Fordmods Logo

A Speedo Question 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: A Speedo Question
Posted: Thu May 23, 2013 12:25 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 64

Posts: 3448

Joined: 11th Jan 2009

Ride: BA Falcon XT

Location: Smithfield
NSW, Australia

Ok, let's see if someone here can answer this. I am wondering, if you change an Instrument assy and use a 220km top speed one where originally a 240km one was fitted, will the speed shown be right or, will it get them mixed up?

To my mind, the only difference must be in the Instrument assy itself, the speedo sender is the same and the BEM is the same so, I can only put it down to the Speedo itself, any ideas on this?
Image
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: A Speedo Question
Posted: Thu May 23, 2013 8:40 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2752

Joined: 22nd Jan 2009

Ride: '91 EB Wagoon

Location: Geeelong
VIC, Australia

i don't see why the speedo would show a differant speed. however on that note i'm an "L" with the electronics nowadays..... :roll:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: A Speedo Question
Posted: Thu May 23, 2013 8:57 am 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

the difference is in the speedo or on the board itself..

so you can fit the 220 cluster to a xr and it will be right...
but putting a 240kmh xr facia on a 220 speedo puts the reading out...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: A Speedo Question
Posted: Thu May 23, 2013 8:59 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2752

Joined: 22nd Jan 2009

Ride: '91 EB Wagoon

Location: Geeelong
VIC, Australia

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: A Speedo Question
Posted: Thu May 23, 2013 9:01 am 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

yes I know, but I also know the reason for the question....
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: A Speedo Question
Posted: Thu May 23, 2013 9:17 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2752

Joined: 22nd Jan 2009

Ride: '91 EB Wagoon

Location: Geeelong
VIC, Australia

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: A Speedo Question
Posted: Thu May 23, 2013 9:55 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 41

Posts: 4629

Joined: 23rd Nov 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: 5.0 AU's and 5.0 Maverick

Power: 139 rwkw

Location: Sydney West
NSW, Australia

Yep I did this to mine. The speedo will read slower.

 

_________________

xr6turnip wrote:
More people paid for a ride in a VT commodore then an AU Falcon so the VT is superior.
Based on that fact my Mum is the best around!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: A Speedo Question
Posted: Thu May 23, 2013 5:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 64

Posts: 3448

Joined: 11th Jan 2009

Ride: BA Falcon XT

Location: Smithfield
NSW, Australia

Matt_jew wrote:
Yep I did this to mine. The speedo will read slower.

REALLY? that is strange. Thanks Matt...

I will give it a try anyway and see I guess. I was hoping it would be what I thought but, best ladi plans and all........ :roll:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: A Speedo Question
Posted: Thu May 23, 2013 8:00 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2752

Joined: 22nd Jan 2009

Ride: '91 EB Wagoon

Location: Geeelong
VIC, Australia

Papa Smurf wrote:
if you change an Instrument assy and use a 220km top speed one where originally a 240km one was fitted, will the speed shown be right or, will it get them mixed up?



ok .. so why change it .. color??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: A Speedo Question
Posted: Fri May 24, 2013 2:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 64

Posts: 3448

Joined: 11th Jan 2009

Ride: BA Falcon XT

Location: Smithfield
NSW, Australia

Mad2 wrote:
ok .. so why change it .. color??

I ave an issue with my Temperature gauge on my XR dash and I wanted to use the 220km one so I can get the other one fixed. 8-)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: A Speedo Question
Posted: Fri May 24, 2013 3:08 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2752

Joined: 22nd Jan 2009

Ride: '91 EB Wagoon

Location: Geeelong
VIC, Australia

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: A Speedo Question
Posted: Fri May 24, 2013 4:49 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

the 220 cluster will work fine George,
matts speedo is out because he has the xr 240km facia on a 220km cluster...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: A Speedo Question
Posted: Fri May 24, 2013 4:59 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 41

Posts: 4629

Joined: 23rd Nov 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: 5.0 AU's and 5.0 Maverick

Power: 139 rwkw

Location: Sydney West
NSW, Australia

Yep I read it wrong in a hurry.
Yours will be fine George. I used the 240 face on a 220 cluster which is why mine is out.

 

_________________

xr6turnip wrote:
More people paid for a ride in a VT commodore then an AU Falcon so the VT is superior.
Based on that fact my Mum is the best around!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: A Speedo Question
Posted: Fri May 24, 2013 5:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 64

Posts: 3448

Joined: 11th Jan 2009

Ride: BA Falcon XT

Location: Smithfield
NSW, Australia

Great fellas, thanks for all the SANE replies. :D
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 14 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 3:24 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names