Fordmods Logo

Dirty O2 sensor makes it run smokey? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Dirty O2 sensor makes it run smokey?
Posted: Tue Feb 15, 2005 8:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1960

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 22 images

Power: 315 rwkw

Location: Under the flight path of incoming packpackers
NSW, Australia

Will a dirty O2 sensor make the motor puff out black smoke at idle? Mine is doing this now, also idle is really bad now. cleaned plugs, didnt change, cleaned O2 sensor and now it diles and runs better, still rough and puffing smoke
Doe4s this sound like a stuffed o2 sensor?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 15, 2005 8:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 533

Joined: 12th Jan 2005

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

How did you clean the O2 sensor?

The only way to clean them properly is to get them red hot in an oxy torch to burn off all the carbon.

Generally, O2 sensors get sluggish when they get old, but they don't get inaccurate.

You could always try replacing it. You'll need a heated, 3 wire O2 sensor. They're about $100 I think...... maybe a bit more as that's a trade price.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 15, 2005 10:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1440

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: 320kw BA XR8

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Doesn't sound like the O2 sensors but it does sound liek it is running fairly rich for some reason. I assume this has happened all of a sudden. Check for vacuum leaks or a vac hose that has come off, also might be worth changing the O2 sensor anyway, get the NJK replacement which are about $60-70.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 16, 2005 8:47 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 62

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon EF

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

hey where do you get the njk o2 sensors??

 

_________________

EF EL Fibreglass bonnet with BA Bulge Click Here: http://fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=54102
95 EF Falcon Gli 5ltr V8!!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 16, 2005 8:51 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 42

Posts: 452

Joined: 21st Dec 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

If it is running rough and puffing black smoke it could be that one of your cylinders isn't firing on every stroke that it should and your fuel is burning in the exhaust. Check the plug leads and dizzy cap.

 

_________________

Adrian
EF Fairmont, 5.0Lt, Pacemaker Headers, Sports cats, Redback muff, T5 manual, 16" Tickford rims, Tickford "Body Styling", DBA Gold Rotors, Heritage Green, JVC MP3
XB Coupe, 351C, twin system, C4 shift kitted auto, 9" LSD, Eccose Blue, very loud !!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 16, 2005 3:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1960

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 22 images

Power: 315 rwkw

Location: Under the flight path of incoming packpackers
NSW, Australia

Ok, checked all plug leads and they all fire a big spark, so thats fine. pulled all the plugs out and they are all very black ( not very old either).
Did a comp test (dry) and got 130 odd on all cyls, but Im not sure what they should be... 130 is good for an old motor?
I noticed that one fuel injector is slightly leaking, but I cant see how this would make it run mega rich.
I will check for vacume leaks now.

Oh and yes it happened all of a sudden... I just got the turbo up and running and am just test driving it, turbo is new.

What else can I check?

thanks guys
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 16, 2005 3:47 pm 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 8831

Joined: 18th Dec 2002

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: AUII V8 LTD

Power: 270 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

are these the new big 700cc injectors?

Try unplugging the O2 sensor and see if it acts any different.

Also make sure ur MAP vacuum line is on and that you havent blown it out under boost or something :P

 

_________________

WAG363: AUII LTD Supercharged 363 Dart Stroker [Supercharged 363 LTD Build]
WAGGIN: 2012 Volkswagen Passat Wagon - V6 4Motion.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 16, 2005 4:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 8655

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 37 images

Ride: V8 EF Futura

Location: Adelaide CBD
SA, Australia

Slightly o/t.... but what happens to a MAP sensor which normally sees a range like 20inch of vac through to 0 inches vac/pressure when you apply pressure to it? Do they tend to have a range? And what does EEC think when it sees positive pressure in the manifold?

 

_________________

I promise..... I will never die.

Fordmods Administration Group MINOR PUNKED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 16, 2005 4:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 42

Posts: 452

Joined: 21st Dec 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

The thing you have to remember with the 6's MAP sensor is it is Absolute pressure (Manifold Absolute Pressure, MAP). It is never negative, always positive.

Basically 0kPa is a full vacuum, 101.3kPa is a standard day atmospheric pressure, 100kPa is 1bar. All sensors have a measurement range. I will check it out for you when I get home tonight, assuming I still have some info on it.

I assume it is ranged close to one bar cos most turbo kits come with a new MAP sensor.

 

_________________

Adrian
EF Fairmont, 5.0Lt, Pacemaker Headers, Sports cats, Redback muff, T5 manual, 16" Tickford rims, Tickford "Body Styling", DBA Gold Rotors, Heritage Green, JVC MP3
XB Coupe, 351C, twin system, C4 shift kitted auto, 9" LSD, Eccose Blue, very loud !!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 16, 2005 6:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1960

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 22 images

Power: 315 rwkw

Location: Under the flight path of incoming packpackers
NSW, Australia

Panic's over... it was that hose on the map sensor ( I spose thats the black box above the fuel rail?) anyway put it back on and all is good again... although now I need to clean or replace the mega black sparkplugs hehe
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 16, 2005 6:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 42

Posts: 452

Joined: 21st Dec 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

makes sense. The computer saw atmospheric pressure, which his way high in N/A manifold terms so chucked in heaps of fuel.

 

_________________

Adrian
EF Fairmont, 5.0Lt, Pacemaker Headers, Sports cats, Redback muff, T5 manual, 16" Tickford rims, Tickford "Body Styling", DBA Gold Rotors, Heritage Green, JVC MP3
XB Coupe, 351C, twin system, C4 shift kitted auto, 9" LSD, Eccose Blue, very loud !!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 21, 2005 6:18 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 258

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: '98 EL XR8

Location: Katherine
NT, Australia

Had the same problem of securing the MAP sensor to the firewall... when I did it, it pulled the hose off of the inlet manifold without realising and it ran rich as a b**ch!!!

Obvisouly it thinks its @ WOT so its injecting a s**t load of fuel at idle... nice smoke effects though... neighbours werent impressed. :wink:

PS I've also hear if you run the mixture too rich it can f**k your cat converter.

 

_________________

"...we can rebuild him, we have the technology... we just dont want to spend a lot of money."
SIX MILLION PESO FALCON

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 21, 2005 1:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1960

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 22 images

Power: 315 rwkw

Location: Under the flight path of incoming packpackers
NSW, Australia

Yeah, fills it with crap like this sucker I attacked with the grinder...

Image
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 13 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 8:24 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names