Fordmods Logo

EL Falcon battery fitted backwards (revesed polarity) 

Page 1 of 2 [ 17 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

Post subject: EL Falcon battery fitted backwards (revesed polarity)
Posted: Sat Mar 03, 2012 4:43 pm 
Fordmods Newbie

Ride: Falcon EL

New Zealand

Gidday a new member here first post on any forum. My son has been using my EL Fairmont Ghia, battery went flat so he removed it had it charged and he refitted it backwards. Horn sounded but don't yet know how long it was connected. I got him to check all the fuses under bonnet 100amp etc and to change any under the dash that appeared to be blown. Car will now wind over but wont start. Interior light and door locks wont work. I am an ex mechanic, pre computers and fuel injection, so can follow any suggestions. Any help appreciated cheers

Post subject: Re: EL Falcon battery fitted backwards (revesed polarity)
Posted: Sat Mar 03, 2012 4:50 pm 
Technical Contributor

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: ED Falcon

Power: 133 rwkw

NSW, Australia

Check the fuses again...

Can't wont start because you have no interior light... Being a mechanic you'd know to check all fuses with a multimeter or test light because a visual check proves nothing? Ie some fuses look good but are in fact blown?

Could be one of two things... Either the "Int" light fuse is blown under the dash still... Or the big one under the bonnet that feeds these fuses is blown... Be it engine or ignition or whichever one it is... But I bet you've just missed one...

Sing back once you have the interior light working again (make sure it isn't just a blown bulb too giving misindication of no power on the circuit)... Soon as it works at least you'll have power to the immobilisation module... Speaking of which, what does your smartlock light do?

Cheers,
Tim

93 Red ED 5spd Manual Build Thread

Performance: Complete AUII VCT Wiring & Power Train, Pacey Headers, 2.5" Exhaust, Exedy Clutch, DBA Rotors