Fordmods Logo

WTB: Fairmont or xr dash cluster - low k's - EF/EL 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: WTB: Fairmont or xr dash cluster - low k's - EF/EL
Posted: Mon Jun 04, 2007 11:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 607

Joined: 15th Dec 2004

Gallery: 23 images

Ride: GLXR 6

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

As the topic says ppl, after a Fairy or XR dash cluster with relatively low k's.
I'd say upto 150k's...

Hope someone has one out there :)

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 04, 2007 11:22 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

how much u willing to pay? I have EF/EL police ones 101'k, 151'k 188k'
etc.

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 04, 2007 11:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3363

Joined: 27th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: MCMXCV Falcon

Location: G town
VIC, Australia

Krytox wrote:
how much u willing to pay? I have EF/EL police ones 101'k, 151'k 188k'
etc.


how the frig do you have so many of these?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2007 12:42 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

years of hunting!

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2007 12:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 607

Joined: 15th Dec 2004

Gallery: 23 images

Ride: GLXR 6

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

wots the difference with the fairy/xr ones and the police ones?
Heard the speedo is different or something..

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2007 5:42 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

All details here:
http://www.fordmods.com/forums/documents.php?doc=14

However...
Both EF and EL Police clusters HAVE the diagnostics and Calibration feature.

The doco is incorrect with saying it only has one programmed in the eeprom.

Overall the police clusters have the exact same features as the Fairmont/XR but also have a more defined speedo.

Be carefull if you find a fairmont cluster as there not a matter of 'plug and play' you'll need to open it and add a resistor for the lighting circuit.

You'll also need a oil sender unit to replace the oil switch on a GLi/Futura.
these are $70+ from Ford.
(or i can supply for free if anyone if purchases a cluster)

Choice Bro.

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2007 9:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 831

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: BA XR8 & 06 4x4 Bravo

Location: Pakenham
VIC, Australia

I've got one with 116,000kms on it, I don't really want to sell it tho, what would you pay for one?

 

_________________

Image
'04 BA XR8
Winter White, 5 Speed Manual, Sports Leather, Premium Sound, 2 1/2" Cat Back Exh - no rear Mufflers, Lowered SL/SSL, 20's, Underdrives, BF Typhoon Rear Spoiler, GT Steering Wheel, etc.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2007 11:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 607

Joined: 15th Dec 2004

Gallery: 23 images

Ride: GLXR 6

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Lol ahh...hrmm kinda stuck on which to go here.

Edit: I read the doco, gosh its complicating! Which is the simplest one to change to? Fairy or XR?
Would i need to tamper with the XR cluster..or just plug and play?
"Please Note : Fitting this resistor does not apply when fitting an XR Cluster, to a GLi/Futura/XR Model Falcon.
- That was in the doco...That means the resistor already comes with the XR cluster yeah?

 

_________________

Image

Last edited by doofus on Wed Jun 06, 2007 12:01 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2007 11:58 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

Theres 2km increments on the facia instead of the usual 5km, this is the only physical difference well apart from the police sticker.

Other than that, they're the same cluster except for the programming side.

You get all the features of a Ghia + more.

heres a post with screenshots:
http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopi ... ce+cluster

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2007 12:05 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 607

Joined: 15th Dec 2004

Gallery: 23 images

Ride: GLXR 6

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Would it be hard to change to odo to what i want? and would the odo stay that way for ever till it gets changed again?
Also, is it difficult to calibrate the speedp to suit your car? e.g tyre width, diff gears etc?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2007 12:10 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 1953

Joined: 1st Feb 2006

Gallery: 25 images

Ride: BA on gas. EL on gas. XF on gas.

Location: Greenacres/Adelaide
SA, Australia

If you dont have a low coolant sensor then remove the globe in the cluster before fitting it. I fitted a police cluster in mine, I knew about the oil sender but had to pull the cluster back out due to the low coolant light flashing.

 

_________________

Member Number 8804
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2007 12:19 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

Speedo calibration is in percentage, ie: .5% 1% 1.5% 2% + and - upto 10%

Its simply hold the button till speedo is displayed, then 1sec push for minus, .5 push for positive.

You can reset the odometer with the correct equipment, however I have never programmed one.

I've replaced MANY eeproms to maintain the odo reading, but if you do this to a police cluster and retain your old figure, you'll loose the police features.

I am slowly (2 yrs ago) working on programming the eeprom from a test police cluster, But having troubles on their values (theres no book!) and the only program that'll read this eeprom i have doesnt wanna read him correctly.

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2007 1:18 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5587

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

Dang did a lot of development on flashing the odometer:

http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=11235
http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=11881
http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=15717

Website: http://www.members.optusnet.com.au/dand ... index.html
I'd say his service would suit the police clusters especially.

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 13 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 2:44 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names