Fordmods Logo

Wanted: solution to wiring problem 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Wanted: solution to wiring problem
Posted: Sun Dec 18, 2005 10:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 832

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: EL Fairmont

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

ladies and germs

Im about to throw a T5 into my EL Fairmont. I have noticed that the last person who owned the box was too lazy to unplug the loom for it from the car, and just cut the whole lot then dropped the box out. My speedo sensor is intact, just runs to a bare unterminated wire. Neutral switch isnt there at all, and reverse light switch wiring is again unterminated. Was hoping someone has a rooted T5 sitting around that I could possible get the plug from? Can i buy the plug and contacts from ford? i dont really want to have to hard wire it in but im starting to run out of options.

Cheers

 

_________________

too many rabbits in china

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 18, 2005 11:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2396

Joined: 25th Sep 2005

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: Da Maverick & xe ute

Location: Upper FTG. melbourne
VIC, Australia

yea ford can get them in, for ford prices :P snoop around pick a part or equiv :P prolly charge u peanuts for it ;)

 

_________________

Mods: sprint kit, steeda short shift, svo lip, El handles, El Air intake, au xr wheels, lukey cat back, jbl focal and pioneer sterio <--- Sold

Xe ute - Bright green with 302

Da maverick - Straight gas turbo

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 18, 2005 11:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 3519

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA XR8, XD Fairmont Ghia

Location: Ferntree Gully
VIC, Australia

el's are hard wired anyway . you will find that the gearbox loom doesnt unplug from the engine loom like it does on a EF .
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 19, 2005 11:38 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 832

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: EL Fairmont

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

True! Well that's interesting, i was actually going off info from a dude who did it to his EF i thought it was all the same.

So that means im going to have to splice into my auto loom then yes?

 

_________________

too many rabbits in china

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 19, 2005 4:25 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 5051

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Kia Rio - 1.4L Auto

Power: 238 rwkw

Location: Westside
VIC, Australia

No splicing or cutting required... Unless you are sourcing a manual ECU.

You will need one of the 4 pin square nylon Narva plugs. 2 of the pins are for the reverse lights and 2 are of the neutral start. Just make up the plug so it has 2 long wires to goto the reverse switch, the other side, just loop back into it self so the car will start.

If you have sourced a manual ECU, then you will need to cut the plug off the old auto gear position sensor plug, put on female spade connectors, and attach to the gear position switch on the T5.

And just use your old auto speedo sensor, it will slide right into the back of the T5 box.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 19, 2005 4:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 832

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: EL Fairmont

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

yea i have a manual ECU

thanks for the tips

 

_________________

too many rabbits in china

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 19, 2005 8:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 11791

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Holden VF Calais / NL FBT

Location: SE Melb
VIC, Australia

i might have a loom kicking around i reckon

 

_________________

Nicko

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2005 6:44 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 832

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: EL Fairmont

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

reckon you could look? Pretty please??

Although now im confused as to whether i need one or not lol

 

_________________

too many rabbits in china

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Dec 22, 2005 3:12 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 832

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: EL Fairmont

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Mr Nick how did u go?

 

_________________

too many rabbits in china

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 6:34 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names