Fordmods Logo

BA XR low series to high series cluster change questions. 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: BA XR low series to high series cluster change questions.
Posted: Wed Jan 30, 2019 1:39 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 22

Posts: 3

Joined: 10th Feb 2017

Ride: BA XR6 MKII 5 speed manual

Location: Deer Park
VIC, Australia

G'day all, was hoping to ask a few questions and maybe find a few answers.
Anyway I'm looking at going from a low series XR cluster in my 5 speed manual 05 XR6 to a high series unit like the ones in the pictures. So basically from one with the Trip button to the one with the light buttons as I have a DZ ICC with all that info on it already.
My questions are, can I change the clusters around without doing a PATS reset, will I be able to drive the car as soon as I replace the cluster?
Is it possible to change the KM's as the new cluster has a lower KM reading?
Will there be any issues taking a cluster from what is presumably an auto and putting it into a manual, will it effect speed readout or anything else?
If they're both ABS BA's will I not need to change parameters through the Ford IDS?
Any help is much appreciated!
Cheers!

 

 

Attachments:
low series cluster.jpg
low series cluster.jpg [ 10.3 KiB | Viewed 290 times ]
high series cluster.JPG
high series cluster.JPG [ 30.59 KiB | Viewed 11 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA XR low series to high series cluster change questions.
Posted: Wed Jan 30, 2019 4:22 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 381

Joined: 24th Jun 2014

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: BA XR6 Turbo

Location: Jamestown
SA, Australia

Getbent97 wrote:
G'day all, was hoping to ask a few questions and maybe find a few answers.
Anyway I'm looking at going from a low series XR cluster in my 5 speed manual 05 XR6 to a high series unit like the ones in the pictures. So basically from one with the Trip button to the one with the light buttons as I have a DZ ICC with all that info on it already.


My questions are, can I change the clusters around without doing a PATS reset, will I be able to drive the car as soon as I replace the cluster?
[/quote]

Yes you will be able to drive the car, Ba clusters can be changed without a PATS reset

Getbent97 wrote:
Is it possible to change the KM's as the new cluster has a lower KM reading?


there's 2 answers to this. Simple answer is NO it cannot be done, it could be done in the IDS IF the new cluster was below 100km, but will leave a permanent un-erasable fault code. Refer to your inbox for other answer.

Getbent97 wrote:
Will there be any issues taking a cluster from what is presumably an auto and putting it into a manual, will it effect speed readout or anything else?


i shouldn't think you will have any issues. taking from a auto to a manual, speeds are read by the ABS sensors and fed into the CAN system

NOTE
Issues may arise if you put a BA cluster into a BF, software incompatibilities

Getbent97 wrote:
If they're both ABS BA's will I not need to change parameters through the Ford IDS?
Any help is much appreciated!
Cheers!


IT should be all plug and play pretty simple

Rob

 

_________________

Current Ride
BA XR6 Turbo, P3 Paint, BP Trim, Fully Stock Mods to Come!
BA XR6 , P3 Paint, BG Trim, !
1995 EF XR6 The newest member of my ford family!

BLUE BLOOD
Previous Rides
RIP 1996 EF Falcon furura, White sacrificed for parts
1997 EL Falcon
1980 Ford Escort

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA XR low series to high series cluster change questions.
Posted: Wed Jan 30, 2019 4:25 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 22

Posts: 3

Joined: 10th Feb 2017

Ride: BA XR6 MKII 5 speed manual

Location: Deer Park
VIC, Australia

Cheers Rob, I'm glad I haven't just wasted money on a new cluster. Turns out the one I bought is actually slightly higher in km's than mine so I can deal with that being the case.
Cheers for the help!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA XR low series to high series cluster change questions.
Posted: Wed Jan 30, 2019 4:29 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 381

Joined: 24th Jun 2014

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: BA XR6 Turbo

Location: Jamestown
SA, Australia

Getbent97 wrote:
Cheers Rob, I'm glad I haven't just wasted money on a new cluster. Turns out the one I bought is actually slightly higher in km's than mine so I can deal with that being the case.
Cheers for the help!



No worries at all mate glad to be of help.

im running a BF FPV cluster in my BA was a drop in fit with my K's adjusted to suit my original, but i have the capabilities to do it all.

 

_________________

Current Ride
BA XR6 Turbo, P3 Paint, BP Trim, Fully Stock Mods to Come!
BA XR6 , P3 Paint, BG Trim, !
1995 EF XR6 The newest member of my ford family!

BLUE BLOOD
Previous Rides
RIP 1996 EF Falcon furura, White sacrificed for parts
1997 EL Falcon
1980 Ford Escort

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA XR low series to high series cluster change questions.
Posted: Fri Feb 01, 2019 2:59 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 22

Posts: 3

Joined: 10th Feb 2017

Ride: BA XR6 MKII 5 speed manual

Location: Deer Park
VIC, Australia

Rob I've sent you a PM, quick question for you.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA XR low series to high series cluster change questions.
Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2019 10:32 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 228

Joined: 7th Nov 2006

Ride: Territory TS TDCi

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

If you are having trouble finding a BA HI series XR cluster your current cluster can be modified to a HI series.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Aug 26, 2019 2:04 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names