Fordmods Logo

Economy V Power mode 

 

Page 4 of 4 [ 56 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4

 
Posted: Mon Jan 31, 2005 1:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6913

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: BF XR6, BF XT Wagon

Power: 197 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Ahh Ok. My cars got Pacemakers and 2.5" exhaust recently done. Also a K&N.

Maybe the Oxy sensor was changed.

 

_________________

EL XR8
Timmeh banned himself from being a moderator.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 01, 2005 1:10 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 6

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Wagon

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

unclewoja wrote:
In Fords, they delay the kickdown and require less vacuum (i.e more throttle) to kick down. It also in some conditions lowers the revs like cruising on the freeway. In econ your engine does about 200rpm less that in power.


Er...there's some basic physics that prevents lowering the revs! If you want to travel at a certain speed, your wheels have to have a certain rpm. To make the wheels rotate at that rpm the engine has to rotate at a certain speed. The only way the engine rpm could change while maintaining the same wheel rpm is if you change gears.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 01, 2005 1:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 52

Posts: 4370

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: BA Fairlane Ghia

Location: Karratha
WA, Australia

The old autos, used a vacuum line to change, the new ones are controlled by the ECU, so vacuum shouldnt be a problem.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 01, 2005 1:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 8655

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 37 images

Ride: V8 EF Futura

Location: Adelaide CBD
SA, Australia

bowsaw wrote:
The old autos, used a vacuum line to change, the new ones are controlled by the ECU, so vacuum shouldnt be a problem.


Prolly meant more from a MAP perspective altho im unsure if load (vacuum vs RPM) is used by the gearbox's computer....

 

_________________

I promise..... I will never die.

Fordmods Administration Group MINOR PUNKED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 01, 2005 5:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 533

Joined: 12th Jan 2005

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

spj wrote:
unclewoja wrote:
In Fords, they delay the kickdown and require less vacuum (i.e more throttle) to kick down. It also in some conditions lowers the revs like cruising on the freeway. In econ your engine does about 200rpm less that in power.


Er...there's some basic physics that prevents lowering the revs! If you want to travel at a certain speed, your wheels have to have a certain rpm. To make the wheels rotate at that rpm the engine has to rotate at a certain speed. The only way the engine rpm could change while maintaining the same wheel rpm is if you change gears.


Actually, no. There is no direct link between the engine and the gearbox... only the torque converter. Just because the engine is doing 1800RPM does not mean that the input shaft of the transmission is doing 1800RPM.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 01, 2005 6:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 4102

Joined: 18th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: PX2 Ranger 4x4 XLT Dual CAB

Location: Carrum Downs
VIC, Australia

Well it couldn't be going faster, and if its going slower then the torque converter isn't locking up at high speed or its slipping.

My EL does the same revs at 100 in either power or ecconomy

 

_________________

Image
She's meanness put to music and the b**ch is born to run!
Like the sign says, "speed's just a question of money. How fast can you go?"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 01, 2005 6:08 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 52

Posts: 4370

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: BA Fairlane Ghia

Location: Karratha
WA, Australia

4.9 EF Futura wrote:
bowsaw wrote:
The old autos, used a vacuum line to change, the new ones are controlled by the ECU, so vacuum shouldnt be a problem.


Prolly meant more from a MAP perspective altho im unsure if load (vacuum vs RPM) is used by the gearbox's computer....
I see what you mean, does the MAP have input to gear changes?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 8:21 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 533

Joined: 12th Jan 2005

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

madmax wrote:
Well it couldn't be going faster, and if its going slower then the torque converter isn't locking up at high speed or its slipping.

My EL does the same revs at 100 in either power or ecconomy


An unlocked torque converter always slips. It is unavoidable.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 8:25 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 533

Joined: 12th Jan 2005

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

bowsaw wrote:
4.9 EF Futura wrote:
bowsaw wrote:
The old autos, used a vacuum line to change, the new ones are controlled by the ECU, so vacuum shouldnt be a problem.


Prolly meant more from a MAP perspective altho im unsure if load (vacuum vs RPM) is used by the gearbox's computer....
I see what you mean, does the MAP have input to gear changes?


All autos are governed by vacuum. Whether it be a physical vacuum line from the engine or an electrical signal from the ECU generated from vacuum gauge.

MAP is brother to vacuum btw. If you've got 50kPa MAP, you've got 50kPa vacuum. 40kPa MAP, 60kPa vacuum (because we know that standard atmospheric pressure is about 100kPa)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 10:24 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 4102

Joined: 18th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: PX2 Ranger 4x4 XLT Dual CAB

Location: Carrum Downs
VIC, Australia

unclewoja wrote:
madmax wrote:
Well it couldn't be going faster, and if its going slower then the torque converter isn't locking up at high speed or its slipping.

My EL does the same revs at 100 in either power or ecconomy


An unlocked torque converter always slips. It is unavoidable.


True but your saying 200rpm lower when cruising down the freeway, this is when it should be locked

When unlocked at lower speeds the amount it slips would depend the condition of the torque convertor

 

_________________

Image
She's meanness put to music and the b**ch is born to run!
Like the sign says, "speed's just a question of money. How fast can you go?"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 10:49 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 8655

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 37 images

Ride: V8 EF Futura

Location: Adelaide CBD
SA, Australia

madmax wrote:
unclewoja wrote:
madmax wrote:
Well it couldn't be going faster, and if its going slower then the torque converter isn't locking up at high speed or its slipping.

My EL does the same revs at 100 in either power or ecconomy


An unlocked torque converter always slips. It is unavoidable.


True but your saying 200rpm lower when cruising down the freeway, this is when it should be locked

When unlocked at lower speeds the amount it slips would depend the condition of the torque convertor


Im not sure what you guys are debating but feel you may be misunderstanding each other....

The torque converter will lock up under certain conditions, in 3rd or 4th gear, above 60km/hr... and is more willing to do so in economy mode. It should be noted that the TCC is unlocked under throttle and also deceleration as the TCC is prone to slipping under these conditions so EEC unlocks the TCC to prevent wear.

Also, the input and output of a converter can differntiate either way i.e. under acceleration the engine-side of the TC will rotate quicker than the trans-side of the TC... under deceleration, load is being transferred back onto the engine thus trans-side of TC is moving quicker than engine-side...

 

_________________

I promise..... I will never die.

Fordmods Administration Group MINOR PUNKED

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 4 of 4  [ 56 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:20 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names