Fordmods Logo

AU ecu into EF 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 25 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: AU ecu into EF
Posted: Tue Sep 18, 2007 10:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

I am doing some research into AU and EF ECU compatibility and cannot locate the AU pinouts, does anyone have a listing or can scan a workshop manual for me?

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 3:20 am 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 8831

Joined: 18th Dec 2002

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: AUII V8 LTD

Power: 270 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

I dont have pinouts handy, but I'm certain that AUI will plug and play, and there's little reason to believe there would be any changes for AUII/III.

I'm sure you're already aware of the Smartlock and Smartsheild issues. Enjoy!

 

_________________

WAG363: AUII LTD Supercharged 363 Dart Stroker [Supercharged 363 LTD Build]
WAGGIN: 2012 Volkswagen Passat Wagon - V6 4Motion.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 6:39 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

I am aware the smartshield equiped ECU's make it a no go but assume the AU1 would be a close fit. Am I a pioneer in this or is it already done and working?
If EF 104 pin = AU1 104 pin and EF smartlock = AU smartlock then I am then hoping the AU data line is compatible with the EF so I can run my trip comp ect...

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 11:35 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5589

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

Try the AFF forum also - I have noticed a lot of AU scans on there.

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 1:00 pm 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 8831

Joined: 18th Dec 2002

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: AUII V8 LTD

Power: 270 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

twason wrote:
I am aware the smartshield equiped ECU's make it a no go but assume the AU1 would be a close fit. Am I a pioneer in this or is it already done and working?
If EF 104 pin = AU1 104 pin and EF smartlock = AU smartlock then I am then hoping the AU data line is compatible with the EF so I can run my trip comp ect...


It's been discussed a few times before. Mostly for the benefit of SEFI

But yes, AUI should be a winner! Unsure about the data line, but I would assume all EEC-V have the same data line. EEC-V is well used through out many Ford models, so no reason to re-write the data line because Ford Australia moves from EL-AU :)

 

_________________

WAG363: AUII LTD Supercharged 363 Dart Stroker [Supercharged 363 LTD Build]
WAGGIN: 2012 Volkswagen Passat Wagon - V6 4Motion.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 8:10 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 55

Joined: 17th Sep 2007

Ride: EFII Fairmont & F6 Typhoon

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

could this same thing be done for a manual conversion. i have an EFII fairmont and am goin for the manual but also having a fair bit of trouble finding an ECU to suit could u fill me in on what i have to do in order to make it work. cheers.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 8:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

That is the general Idea.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 8:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

snap0964 wrote:
Try the AFF forum also - I have noticed a lot of AU scans on there.
Thanks Snap, found what I need. A quick look reveals not plug and pray but pretty close.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 10:52 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5589

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

NP

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 24, 2007 4:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

Well my AU ecu came in the mail today, not quite the number I was expecting. I thought I was getting a WTAB catch code but what arrived was a WTLB, it is marked AU1 XR6 manual. Can any one confirm what ECU I have?

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 30, 2007 8:39 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

Well I can answer my own question, its is AU XR6 Manual as stated. Now the first stumbling block is this ECU fits June 99 to Feb 2000. Now that is when SmartShield was added, I need to work on how I can add smartshiled to EF or add in a bypass.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 01, 2007 7:54 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Add in a bypass = sending the ECU the same code as smartshield does / rewriting ECU code to not check for the module. It's easier to fit smartshield I would say. All the wiring should be there for it.

Also - as a question, why are you fitting an AU ecu? Just out of curiousity.

Also (as mentioned) AFF have some awesome pinouts for the AU ecus.


Cheers,
justfordima

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 01, 2007 8:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

justfordima wrote:
Add in a bypass = sending the ECU the same code as smartshield does / rewriting ECU code to not check for the module. It's easier to fit smartshield I would say. All the wiring should be there for it.

Also - as a question, why are you fitting an AU ecu? Just out of curiousity.

Also (as mentioned) AFF have some awesome pinouts for the AU ecus.


Cheers,
justfordima
I have the pinouts but not the schematic, I have a manual on the way so this should not be a problem.
I am investigating feasibility at this stage but the appeal is the flashability the AU ECU gives me. Smartshield may well be the go but there is not enough info on the forums to say this is going to be the end of the problems. I have pending questions with an ECU tester at the moment that may help.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 25, 2008 7:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

This stopped for a while as I tried to workout if the ECU I had was Smartshield or smartlock, turns out it was smartshield which ended it for me. Well so I thought until I just scored a dual fuel AU ecu that should be smartlock. So I am back to working on what wiring and sensor changes are required for this to work. Look forward to have a DTE that works on GAS.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 25, 2008 9:27 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

u should be able to turn smartshield of

send XR9Ute a pm :)

also iirc there was some place selling a bypass for it or was that smartlock?

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 9:58 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names