Fordmods Logo

Au1 Fairmont/fairlane instrument cluster into Au1 Ute 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Au1 Fairmont/fairlane instrument cluster into Au1 Ute
Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2016 11:06 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 10

Joined: 6th Jun 2016

Ride: XF Falcon S Pac - 5L Efi

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

Hey guys i need a bit of help. I fitted a Fairlane/Fairmont instrument cluster into my 99 Au ute. Same series instrument cluster as my ute needed. I followed a very good thread on here about fitting it in. Its all working ok and the only problem i have is when i switch the headlights on i loose the lcd display. Not a big issue but i read a simlar thread about doing the same conversion in Ef/El and a resistor had to be added to over come this problem. has anyone done this conversion and know how and if it can be fixed?

Cheers
matt
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Au1 Fairmont/fairlane instrument cluster into Au1 Ute
Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2016 4:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2477

Joined: 22nd Jan 2009

Ride: '91 EB Wagoon

Location: Geeelong
VIC, Australia

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Au1 Fairmont/fairlane instrument cluster into Au1 Ute
Posted: Wed Jun 08, 2016 10:33 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 10

Joined: 6th Jun 2016

Ride: XF Falcon S Pac - 5L Efi

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

Yeah I sure did. I shifted all the pins around as described and changed oil sender everything works it even shows the door open on the car diagram in LCD display and gear position. Just as soon as I switch the lights on all the instrument gauges light up but LCD panels go off. I also read this tech doc

ford-technical-document-changing-instruments-d14

It talks about the BCM in the Fairlane/Fairmont controlling the dimming of the cluster so a resistor had to be added to fix it. I am thinking that the same might need to be done for the AU. or I just have faulty instrument cluster. ha ha
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Au1 Fairmont/fairlane instrument cluster into Au1 Ute
Posted: Wed Jun 08, 2016 6:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2477

Joined: 22nd Jan 2009

Ride: '91 EB Wagoon

Location: Geeelong
VIC, Australia

matt_itchy wrote:
I also read this tech doc

ford-technical-document-changing-instruments-d14

It talks about the BCM in the Fairlane/Fairmont controlling the dimming of the cluster so a resistor had to be added to fix it. I am thinking that the same might need to be done for the AU. or I just have faulty instrument cluster. ha ha



maybe :?: ... i have no idea . . . . but maybe compare yours with ........ wait a minute! .. i do have whats left of a AU1 Fairmont ... still has the cluster in it :roll:
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Mar 31, 2017 1:37 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names