a few but they aren't the cheapest thing around, i could buy rims with the amount some people want for them!

also amongst those photos are any of them sitting on ultra lows?

EDIT: Any more photos of the one with the wires?

 

_________________

SIGNATURE REMOVED, signature pics must not exceed 120x500 pixles

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: (upperkuts) NA Fairlane
Posted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 6:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

nut, impravens and the white one doing a burnout are ultras, my NC is running fairlane superlows in the rear and falcon superlows in the front (falcon springs will make the fairlane sit 1inch lower then it will on a falcon) and my DC in that pic was on superlows

superlows is the ideal height otherwise you hit everything. my DA LTD is stock/slightly higher due to LPG and it scrapes on maccas speed bumps. they look quite high when infact they sit quite low.

the bumpers on fairlanes finish at the bottom of the radiator frame where on falcons they sit another 2" lower

Image
Image
Image

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: (upperkuts) NA Fairlane
Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 12:34 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 33

Joined: 28th Mar 2011

Ride: NA Fairlane

Location: tamworth
NSW, Australia

^^^that thing is crazy.. i think i may have seen that for sale somewhere for $2500?? that would have to be worth it for the rims and hydraulics..

I went to the wreckers today and asked about some LTD parts (grille and chrome wheel arch things) and my lucky day they have one in the yard with everything still there!! I'm going back tomorrow arvo to have a look at the condition of them.. hope they're in good nick..

On another note, i put my stereo in today, all wired up correctly turned it on and it worked fine, drove about a block and the sub cut out and then the head unit turned itself off for a few seconds then came back on?? I have no idea what it could be? maybe a dodgy acc wire or earth? we checked everything prior to install and both constant and acc were ok, and the head unit is brand new.. hope i can work it out tomorrow.

Also what size are the standard speakers in the doors? are they just 4 inch?

 

_________________

SIGNATURE REMOVED, signature pics must not exceed 120x500 pixles

Last edited by upperkuts on Wed Apr 06, 2011 1:21 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: (upperkuts) NA Fairlane
Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 1:00 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 28

Joined: 28th Nov 2004

Ride: AU XR8 Series 3

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Yep they are 4" stock. You can easily fit 6-6.5" in there though. Its best to make some mdf spacers so you arent screwing the speakers straight into the metal of the door.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: (upperkuts) NA Fairlane
Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 1:24 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 33

Joined: 28th Mar 2011

Ride: NA Fairlane

Location: tamworth
NSW, Australia

sneh wrote:
Yep they are 4" stock. You can easily fit 6-6.5" in there though. Its best to make some mdf spacers so you arent screwing the speakers straight into the metal of the door.


Sweet, thanks mate. I'll see if i can fit my 6's in there tomorrow. With the spacers though, I'll still have to screw them into the metal of the door wont I? Will there even be room inside there to fit spacers?

 

_________________

SIGNATURE REMOVED, signature pics must not exceed 120x500 pixles

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: (upperkuts) NA Fairlane
Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 1:43 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 28

Joined: 28th Nov 2004

Ride: AU XR8 Series 3

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Yeah you will need to screw the spacers to the metal.

When installing yours remember to check the magnet on the back of speaker clears the window reg, and that the front of the speaker doesnt touch the inside of the door trim.

I'm sure if you search in the audio subforum you should be able to find out what others have used. :)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: (upperkuts) NA Fairlane
Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 2:01 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 33

Joined: 28th Mar 2011

Ride: NA Fairlane

Location: tamworth
NSW, Australia

Yeah ill have a bit of a look and work something out.. Cheers for the help mate :)

 

_________________

SIGNATURE REMOVED, signature pics must not exceed 120x500 pixles

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: (upperkuts) NA Fairlane
Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 1:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

both my old EA wagon and my DA LTD are running 6" in the factory holes. its easiest to cut bits out with a grinder tho. not much is needed to be cut off as they have a 5.5" hole once you remove the factory plastic casings

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: (upperkuts) NA Fairlane
Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 1:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

both my old EA wagon and my DA LTD are running 6" in the factory holes. its easiest to cut bits out with a grinder tho. not much is needed to be cut off as they have a 5.5" hole once you remove the factory plastic casings

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: (upperkuts) NA Fairlane
Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 3:37 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 33

Joined: 28th Mar 2011

Ride: NA Fairlane

Location: tamworth
NSW, Australia

I tried to start my car this morning and the battery was flat, the battery is brand new so i suspect that my recent stereo problems may have caused this. The problem i think is that the accessory wire is not doing its job of turning the headunit off when the car is turned off.. I'm not sure what the problem is with the wire itself because it seems to work sometimes and not others (loose wire somewhere maybe) and i don't really want to pull my dash apart to find out, so is there anywhere else i can run the accessory wire to? maybe the lighter or something? or will i have to find something suitable and run it from the fuse box?

I'm not the best with electrical stuff, but i don't want to go and pay $90 to have a headunit installed when its probably an easy fix that I'm capable of doing myself.

 

_________________

SIGNATURE REMOVED, signature pics must not exceed 120x500 pixles

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: (upperkuts) NA Fairlane
Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 4:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

the cig lighter runs off the same circuit so it will be a suitable substitute for the factory wire. while your under there make sure all the wires are well covered. check you amp and make sure there is no frayed wires jumping from constant power to the switched power keeping the amp on. also check and make sure your boot light and glove box light are switching off

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: (upperkuts) NA Fairlane
Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 4:36 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 33

Joined: 28th Mar 2011

Ride: NA Fairlane

Location: tamworth
NSW, Australia

huggiebear wrote:
the cig lighter runs off the same circuit so it will be a suitable substitute for the factory wire. while your under there make sure all the wires are well covered. check you amp and make sure there is no frayed wires jumping from constant power to the switched power keeping the amp on. also check and make sure your boot light and glove box light are switching off



So it's safe to run the accessory wire off the cigarette lighter? Sorry I'm just double checking before I go ahead and pull it all back out again. This will effectively turn my headunit off when the ignition is off? I don't use my cigarette lighter so I will probably just cut the wires clean off it and run the headunit from there.

 

_________________

SIGNATURE REMOVED, signature pics must not exceed 120x500 pixles

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 6  [ 80 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 2:24 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names