Fordmods Logo

Can i use secondhand XCal3 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 18 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Can i use secondhand XCal3
Posted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 10:47 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 150

Joined: 6th Nov 2009

Ride: AU2 XR8

Location: waroona
WA, Australia

hey guys,

I have just won a secondhand XCal 3 on ebay.

Before I actaully buy it, can it be used on my car? I am guessing the VIn number needs to be changed or something.

Cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Can i use secondhand XCal3
Posted: Sat Dec 24, 2011 9:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 514

Joined: 26th Jul 2011

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: Ba XR6 mk2 n/a

Location: sydney N/Beaches
NSW, Australia

Hey send the seller a MSG and tell him your car make ect,
Are you going to get custom dyno?

 

_________________

BANNED USER

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Can i use secondhand XCal3
Posted: Sat Dec 24, 2011 10:38 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

TKFD wrote:
hey guys,

I have just won a secondhand XCal 3 on ebay.

Before I actaully buy it, can it be used on my car? I am guessing the VIn number needs to be changed or something.

Cheers


I was told you can't but there is information below that says that they can be unlocked. Once used the Xcal is "locked" to that ECU. Herrod are the agents for SCT, would be best to confirm the information with them. As I said I believe you can't use the Xcal 3 with another ECU once locked. Vin number will not mean s**t to the seller or to SCT.

This is from the SCT website, http://www.sctflash.com/support/index.p ... d=24&nav=0

FOR THE FORD X3/SF3 3000/3015 AND THE GM SF3 3100:
•Power up the device by plugging in to either a vehicle's OBDII port or a computer's USB port. (usb cable not included)

•Once powered up, scroll all the way down to device info.

•Press Select on Device Info.

•Status will either be: Status: Locked or Status: Unlocked.


*This is the breakdown of what each one means:*

•Status: Locked - The vehicle is VIN locked, you need to either return the vehicle it is currently locked to back to stock, or you will need to call Tech Support and Get a Return Authorization and pay an Unlocking Fee.


•Status: Unlocked - Your tuner is not locked, go tune.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Can i use secondhand XCal3
Posted: Mon Dec 26, 2011 1:04 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 514

Joined: 26th Jul 2011

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: Ba XR6 mk2 n/a

Location: sydney N/Beaches
NSW, Australia

Simple .... Why purchase something without knowing what the hell to do with it.
Some people are so stupid makes me sick

 

_________________

BANNED USER

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Can i use secondhand XCal3
Posted: Mon Dec 26, 2011 6:15 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

ba_xr6bw wrote:
Simple .... Why purchase something without knowing what the hell to do with it.
Some people are so stupid makes me sick


This statement coming from the person of so much wisdom. 2 posts ago you knew nothing, now your an expert. :roll:

As I have said before "Engage brain (If you have one) before engaging mouth" Better still in you case, don't open it. (On here, cut off your typing finger).... :twisted:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Can i use secondhand XCal3
Posted: Mon Dec 26, 2011 7:42 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 514

Joined: 26th Jul 2011

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: Ba XR6 mk2 n/a

Location: sydney N/Beaches
NSW, Australia

Yea mate I had second thoughts as to why he did not do his research , hmm

 

_________________

BANNED USER

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Can i use secondhand XCal3
Posted: Mon Dec 26, 2011 11:16 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1008

Joined: 21st Dec 2004

Ride: ED V8

Location: driving under the sun........now!
WA, Australia

TKFD wrote:
hey guys,

I have just won a secondhand XCal 3 on ebay.

Before I actaully buy it, can it be used on my car? I am guessing the VIn number needs to be changed or something.

Cheers


Dude, you've won it on ebay already..... Whats with this "Before I actually buy it....." BS??

You've already bought it!!

Caveat Emptor!!

 

_________________

ED XR8 Spri-mitatio-nt

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Can i use secondhand XCal3
Posted: Mon Dec 26, 2011 11:23 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

philaddis wrote:
TKFD wrote:
hey guys,

I have just won a secondhand XCal 3 on ebay.

