Fordmods Logo

EF BCM ISSUE 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: EF BCM ISSUE
Posted: Sun Feb 03, 2013 9:35 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 2

Joined: 10th Feb 2011

Ride: bf xr6 turbo mkII

Location: south aust
SA, Australia

hi guys,
im currently in the process of selling my ef falcon and the bcm has decided to startbeing picky with when it wants to start,
its a 96 EF GLI sedan with a low series (black) bcm
i was just wondering if its possible to re wire the stock one to stop the issue of it not starting all the time? after ALOT of google searches i seem to have found out that i can rewire and fix this issue, but all the comments iv read state i connect a red/blue wire?
mine doesnt have a red/blue wire going into it?
am i looking at the wronf plug? is it on the plug closest to the floor? the one near the firewall?
can someone please help me as i want to sell the car asap and i will find it impossible to do so with this issue
thanks
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF BCM ISSUE
Posted: Sun Feb 03, 2013 9:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 1110

Joined: 27th Dec 2011

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: ef falcon futura

Power: 154 rwkw

Location: Koo Wee Rup
VIC, Australia

if you hold the key on start and thump under the dash near your left knee, does it start? if so i'd say you have dry/cracked solder joints inside the BCM. you can pull it apart and resolder them

 

_________________

ef futura, pacemakers, 2.5inch catback, k&n panel filter and 3.45 lsd. extractors/cat, ticky head, custom cam grind, t5. now onto cosmetics.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF BCM ISSUE
Posted: Sun Feb 03, 2013 10:04 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 2

Joined: 10th Feb 2011

Ride: bf xr6 turbo mkII

Location: south aust
SA, Australia

yeah that works, i pulled it apart the othr day and it seemed fine, nothing was wrong with the pcb or anything, it was jsut very dusty... i cleaned it up and reinstaleld it and it was fine until tonight....

i have read i can connect two wires together to bypass the smartlock??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF BCM ISSUE
Posted: Sun Feb 03, 2013 10:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 1110

Joined: 27th Dec 2011

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: ef falcon futura

Power: 154 rwkw

Location: Koo Wee Rup
VIC, Australia

im not sure about how to bypass the smartlock, but im running a j3 with smartlock disabled and mine still does it.

 

_________________

ef futura, pacemakers, 2.5inch catback, k&n panel filter and 3.45 lsd. extractors/cat, ticky head, custom cam grind, t5. now onto cosmetics.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 11:19 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names