Fordmods Logo

Au ecu change??? 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 22 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Au ecu change???
Posted: Sat Dec 18, 2010 8:40 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 262

Joined: 15th Aug 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: Au fairmont seires I

Location: Sunshine coast
QLD, Australia

will it make a difference to put an au xr6 tickford ecu in place of my fairmont???

Do i have to do anything to make it work or will it boost the car a little on its own??

i did it in my ef and it made a difference but sometimes it would be sluggish??

could that have been a faulty ecu or did i need to do more to help it work

 

_________________

People hate the au series but i wouldnt have it any other way!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Au ecu change???
Posted: Sun Dec 19, 2010 1:56 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

dont make the car crap

the ticcy cars had head work done

cam and valves
and the ecu made use of that

doing it in a non ticcky engine bad idea!


and iirc u will need to get the bcm recoded to the ecu at ford = $$$$$$

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Au ecu change???
Posted: Sun Dec 19, 2010 2:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 524

Joined: 15th Aug 2010

Ride: Territory SX TX

Location: Townsville
QLD, Australia

I was under the impression that Fairmonts had Ticky motors anyway?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Au ecu change???
Posted: Sun Dec 19, 2010 2:22 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 262

Joined: 15th Aug 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: Au fairmont seires I

Location: Sunshine coast
QLD, Australia

dazza027 wrote:
I was under the impression that Fairmonts had Ticky motors anyway?


no only the fairmont ghias and fairlanes had tickky engine

 

_________________

People hate the au series but i wouldnt have it any other way!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Au ecu change???
Posted: Sun Dec 19, 2010 5:16 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 3705

Joined: 27th Sep 2006

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: ED Falcon

Power: 133 rwkw

Location: Leeton
NSW, Australia

As Franky said...

For starters they felt quicker due to the 3.45 diff
Second they had a different computer
Third they had a different head altogether
Fourth the valve springs were different
Fifth they ran a different cam shaft
Sixth they run a different fuel reg

All this gives what about 10kw over the std car?

Only fitting one piece of the puzzle make stuff all difference...

Cheers,
Tim

 

_________________

93 Red ED 5spd Manual Build Thread

Performance: Complete AUII VCT Wiring & Power Train, Pacey Headers, 2.5" Exhaust, Exedy Clutch, DBA Rotors
Visuals: FG XR Wheel, XR Front, 17's, BA 5 Spd Shifter, BA Ghia Window Switches, NL Cluster
Tunes: 8" Pioneer Sub, JBL Speakers, Clarion Double DIN Headunit

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Au ecu change???
Posted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 11:49 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 262

Joined: 15th Aug 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: Au fairmont seires I

Location: Sunshine coast
QLD, Australia

what about police ecu?? Anyone??

 

_________________

People hate the au series but i wouldnt have it any other way!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Au ecu change???
Posted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 11:53 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 3705

Joined: 27th Sep 2006

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: ED Falcon

Power: 133 rwkw

Location: Leeton
NSW, Australia

With Falcons the production line is not stopped for the cop cars... Nothing special about them as far as I'm aware...

Holden stop the production line to just run cop cars...

Just get a chip tuned and that'll give you more than any special and expensive ECU...

 

_________________

93 Red ED 5spd Manual Build Thread

Performance: Complete AUII VCT Wiring & Power Train, Pacey Headers, 2.5" Exhaust, Exedy Clutch, DBA Rotors
Visuals: FG XR Wheel, XR Front, 17's, BA 5 Spd Shifter, BA Ghia Window Switches, NL Cluster
Tunes: 8" Pioneer Sub, JBL Speakers, Clarion Double DIN Headunit

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Au ecu change???
Posted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 11:59 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 262

Joined: 15th Aug 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: Au fairmont seires I

Location: Sunshine coast
QLD, Australia

well i want to get a chip done for it but im unsure of which one for my au fairmont series 1, can you point me in the right direction.

 

_________________

People hate the au series but i wouldnt have it any other way!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Au ecu change???
Posted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 12:03 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 3705

Joined: 27th Sep 2006

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: ED Falcon

Power: 133 rwkw

Location: Leeton
NSW, Australia

They still run the EEC-V computer or something different?

If they are... Contact Ti Performance (they are a sponsor on here and Jason will help you with the possible bins and any custom tuning you require)... If not an EEC-V I'd contact him anyway... He knows his stuff and will point you in the right direction...