Before I actaully buy it, can it be used on my car? I am guessing the VIn number needs to be changed or something.

Cheers


Dude, you've won it on ebay already..... Whats with this "Before I actually buy it....." BS??

You've already bought it!!

Caveat Emptor!!


That is actually correct. Winning an auction is binding, you win, you pay. If you are not sure, don't bid.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Can i use secondhand XCal3
Posted: Mon Dec 26, 2011 4:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 1507

Joined: 14th Aug 2009

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: BA XT V8

Location: Gosnells, Perth
WA, Australia

i think XFT use the Xcal units too. try ringing them aswell for more info.

 

_________________

BA XT V8. Ice Mint. 18" Speedys. XR6T LSD. Full Pacemaker twin 2 1/2inch Stainless Steel system. Custom CAI. Black XR interior with white trimming. Powerbond underdrive kit 25%.
13.65@102mph. 2800 hi-Stall.
230RWKW@5250 rpm. 625NM.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Can i use secondhand XCal3
Posted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 6:16 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 150

Joined: 6th Nov 2009

Ride: AU2 XR8

Location: waroona
WA, Australia

Thanks guys for all that helped, and hope you had a great chrissy

The unit has been put back to stock, and according to XFT that is ok.

For the knockers - I didn't actually win the item at that stage just placed a bid. I have won it now though, and have my car booked into XFT after the new year.

Can i just say, this is a great forum where ford lovers (and others) can get advice about a topic they no little about, or know heaps about and wish to help those who don't. The old saying "there's no such thing as a stupid question - just a stupid answer" rings true.

there seems to be a trend with the under 30's with the smart-a*** attitude and know it all factor, but you read their threads and its all bad spelling and grammar, and stupid remarks.

GROW UP!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Can i use secondhand XCal3
Posted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 6:19 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 150

Joined: 6th Nov 2009

Ride: AU2 XR8

Location: waroona
WA, Australia

ba_xr6bw wrote:
Simple .... Why purchase something without knowing what the hell to do with it.
Some people are so stupid makes me sick


how do you spell January - stupid!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Can i use secondhand XCal3
Posted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 7:34 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

TKFD wrote:
ba_xr6bw wrote:
Simple .... Why purchase something without knowing what the hell to do with it.
Some people are so stupid makes me sick


how do you spell January - stupid!


TKFD wrote:
Can i just say, this is a great forum where ford lovers (and others) can get advice about a topic they no little about, or know heaps about and wish to help those who don't. The old saying "there's no such thing as a stupid question - just a stupid answer" rings true.

there seems to be a trend with the under 30's with the smart-a*** attitude and know it all factor, but you read their threads and its all bad spelling and grammar, and stupid remarks.

GROW UP!


In the case of some here, there is such a thing as STUPID QUESTIONS.... I will leave you to figure out who I am refering too.... :roll:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Can i use secondhand XCal3
Posted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 7:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 514

Joined: 26th Jul 2011

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: Ba XR6 mk2 n/a

Location: sydney N/Beaches
NSW, Australia

Why don't u just go looking for every spell mistake on this site u d**k

 

_________________

BANNED USER

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Can i use secondhand XCal3
Posted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 7:36 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

ba_xr6bw wrote:
Why don't u just go looking for every spell mistake on this site u d**k


In your case we don't need to look far :lol:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Can i use secondhand XCal3
Posted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 8:03 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 248

Joined: 4th Nov 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AUIII

Location: COONABARABRAN
NSW, Australia

I have just read this from top to bottom.
Seems to me like you started the thread on the back foot mate!
Have a read for yourself what you wrote as a question to the forum?
Wow...and you wonder why you get flamed...

the end

 

_________________

AUIII, PACEY 4499's, MAGNIFLOW CAT, 2.5" ZORST, 17X8" AUII XR RIMS....otherwise all factory!

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 5:30 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names