Fordmods Logo

AU ECU into EF - question... 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: AU ECU into EF - question...
Posted: Mon Dec 21, 2009 3:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

I am installing an AU ECU (Dual Fuel - 03/99 smartlock) into my EF and it won't start on petrol..... I have made up a Hybrid engine bay loom from an AU and an EF loom. I have swapped all the EF sensors back to AU ones that came with the motor. The Car will start and run fine on GAS only but there is no injector pulses when petrol is selected (or gas for that matter) there is power to the other side of the injectors. I am running the original EL High series BEM, not sure if I have a wiring problem or a smartlock one.

Now the question is are all smartlocks equal?
The only other AU into E series I know is running the AU BEM as well, happy to hear is someone is running the E series BEM.

I have a few of ECU's here, 3 from AU's and a couple of EF's, I tried other the AU's (I am not sure if smartlock or Smartshield but suspect the latter. All AUs won't run on Petrol but will on GAS. I then tried an EF single ECU into the hybrid loom and it starts on Petrol and runs but as suspected it runs rough due to the Au sensors in place.

I know that my EL smartlock runs fine in an EF as it did when I ran an EF BEM.
I have the AU BEM (olive) and Lock that came with the ECU which I could install if need be but I hesitate as although the connectors are the same at least the door locks are not compatable and possibly a few other connections as well.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Last edited by twase on Tue Dec 22, 2009 6:12 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: HELP !!!!! AU ECU into EF - urgent question...
Posted: Mon Dec 21, 2009 7:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1543

Joined: 7th Mar 2007

Ride: ED Pwnage Pwr!!

Location: onawhoopwhoop
SA, Australia

How have you got the injectors set up? AU is sequential and EF is batch :)

Have you got power to the coil?

 

_________________

Adelaide Motorplex < Click on it! You know you want too!
ED HP AU XR6, Wade, T5, and all the usual stuff!

Quote:
Thats not the point *a**hole

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: HELP !!!!! AU ECU into EF - urgent question...
Posted: Mon Dec 21, 2009 7:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 429

Joined: 3rd Jan 2005

Ride: AU XR6 with BF Turbo engine

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

turn ignition to reds and leave for 1 hr, the BEM and ECU need to be trained to talk to each other. E series is 30 min, and im pretty sure AU is 1 hr.

have you got the starter circuit running thru the ecu as well? If so and engine cranks, then it not the smartlock

 

_________________

RIP :( 1x confused Falcon..EL Falcon with full AU running gear...VCT, 5 speed, IRS, AUII front suspension, brakes, and steering RIP

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: HELP !!!!! AU ECU into EF - urgent question...
Posted: Mon Dec 21, 2009 8:56 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

The starter is still running from the BEM - took 3 hours to sort that this morning... but if I go to the AU BEM than it will go back to the ECU. You are running an AU BEM correct?
I did the 1 hour (EL BEM) but it did not help, also an EF ecu that has never seen the BEM worked without training.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: HELP !!!!! AU ECU into EF - urgent question...
Posted: Mon Dec 21, 2009 9:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

4LEDboy wrote:
How have you got the injectors set up? AU is sequential and EF is batch :)

Have you got power to the coil?


Yes the injectors are wired as per the AU loom , I am using the ECU to engine sections of the Au loom and grafting on the ECU to Dash and Dash to engine bay sections with the EF loom.

I do have power to the injectors and coil (as it runs on Gas)

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: HELP !!!!! AU ECU into EF - urgent question...
Posted: Mon Dec 21, 2009 11:57 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5587

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

Tony, do the AU LPG ECU's have a spark map pin (i.e. changeover line), e.g. like the EF/EL's - 0v to is LPG, 12v to is petrol).
If it's not hooked up, obviously it'll default to LPG, and this means petrol injectors are not enabled by the ECU.

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: AU ECU into EF - question...
Posted: Tue Dec 22, 2009 6:00 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

Yes they do and I had the input tied to 12v during the test, also grounded it in case its upside down but to no avail. Also assumed that even if it was on LPG mode it would petrol start anyway.
Going to try and jerry rig an AU BEM along side the EL one and see how I go.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: AU ECU into EF - question...
Posted: Tue Dec 22, 2009 6:29 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 1998

Joined: 31st Dec 2007

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: xc wag's, tnklane wag's

Location: Munruben
QLD, Australia

I must admit I'm a little surprised by this, as I once used an au ecu on an ef, ran lie bag of s**t and ended up stalling pretty quickly, but neither had I modified anything for it, just plug it in for s**t and giggles to see what it'd do.

 

_________________

Signature removed by moderator.signature must not exceed 120x500 pixles

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: AU ECU into EF - question...
Posted: Tue Dec 22, 2009 7:09 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 429

Joined: 3rd Jan 2005

Ride: AU XR6 with BF Turbo engine

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

try and see if the starter circuit on the ECU is working, are you sure you have a smartlock ECu not a smart sheild.

Yes Im running AUII ECU and BEM, basically all the wiring from front door foward is AU...not as hard as i thought to hook up

 

_________________

RIP :( 1x confused Falcon..EL Falcon with full AU running gear...VCT, 5 speed, IRS, AUII front suspension, brakes, and steering RIP

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: AU ECU into EF - question...
Posted: Tue Dec 22, 2009 7:21 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

OZBMX wrote:
I must admit I'm a little surprised by this, as I once used an au ecu on an ef, ran lie bag of s**t and ended up stalling pretty quickly, but neither had I modified anything for it, just plug it in for s**t and giggles to see what it'd do.
Hmmm that would indicate Smartlock signal is working between AU and EF.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: AU ECU into EF - question...
Posted: Tue Dec 22, 2009 7:23 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

macxr8 wrote:
try and see if the starter circuit on the ECU is working, are you sure you have a smartlock ECu not a smart sheild.

Yes Im running AUII ECU and BEM, basically all the wiring from front door foward is AU...not as hard as i thought to hook up
Pretty sure it is, the ECU is marked 03/99 as is the AU BEM that came with it so I assume that it is pre smartshield.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: AU ECU into EF - question...
Posted: Tue Dec 22, 2009 11:42 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

Sorry to end this thread without a result but Santa is bring me a new ride so I won't be continuing this mod. It appears that the AU ECU definately requires an AU BEM, the one I have appears faulty as there is no output on the ECU enable pin even after an hour. I may have cause this by pluging it into my EL dash loom, although the connectors match the pinouts as I later discovered are vastly different. A trip around the wreckers today could not source one and the expected price would have been $150 anyway(this is the very reason I normally head to Ebay or Sydney for my spares).

The good news is that I might be returning the car to stock and selling all the good bits I now have hoarded over the 12 years of owning this car..

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: AU ECU into EF - question...
Posted: Tue Feb 15, 2011 5:48 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 6

Joined: 20th Sep 2006

Ride: eb falcon

Location: auckland
New Zealand

i know what the problem is i had this problem when i put au1 edis in to my eb 1. you will need to get a smartlock bypass, the ef bem will turn on the fuel pump relay but the ecu will be immobilised and the ecu will not turn the injectors on.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 13 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 7:38 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names