Fordmods Logo

AU ECU question - need very quick response! 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: AU ECU question - need very quick response!
Posted: Thu Nov 26, 2009 11:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 5889

Joined: 2nd Mar 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: '14 Grand Cherokee

Location: Port Lincoln
SA, Australia

just a quick question, will an AU VCT ECU run an AU non VCT XR6?

both series 2.

 

_________________

11/93 ED OPT20 GLi | Full Boat Spec

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: AU ECU question - need very quick response!
Posted: Thu Nov 26, 2009 11:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 1538

Joined: 4th May 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: ef fairmont turbo

Power: 213 rwkw

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

no, not unless you want to run another ecu aswell..
a standard falcon s2 or 3 will work fine though

 

_________________

96 EF FAIRMONT
Garrett gt40turbo, iceman plenum, ported head, turbo cam, double valvesprings, 023 fuel pump, 36lb injectors 4' cat, 4' dump, 2.5 exhaust, build bottom end, hypertonic pistons rods & rods, king bearings, j3. c10 3500 stall
232rwkw@4psi

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: AU ECU question - need very quick response!
Posted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 12:03 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 3045

Joined: 26th Nov 2008

Ride: 1975 XB Falcon 500

Location: In the drivers seat
SA, Australia

Im not so sure.

It would be like running your AU VCT XR6 with the loom pulled out of the VCT unit on the front of the head. Witch I can tell you can work as I have A VCT engine without the VCT hooked up.

Correct me if I am wrong, but besides the VCT unit, everything else is the same. In fact if its going into a standard AU you may get a slight increase in performance with the XR fuel maps, mind you XR fuel rail and injectors would be needed to take full advantage with the fuel maps

 

_________________

Image
http://www.facebook.com/Ford1975

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: AU ECU question - need very quick response!
Posted: Thu Dec 10, 2009 9:46 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 1

Joined: 4th Dec 2009

Ride: ford XF UTE

Location: pt lincoln
SA, Australia

g'day i am the guy with the series 2 AU XR6 non VCT.. Got Alfy to post for me.. Now the XR6 has been changed from auto to manual same as alfys EL ghia.. now i have a VCT manual computer and have tried it and nothing happens except for the red lights on the dash... the starter does NOT Crank at all.. would smart sheild have something to do with this?? this is all that i can think of that could be stopping it from cranking over....

cheers for any help
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: AU ECU question - need very quick response!
Posted: Fri Dec 11, 2009 10:16 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 129

Joined: 28th Jun 2007

Ride: BF Egas Tonner

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Im pretty sure you have to get the smartshield re enabled by an auto lec or ford when changing the ecu in these cars
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 11:05 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names