Fordmods Logo

Aftermarket ECU vs 4 speed auto 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Aftermarket ECU vs 4 speed auto
Posted: Thu Jan 31, 2008 7:58 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 3406

Joined: 7th Feb 2005

Ride: AU2 Ute

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Hi guys,

Im wanting to put an aftermarket ECU (that I already have) into my EF but its auto.

I know you need to run the standard computer alongside the aftermarket one but Im wondering what exactly has to be left in place for it to work?

TPS, crank trigger signal etc?

Can these wires all be successfully spliced into so the signal is shared?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 31, 2008 9:01 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 1319

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 66 Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

it depends on your aftermarket ecu, if you can disable the internal pullups then you can share the sensors.
is it 6cyl or v8?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 31, 2008 9:09 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 3406

Joined: 7th Feb 2005

Ride: AU2 Ute

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Ah okay. Ill have to find that out.

Its an I6.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 31, 2008 9:33 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 1319

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 66 Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

i6 - factory ecu will need vss, rpm, map, tps and optionally ect.

What aftermarket ecu do you have?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 31, 2008 9:46 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 3406

Joined: 7th Feb 2005

Ride: AU2 Ute

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Its an adaptronic e420c.

I want to try and set it up so that making the standard ECU control everything again is a simple procedure if I can.

VSS is seperate to the engine wiring isnt it? It goes from the trans to the dash to the ECU doesnt it?
RPM can be substituted with the tacho output on the ECU if I cant share the signal.
MAP sensor will be seperate as Ill use a 3 bar GM one.

TPS will need to be shared.

Im not sure what the ECT signal is for?

Does that sound about right to you?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 31, 2008 10:22 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 1319

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 66 Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

yeah VSS comes from the cluster so you wont need to touch that one.
RPM - it depends if the adaptronic works with the PIP signal, you may be able to piggy back the signal
MAP will be fine if your using an additional sensor

TPS - you will need to remove the pullup from the adaptronic - they should be able to tell you which resistor to remove off the pcb
ECT - engine coolant temp, probably same deal as above or use a seperate sensor for the adaptronic if you have room on the thermostat housing
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 31, 2008 10:33 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 3406

Joined: 7th Feb 2005

Ride: AU2 Ute

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Ahh thanks for that.

Ill do what stock standard did in his MS2 install and fit up an EA ghia thermostat housing so I can run 2 coolant sensors.

I thought the PIP signal was a TFI module/dizzy thing?

Thanks for your help.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 31, 2008 11:08 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 3406

Joined: 7th Feb 2005

Ride: AU2 Ute

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Ive done some searching on the adaptronic forum.

Apparently the TPS can be spliced into without a drama.

The adaptronic needs its own water and air temp sensors as well.

Thanks for your help mate. This shouldnt be too difficult to overcome. Ill get an EF loom on the weekend and start making up a 2nd loom. I should be able to make it so that I can just unplug a few plugs and have the stock ECU running the engine again quite easily.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 10, 2008 5:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 3406

Joined: 7th Feb 2005

Ride: AU2 Ute

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Just an update.

I sold the EF and the ECU I mentioned. Then bought another auto EF and a microtech a few months later.

I put the ECU in a few weeks ago now. I shared the TPS and crank trigger and fitted a new coolant and air temp sensor.

The car fired up no worries and the auto works fine.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 5:33 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names