Fordmods Logo

Bypassing Smartlock??? 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 17 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Bypassing Smartlock???
Posted: Mon Jul 05, 2010 8:42 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 57

Joined: 14th Apr 2010

Ride: ED GLi

Location: Ipswich, Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Gday Guys i own a 93 ED GLi and its really starting to give me the well you know.
So i propose getting rid of smartlock but what is the best way to go about this...
I have been given some ideas, some sound alot harder then others, Sooo Im after your opinons what way is the best way to go.
1 replace Smartlock module with a bypass from ebay
2 replace my ecu with a EB1 MPFI ecu <--- i like this one but how exactly do i do it
3 attempt fixing smartlock

As always I thank you guys for your help :)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Bypassing Smartlock???
Posted: Mon Jul 05, 2010 9:28 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 57

Joined: 14th Apr 2010

Ride: ED GLi

Location: Ipswich, Brisbane
QLD, Australia

BUMP
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Bypassing Smartlock???
Posted: Tue Jul 06, 2010 2:58 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 57

Joined: 14th Apr 2010

Ride: ED GLi

Location: Ipswich, Brisbane
QLD, Australia

BUMP
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Bypassing Smartlock???
Posted: Tue Jul 06, 2010 3:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 22

Posts: 613

Joined: 13th Mar 2010

Ride: EF Falcon Monti

Location: Central Coast
NSW, Australia

the ECU one is a problem as the car will still be immobilised due to the smartlock module that goes under the dash

 

_________________

BANNED USER

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Bypassing Smartlock???
Posted: Tue Jul 06, 2010 3:51 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

smartlock is not smart, its actually crap.. should be called dumblock.. :lol: :lol:
if it dont crank over its the starter curcuit in the module..
this is an easy bypass, cut the red/blue wires at the plug of the smartlock modul and join them together, this bypasses the starter curcuit before the module..

problem solved!!!!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Bypassing Smartlock???
Posted: Tue Jul 06, 2010 6:11 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 398

Joined: 31st Aug 2005

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: Explorer

Location: St clair
NSW, Australia

i dont want to hijack the tread but will cutting the same wires on the module work for an el falcon aswell or they a different unit

 

_________________

kangaroos and radiators are a bad mixture

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Bypassing Smartlock???
Posted: Tue Jul 06, 2010 7:57 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 57

Joined: 14th Apr 2010

Ride: ED GLi

Location: Ipswich, Brisbane
QLD, Australia

soorry moderators i didnt mean to report :( i use another forum that has reply where report is on FM's so sorry guys ok now back to subject ok so ill go with an aftermarket bypass now are they hard to installl if anyone knows of a tutorial for doing this
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Bypassing Smartlock???
Posted: Tue Jul 06, 2010 8:11 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

the thing is a smartlock bypass will allow the ecu to operate without a signal from the smartlock module,
but the smartlock module will still kill the starter curcuit if there is a fault.. so if there is a fault in the smartlock module the car wont crank over..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Bypassing Smartlock???
Posted: Tue Jul 06, 2010 8:17 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

mendyxr6 wrote:
i dont want to hijack the tread but will cutting the same wires on the module work for an el falcon aswell or they a different unit


the module is different from ed to el but it does the same thing, its just a matter of finding the starter input and starter outputs and join them together.. you might need a diagram as im not sure if the wire coloiurs are the same...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Bypassing Smartlock???
Posted: Tue Jul 06, 2010 8:24 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 194

Joined: 21st Jan 2010

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: ford falcon ef futura

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

hey troyman my ef spins but doesnt crank that got anything to do with the smartlock or ecu?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Bypassing Smartlock???
Posted: Tue Jul 06, 2010 8:40 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

effalcon94 wrote:
hey troyman my ef spins but doesnt crank that got anything to do with the smartlock or ecu?


if the engine cranks over but doesnt fire, first look at the smartlock light.. what does it do when the ignition is on and when cranking??

if the engine winds over but dont start i would look at the basics, is it getting spark and fuel??
if not then look at the ecu and fuel pump relays before replacing the ecu..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Bypassing Smartlock???
Posted: Tue Jul 06, 2010 8:41 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 194

Joined: 21st Jan 2010

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: ford falcon ef futura

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

ok mate wil do that 2moro when mad matt comes round

cheers anthony
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Bypassing Smartlock???
Posted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 2:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

ok now to my problem lol i have the bypass, full EF loom and motor, installed the bypass as smartlock wouldnt learn, used pin 3 smartlock signal wire, used pin 71 for power, but its not letting the motor start.. how do i fix the stupid dumblock?

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Bypassing Smartlock???
Posted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 2:47 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

huggiebear wrote:
ok now to my problem lol i have the bypass, full EF loom and motor, installed the bypass as smartlock wouldnt learn, used pin 3 smartlock signal wire, used pin 71 for power, but its not letting the motor start.. how do i fix the stupid dumblock?


is it cranking over but not starting?? of not cranking??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Bypassing Smartlock???
Posted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 3:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

it wasnt cranking, i made a quick call to benJ and over the phone we founf the 2 red wires with blue trace, tapped them together and its cranking :D now my next issue haha, got spark, got fuel pump pressurising, injectors are ticking.. not but firing..

i swapped the fuel lines over one line was pressurised and spat fuel all gown my freshly cut arm lol (nice and swollen now) and the other was bone dry.. so something is telling me that fuel is not going into the rail correctly... would the fuel pressure reg stop the fuel returning? tho if it was like that im sure that fuel would just pour into the motor...

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 18 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 2:54 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names