Fordmods Logo

EF vs AU cam position sensor 

 

Page 1 of 5 [ 62 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

 
 Post subject: EF vs AU cam position sensor
Posted: Sat Oct 19, 2013 9:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 807

Joined: 28th Oct 2008

Location: melburn
VIC, Australia

Just wondering if the two work in the same way. Ie same voltage same timing.
The au sensor I'm talking bout is the one that sits in the timing cover.

Do you think one could be swapped for the other?
did all AU come out with the sensor at the front or did some have it in the dizzy hole?

 

_________________

XG Panelvan
mild engine, EL ECU & J3, HI6 & MSD coil

in the shed - .595" lift cam, GT4202, forged AU engine, ems 4424 ecu, glide & 5500 stall - next-bellhousing

XH ute daily - DOHC BA XR6 engine, T5, AU3 ECU, J3 chip, wideband & logger, ported BBM, 3" intake

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF vs AU cam position sensor
Posted: Sat Oct 19, 2013 10:03 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

All AU's had the Cam Position sensor mounted in the timing case.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF vs AU cam position sensor
Posted: Sat Oct 19, 2013 10:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 807

Joined: 28th Oct 2008

Location: melburn
VIC, Australia

any idea how it operates?
the EF one says it ranges from 1v to 8v approx depending on cycle.
so would be good to know how the AU one works.
i'd like to try putting an EF sensor in an AU car though if anyone would be willing haha

 

_________________

XG Panelvan
mild engine, EL ECU & J3, HI6 & MSD coil

in the shed - .595" lift cam, GT4202, forged AU engine, ems 4424 ecu, glide & 5500 stall - next-bellhousing

XH ute daily - DOHC BA XR6 engine, T5, AU3 ECU, J3 chip, wideband & logger, ported BBM, 3" intake

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF vs AU cam position sensor
Posted: Sun Oct 20, 2013 6:59 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

If you are running the AU Loom/ECU then use the AU Sensor. There are no moving parts in the AU one and nothing to stuff up.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF vs AU cam position sensor
Posted: Sun Oct 20, 2013 8:09 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 807

Joined: 28th Oct 2008

Location: melburn
VIC, Australia

Running an el engine so I have no choice.
So I need to know if it will work

 

_________________

XG Panelvan
mild engine, EL ECU & J3, HI6 & MSD coil

in the shed - .595" lift cam, GT4202, forged AU engine, ems 4424 ecu, glide & 5500 stall - next-bellhousing

XH ute daily - DOHC BA XR6 engine, T5, AU3 ECU, J3 chip, wideband & logger, ported BBM, 3" intake

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF vs AU cam position sensor
Posted: Sun Oct 20, 2013 10:11 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 3705

Joined: 27th Sep 2006

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: ED Falcon

Power: 133 rwkw

Location: Leeton
NSW, Australia

You said in your other post you already had all the sensors sorted :P

This was the one I was curious how you were going to make it work... Never seen or heard of it being done so I think you'll be trying it out first hand... Either that or drop a cheap au motor in 8-) if it doesn't work you'll need to swap over the timing case and aux gear...

The joys of stepping into uncharted territory... I did it and proved the au computer data out will drive the data requirements of the El inst cluster... So you don't have to worry about that one...

Cheers,
Ti.

 

_________________

93 Red ED 5spd Manual Build Thread

Performance: Complete AUII VCT Wiring & Power Train, Pacey Headers, 2.5" Exhaust, Exedy Clutch, DBA Rotors
Visuals: FG XR Wheel, XR Front, 17's, BA 5 Spd Shifter, BA Ghia Window Switches, NL Cluster
Tunes: 8" Pioneer Sub, JBL Speakers, Clarion Double DIN Headunit

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF vs AU cam position sensor
Posted: Sun Oct 20, 2013 10:53 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

misk_one wrote:
Running an el engine so I have no choice.
So I need to know if it will work


In a previous thread you said you were using an AU engine. Did you change the timing cover over to EL?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF vs AU cam position sensor
Posted: Sun Oct 20, 2013 11:07 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 3705

Joined: 27th Sep 2006

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: ED Falcon

Power: 133 rwkw

Location: Leeton
NSW, Australia

SWC,

He has an XH with the EL style motor...

He wants to run an AU computer for sequential injection and EDIS and splice that back into the existing wiring the XH...

So is modifying everything else to suit that...