 

_________________

93 Red ED 5spd Manual Build Thread

Performance: Complete AUII VCT Wiring & Power Train, Pacey Headers, 2.5" Exhaust, Exedy Clutch, DBA Rotors
Visuals: FG XR Wheel, XR Front, 17's, BA 5 Spd Shifter, BA Ghia Window Switches, NL Cluster
Tunes: 8" Pioneer Sub, JBL Speakers, Clarion Double DIN Headunit

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Au ecu change???
Posted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 12:36 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 139

Joined: 23rd Mar 2008

Ride: AU Falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

yes you can use a J3 to tune it. Youd be best of fitting a bigger cam though because tuneing of the standard AU comp wont make a huge diff but will still cost a** loads. might as well take advantage of tuner time.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Au ecu change???
Posted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 11:07 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 262

Joined: 15th Aug 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: Au fairmont seires I

Location: Sunshine coast
QLD, Australia

ok so i may have aquired a j3 chip for the au. now, i wanted to buy a second ecu cheap for the fairmont as a muck around test for the chip as an au 1 apparently requires a bit of extra stuffing around to get it to work. my question is, i have a fairmont, non ticky of course so will a falcon auto ecu be the same?

heres website

http://www.tiperformance.com.au/Technic ... 20Chip.pdf

 

_________________

People hate the au series but i wouldnt have it any other way!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Au ecu change???
Posted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 11:10 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 3705

Joined: 27th Sep 2006

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: ED Falcon

Power: 133 rwkw

Location: Leeton
NSW, Australia

the chip its programmed with respect to the ECU...

So I will have an EL fairmont auto one in my ED when the cam goes in...

The chip is set the change the ECU to manual, log manifold, and AFRs for the cam...

So you can buy whatever you like ECU (as long as it suits the model, ie plugs in)... And have it changed to whatever ECU you would like...

There isn't much stuffing around... Remove the bung... Clean the board... Plug it in... Thats it... Unplug it and plug it into the programmer to program...

Cheers,
Tim

 

_________________

93 Red ED 5spd Manual Build Thread

Performance: Complete AUII VCT Wiring & Power Train, Pacey Headers, 2.5" Exhaust, Exedy Clutch, DBA Rotors
Visuals: FG XR Wheel, XR Front, 17's, BA 5 Spd Shifter, BA Ghia Window Switches, NL Cluster
Tunes: 8" Pioneer Sub, JBL Speakers, Clarion Double DIN Headunit

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Au ecu change???
Posted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 11:21 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 262

Joined: 15th Aug 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: Au fairmont seires I

Location: Sunshine coast
QLD, Australia

ok cool and what about the wiring the horizontal solder pads?? i only ask cos i havfe an au 1? so falcon and fairmont were pretty much the same then?? Sorry to ask but im not good with the technical side of cars. only good with the mechanical parts lol

 

_________________

People hate the au series but i wouldnt have it any other way!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Au ecu change???
Posted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 11:26 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 3705

Joined: 27th Sep 2006

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: ED Falcon

Power: 133 rwkw

Location: Leeton
NSW, Australia

what what wiring? The chip plugs into the J3 port in the bottom of the computer...

 

_________________

93 Red ED 5spd Manual Build Thread

Performance: Complete AUII VCT Wiring & Power Train, Pacey Headers, 2.5" Exhaust, Exedy Clutch, DBA Rotors
Visuals: FG XR Wheel, XR Front, 17's, BA 5 Spd Shifter, BA Ghia Window Switches, NL Cluster
Tunes: 8" Pioneer Sub, JBL Speakers, Clarion Double DIN Headunit

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Au ecu change???
Posted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 11:43 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 262

Joined: 15th Aug 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: Au fairmont seires I

Location: Sunshine coast
QLD, Australia

http://www.tiperformance.com.au/Technic ... 20Chip.pdf
on there it says

5. AU Series 1 only. If the top of your
ECU looks like the top picture on the left
(i.e. no black resistors between the circled solder pads), you will need to join the
two J3 enable links on the back of the ECU. Clean the solder pads with sandpaper
and then use two small pieces of wire to join each horizontal pair as in the bottom
half of the image. Do not join the vertical pairs

 

_________________

People hate the au series but i wouldnt have it any other way!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 3:13 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names