Fordmods Logo

Computer query 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Computer query
Posted: Mon Jul 17, 2006 7:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4849

Joined: 19th Feb 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA Falcon Suzy Across

Power: 178 rwkw

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

I've been so lost with tuning and computer so I wan't definate answers from those in the know.

As far as I know, You can either get a

    piggy back (not very safe i've heard) $$?
    aftermarket ECU (eg: wolf3d) $1k-2k
    dyno tuned


So does dyno tuning use your stock computer and is it as effective as getting an aftermarket computer?

What category does the capa flash tuner fall under.

Can dyno tuning do things that the capa flash tuner can do such as removing the limiting flywire throttle control etc and how much does dyno tuning cost?

 

_________________

178.3 rwkw
15.1@96 mph
Now with 3.9 shrooms

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 17, 2006 9:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Dyno tuning a stock ecu doesnt do anything. If you want to retune the engine you have to get a chip/edit or aftermarket ecu.

Edit is a closer to a chip (it gives you all the functionality of an aftermarket ecu but you still cant retune it yourself).

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 17, 2006 10:12 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4849

Joined: 19th Feb 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA Falcon Suzy Across

Power: 178 rwkw

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

so if i bought a capa flash unit, the tuner can use that to dyno tune it?

 

_________________

178.3 rwkw
15.1@96 mph
Now with 3.9 shrooms

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 17, 2006 10:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Only if they are set up to do it. You average dyno shop cant do anything with them. That is the main difference between edits/chips and aftermarket ecu's. When you edit/chip your ecu, ONLY tuners who are agents for the product can tune them. With an aftermarket ecu, anyone (including you) can do it.

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 18, 2006 8:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4849

Joined: 19th Feb 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA Falcon Suzy Across

Power: 178 rwkw

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

ok, so what would be recommended to get it dyno tuned after my exhaust system without buying a computer? I know jmm dyno tune all their dev packages and sell the ultimate sequentioal computer for an added cost dyno tuned so how do they tune it if you don't opt for the computer?

 

_________________

178.3 rwkw
15.1@96 mph
Now with 3.9 shrooms

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 18, 2006 9:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

smiley235 wrote:
ok, so what would be recommended to get it dyno tuned after my exhaust system without buying a computer? I know jmm dyno tune all their dev packages and sell the ultimate sequentioal computer for an added cost dyno tuned so how do they tune it if you don't opt for the computer?


The only thing you can change is base timing and that is only on EA-ED an EL's. On EF and AU onwards there is absolutely nothing that can be done to retune the engines without at least a chip or edit.

On EA-ED and EL a dyno tune will only be setting the base timing plus a few degrees.

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 18, 2006 9:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4849

Joined: 19th Feb 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA Falcon Suzy Across

Power: 178 rwkw

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

ok, sorry for my confusion. So a chip is like a piggy back right? and is any1 is allowed to tune a chip or only the company that made it.

 

_________________

178.3 rwkw
15.1@96 mph
Now with 3.9 shrooms

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 18, 2006 9:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

smiley235 wrote:
ok, sorry for my confusion. So a chip is like a piggy back right? and is any1 is allowed to tune a chip or only the company that made it.


Only the company that made it and agents.

Best bet is to talk to local dyno shops and see what product they use.

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 18, 2006 10:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4849

Joined: 19th Feb 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA Falcon Suzy Across

Power: 178 rwkw

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

ok, cheers.

Thanks for the help stockie. :)

 

_________________

178.3 rwkw
15.1@96 mph
Now with 3.9 shrooms

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 8:51 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names