Fordmods Logo

BA XR6 Dual Fuel Misfire - What to do next? 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

Post subject: BA XR6 Dual Fuel Misfire - What to do next?
Posted: Wed Aug 21, 2013 10:07 pm 
Fordmods Newbie

Ride: Ford Falcon BA XR6

VIC, Australia

Hey guys i need some help, im about $1500 in the hole, and as a uni student, i cant afford to stuff around too much more.

I recently purchased a 03 BA Xr6 falcon converted to dual fuel in 07. When i purchased the car, the previous owner advised that the car was running a bit rough, and was in need of a service. New coils, new plugs, and it still runs like s**t. the mechanic suggested i replace my cat which was damaged but still no fix.
I have looked at the service documents from Ford, and the car has been investigated for the rough idle since new which makes me believe the gas is unrelated to the problem.

The misfire is obvious as low revs when the car is on both petrol and gas, causing the car to shudder, and revs dropping to the point of almost stalling before jumping back up to normal. Also, at about 1500rpm the misfire is obvious, giving the car a slight shudder.

Ive read about taking the car into ford to check the software, checking the vacuum, throttle body, etc etc etc.
Can somebody please enlighten me which route i should take to diagnose the problem, because im sick of throwing money at the car, when its still running as bad as when i first got it.

Thanks

Post subject: Re: BA XR6 Dual Fuel Misfire - What to do next?
Posted: Fri Sep 06, 2013 9:20 am 
Fordmods Newbie

Ride: ba xr6

NSW, Australia