Fordmods Logo

WTB ef xr6 manual ecu, anyone got one????? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: WTB ef xr6 manual ecu, anyone got one?????
Posted: Wed Jul 12, 2006 12:48 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 67

Joined: 5th Mar 2006

Ride: zzzzz

Location: ???
VIC, Australia

im looking for an ef xr6 manual ecu, anyone got one????
if so how much????
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 12, 2006 11:22 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2098

Joined: 19th Jan 2005

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: 5L 5 speed Fairmont Ghia

Location: St Maoris
NSW, Australia

Just do the resistor mod to the auto ECU. I done that to my EF XR6 auto ECU, and it works just as well as my EF XR6 manual ECU.

Save your money, and put it to better use (more mods!). When I was looking for the Manual ECU, I was told that they are very expensive, as they are hard to get. After 3 months of looking, I found one, at $450. I wish I hadnt spent the money.

Just buy an XR6 Auto ECU, and mod it...
http://justfordima.koolhost.com/EFELaut ... ersion.htm

hope this helps
chris

 

_________________

Remember kids, the more pages of crap in your build thread, the bigger your e-penis is

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 12, 2006 11:59 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2550

Joined: 28th Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: EF 5 Speed, XH Uterus :P

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

if it's for your EA, EF ECU won't work, unless you've got an EF motor in it :?

 

_________________

Maloo - Holden's word for ugly.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 12:21 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 67

Joined: 5th Mar 2006

Ride: zzzzz

Location: ???
VIC, Australia

i got a ef engine in it and ive done the resistor trick, i dont like it that much cause when ya stop at the lights it revs at 1200rpm for about 5 seconds then drops to idle speed.
id rather find a manual ecu and do it right.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 7:03 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2098

Joined: 19th Jan 2005

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: 5L 5 speed Fairmont Ghia

Location: St Maoris
NSW, Australia

davoeabodykit wrote:
i got a ef engine in it and ive done the resistor trick, i dont like it that much cause when ya stop at the lights it revs at 1200rpm for about 5 seconds then drops to idle speed.
id rather find a manual ecu and do it right.


New ECU wont fix that. My car has the exact same issue, so I thought that the manual ECU would solve it.
The problem is now worse. I am not sure exactly how to fix it, But it has something to do with the input that the ISC is receiving.
With the auto ECU, mine would sit on 1200-1500 for a few seconds. With the manual ECU, mine revs on about 1700 RPM.
As a temporary fix, I have unplugged the plug that goes to the ISC, so that the car will only hold a base idle.
When I figure out a permanant Fix, I'll let you know :wink:

 

_________________

Remember kids, the more pages of crap in your build thread, the bigger your e-penis is

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 11:01 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 612

Joined: 29th Apr 2005

Gallery: 15 images

Ride: futura

Location: sydney liverpool
NSW, Australia

ive got 1 ake an offer!!!
either that or a standad ef manual ecu

 

_________________

car audio gear just ask, special prices for fm members...

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 11:24 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5587

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

chong_bonger wrote:
As a temporary fix, I have unplugged the plug that goes to the ISC, so that the car will only hold a base idle.
When I figure out a permanant Fix, I'll let you know :wink:
Stockstandard posted a while back to put a gasket or thin plate under the ISC with 2 3mm holes drilled in them. I haven't tried it yet, but it seems a good idea, especially as you could trial it as a gasket and vary the hole sizes to vary the airflow, and hence the amount of control the ISC has. It also has the advantage that the ISC is not unplugged, so you won't get ECU ISC error codes either.

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 11:59 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 67

Joined: 5th Mar 2006

Ride: zzzzz

Location: ???
VIC, Australia

thanks for the info i will muck around with the isc tomorrow and see what happens.
also effutura5spd i dont know what they are worth so you just tell me how much you want for it.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 12:03 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6168

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

i've got a EF Gli manual ecu in my EF fairmont and it also revs at about 1000rpm for about 5seconds...then drops down but i got my manual ecu with my conversion kit :D

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 4:07 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 612

Joined: 29th Apr 2005

Gallery: 15 images

Ride: futura

Location: sydney liverpool
NSW, Australia

id like at least $280 for the ecu.

 

_________________

car audio gear just ask, special prices for fm members...

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jul 15, 2006 1:28 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 67

Joined: 5th Mar 2006

Ride: zzzzz

Location: ???
VIC, Australia

efutura5spd wrote:
id like at least $280 for the ecu.
ok, i'll think about it and let ya know
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 11 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 1:37 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names