Fordmods Logo

EF Police Cluster eeprom 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: EF Police Cluster eeprom
Posted: Wed Nov 07, 2012 3:36 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 25

Posts: 14

Joined: 9th Oct 2012

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: BA XR6

Location: Plenty
VIC, Australia

Hey team

Just a quick question, I understand how great the police cluster speedo calibration setting is, but I also understand that once removing the eeprom from the police cluster and replacing it with the original factory fitted one for the car that this feature is no longer available

I was wondering, once the speedo has been adjusted for bigger wheels say and then I replace the police eeprom for the stock one with the correct kms, will the speedo remain calibrated to the wheels?! or will it return to the factory settings

Cheers

 

_________________

1996 EF II FALCON GLI CLASSIC - Effie (Deceased)
2004 BA XR6 FALCON

"A piece from here and a piece from there"
Please check out my build thread and drop a comment http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/effie-s-rebuild-thread-t122606.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Police Cluster eeprom
Posted: Wed Nov 07, 2012 7:09 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

Police eeprom has calibration program and odometer readings in it.

If you were to program a cluster to your new wheels/diff ratio, and then remove the eeprom, the cluster will revert to stock settings via the replaced eeprom.

So no, you'll have a Police Printed standard cluster.

How many K's are you after and what does you opt20 one have on it?

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Police Cluster eeprom
Posted: Wed Nov 07, 2012 7:55 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 25

Posts: 14

Joined: 9th Oct 2012

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: BA XR6

Location: Plenty
VIC, Australia

Thanks for that man
Ahh my original has got 430,000 and the opt20 has 260,000 so there's a fair difference hahaha

Is the secondary odomotor reading kept in the ECU or somewhere else?! I'm looking at dropping an AU in my EF over summer and so I'll try and buy the ECU with the motor. Just wondering if I should worry about having differing odometer readings will that make the car unroadworthy?!

 

_________________

1996 EF II FALCON GLI CLASSIC - Effie (Deceased)
2004 BA XR6 FALCON

"A piece from here and a piece from there"
Please check out my build thread and drop a comment http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/effie-s-rebuild-thread-t122606.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Police Cluster eeprom
Posted: Wed Nov 07, 2012 7:57 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 25

Posts: 14

Joined: 9th Oct 2012

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: BA XR6

Location: Plenty
VIC, Australia

Thanks for that man
Ahh my original has got 430,000 and the opt20 has 260,000 so there's a fair difference hahaha

Is the secondary odomotor reading kept in the ECU or somewhere else?! I'm looking at dropping an AU in my EF over summer and so I'll try and buy the ECU with the motor. Just wondering if I should worry about having differing odometer readings will that make the car unroadworthy?!

 

_________________

1996 EF II FALCON GLI CLASSIC - Effie (Deceased)
2004 BA XR6 FALCON

"A piece from here and a piece from there"
Please check out my build thread and drop a comment http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/effie-s-rebuild-thread-t122606.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Police Cluster eeprom
Posted: Wed Nov 07, 2012 9:56 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

There will be no complications.

No matter what ecu you run, or BEM, the cluster only shows the 'clusters' odo reading.

Most people on here would have swapped clusters in their cars to get lower KM's as 400k' looks terrible.

RTA won't narrow you out for an incorrect reading on a $2.5k car. If however you were planning on selling the car that would be a big no no.
Alternativley, If you have the service book, you could write down the original K's and the K's on the new cluster to 'feel more legit' and its almost proof that you have replaced it because of a non funtioning speedo.?


Also I made a square wave generator you can borrow if you like, it'll run the speedo at around 260kph, just work out how many days you need it running and it'll mate upto your existing figure quite nicely.


As for your AU engine into the EF, I made a little doco:
ford-4l-and-6-cylinder-f1/au-sump-mod-for-e-series-t79648.html

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Police Cluster eeprom
Posted: Wed Nov 07, 2012 10:11 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 25

Posts: 14

Joined: 9th Oct 2012

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: BA XR6

Location: Plenty
VIC, Australia

From my quick calculation I'd need 33 days to get them to match hahaha I might just leave the opt20 as is and then put the original back in when I plan to sell it

Thanks for the doc mate that will help out!!

 

_________________

1996 EF II FALCON GLI CLASSIC - Effie (Deceased)
2004 BA XR6 FALCON

"A piece from here and a piece from there"
Please check out my build thread and drop a comment http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/effie-s-rebuild-thread-t122606.html

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 6:00 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names