Cheers,
Tim

 

_________________

93 Red ED 5spd Manual Build Thread

Performance: Complete AUII VCT Wiring & Power Train, Pacey Headers, 2.5" Exhaust, Exedy Clutch, DBA Rotors
Visuals: FG XR Wheel, XR Front, 17's, BA 5 Spd Shifter, BA Ghia Window Switches, NL Cluster
Tunes: 8" Pioneer Sub, JBL Speakers, Clarion Double DIN Headunit

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF vs AU cam position sensor
Posted: Sun Oct 20, 2013 11:32 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

Fair enough, out put from the EF Cam Position sensor is 0v - 8v as you already said but I can't find any out readings for an AU sensor. Has anyone got a Ford Factory manual they can check? Someone here had the manuals on PDF, maybe they have a copy. I have the EB/ED and EF/EL but no AU.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF vs AU cam position sensor
Posted: Sun Oct 20, 2013 1:36 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 3705

Joined: 27th Sep 2006

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: ED Falcon

Power: 133 rwkw

Location: Leeton
NSW, Australia

I have gregorys on PDF but it says nothing and has wrong spark plug gaps in it... I'd be keen to acquire the genuine Ford AU manual in PDF if anyone has one... And the genuine EF/EL in pdf too...

Cheers,
Tim

 

_________________

93 Red ED 5spd Manual Build Thread

Performance: Complete AUII VCT Wiring & Power Train, Pacey Headers, 2.5" Exhaust, Exedy Clutch, DBA Rotors
Visuals: FG XR Wheel, XR Front, 17's, BA 5 Spd Shifter, BA Ghia Window Switches, NL Cluster
Tunes: 8" Pioneer Sub, JBL Speakers, Clarion Double DIN Headunit

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF vs AU cam position sensor
Posted: Sun Oct 20, 2013 1:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 1110

Joined: 27th Dec 2011

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: ef falcon futura

Power: 154 rwkw

Location: Koo Wee Rup
VIC, Australia

TimmyA wrote:
And the genuine EF/EL in pdf too...

Cheers,
Tim

im slowly scanning the factory ef manual and will be putting it into pdf. just had other things to do lately and it was put on the back burner

 

_________________

ef futura, pacemakers, 2.5inch catback, k&n panel filter and 3.45 lsd. extractors/cat, ticky head, custom cam grind, t5. now onto cosmetics.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF vs AU cam position sensor
Posted: Sun Oct 20, 2013 2:03 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 3705

Joined: 27th Sep 2006

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: ED Falcon

Power: 133 rwkw

Location: Leeton
NSW, Australia

Excellent! Let me know... Thanks man...

Cheers,
Tim

 

_________________

93 Red ED 5spd Manual Build Thread

Performance: Complete AUII VCT Wiring & Power Train, Pacey Headers, 2.5" Exhaust, Exedy Clutch, DBA Rotors
Visuals: FG XR Wheel, XR Front, 17's, BA 5 Spd Shifter, BA Ghia Window Switches, NL Cluster
Tunes: 8" Pioneer Sub, JBL Speakers, Clarion Double DIN Headunit

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF vs AU cam position sensor
Posted: Sun Oct 20, 2013 2:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 807

Joined: 28th Oct 2008

Location: melburn
VIC, Australia

Sorry guys I have the hybrid motor lol.
And I have never taken the sensors off the front of an au motor so I forgot about them :)
You would assume they're the same. They both still share the same pin and the ef sensor has 3 wires but one goes to the radio suppressor and the earth is shared by other sensors. So I'm assuming it has some noise which is why in au they have 2 dedicated channels for the sensor and the wires are twisted.

It would be best if someone with an au just out a multimeter on the sensor :)
Anyone keen to help?
I've got 2 au engines but would orefer not to swap them just yet. If I'm going to swap the engine I'd like to put in a dohc.

 

_________________

XG Panelvan
mild engine, EL ECU & J3, HI6 & MSD coil

in the shed - .595" lift cam, GT4202, forged AU engine, ems 4424 ecu, glide & 5500 stall - next-bellhousing

XH ute daily - DOHC BA XR6 engine, T5, AU3 ECU, J3 chip, wideband & logger, ported BBM, 3" intake

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF vs AU cam position sensor
Posted: Sun Oct 20, 2013 2:55 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF vs AU cam position sensor
Posted: Sun Oct 20, 2013 3:03 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

Full selection of Manuals XA to BA

http://www.fordfalconrepairmanuals.com.au/
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 5  [ 62 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 12:02 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names