Fordmods Logo

EF Tachometer Signal (Engine Conversion) 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 17 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: EF Tachometer Signal (Engine Conversion)
Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 4:16 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 20

Joined: 11th Jan 2008

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

First post so hello and please be gentle. :D

Just finished an EF I6 engine conversion into an old Landcruiser using the factory harness (minus un-needed bits) and ECU. I really only have 1 problem. No tacho. I've located pin no 45 on the ECU with tacho signal wire (pink with blue trace). When this is plugged into the signal wire for my aftermarket tacho it does nothing. I'm assuming this tacho signal wire from the ECU goes through some sort of AC amplifier on the EF dash before going to the factory gauge. Can anyone confirm this and maybe let me know where I can source the necessary amplifier to put inline to make my tacho work?

Thanks for reading and I look forward to your replies.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 7:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2550

Joined: 28th Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: EF 5 Speed, XH Uterus :P

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

i have installed an aftermarket tacho to an XG, which (i think) is the same wiring setup. the pink wire worked. we grabbed it from teh diagnostics port, if you still have that

does your tacho have a setting for cylinders? if so, check it is set to 6 cylinder!

 

_________________

Maloo - Holden's word for ugly.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 8:00 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 20

Joined: 11th Jan 2008

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Yeah it has a switch for 4/6/8 cyl and its definately on 6. I'm told top end (read expensive) aftermarket tachos like Autometer will read the square wave signal from this wire but el-cheapo tachos like mine won't without some sort of AC amplifier. I really don't want to put in another tacho (certainly not after bling factor here), I just want to get my little tacho working with the minimum of fuss. Just hoping someone on here has had some experience with this.

To answer your question, no I dont have the diagnostics port wired into the vehicle so I'm taking the signal wire (pink with blue trace) straight from the ECU plug.

Thanks for the reply.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 8:42 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 78

Joined: 20th Mar 2007

Ride: XC UTE

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

Excuse my ignorance but does your engine have a distributor or coil packs?

I know with some tacho signals the computer grounds a 12V signal from the tacho and then the tacho counts the pulses.
Do you have 12V on the EEC tacho output or 0V when the ignition is switched on?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 9:02 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 20

Joined: 11th Jan 2008

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Coilpacks. Signal wire from computer has 6 to 7 volts (varies) with ignition on.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 9:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 1319

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 66 Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

ray, what sort of tacho is it that you have got?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2008 11:13 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 20

Joined: 11th Jan 2008

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

No idea what brand tacho it is. I've been using it for years on the old 6cyl carby toyota engine with no probs. You think I'll have to upgrade the tacho to something made this century? :)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2008 11:24 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 1319

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 66 Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Your tacho is most likely voltage triggered (ie it used to connect to the - coil terminal)
You can either install an MSD tach adapter, or buy a tacho that will trigger off the ecu.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2008 11:29 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 20

Joined: 11th Jan 2008

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Excellent, I'll look into both options then. Are most of the new tachos on the market happy to read off the ecu or am I looking for something specific? Do EFs have this AC amplifier between the ecu and the factory gauge?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2008 8:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 51

Posts: 918

Joined: 6th Aug 2007

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: BA XR8

Location: Kellyville
NSW, Australia

Hey,

I too have done conversion into my 4wd, a Maverick. I connected up the tacho wire and it didnt work.....there was 2 pink with blue trace wires, i swapped them over and voila.....tacho in the dash working. My engine is an EL, maybe thats why is worked, because i have a dizzy.

I just checked my manual, and the coil drive wires from ecu are yellow/black...yellow/red...yellow/white, and the wire is pink/black from the diagnostic plug. Maybe if the tacho is connected to one of the yellow wires then it might work.

Cheers

Daz 8-)

 

_________________

BA XR8 Boss 260
DAZFAB......Now Mobile
Mink = GAY
DAZFAB MEMBERS ,,,,DA22LE, XTT909, TERRORISTGHIA, TROYMAN, SWC, FAT245

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2008 9:56 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 20

Joined: 11th Jan 2008

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Cheers for that Daz. I followed 66 Coupe's advice and got myself a new gauge (the price of the adapter is more than the gauge) and it works perfectly off that wire (pink with blue trace). Yeah being coilpacks, I assume the tacho is driven differently between EL and EF. How do you find the EL motor in the Mav?

Thanks again 66 Coupe. :D
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 29, 2008 6:01 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 51

Posts: 918

Joined: 6th Aug 2007

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: BA XR8

Location: Kellyville
NSW, Australia

Mate,

I can tell you that the economy is much better than the old nissan carb model. As i mentioned in fordmans thread the engine doesnt seem to want to go as good as i know it should. I had to convert to manual as well cause the bellhousing for auto doesnt exist, after being told it did....long story.....

It has more go than the nissan motor for sure, but will be better after i install my EMS StingerV4, cant wait. Should be here next week.

Cheers

8-) Daz 8-)

 

_________________

BA XR8 Boss 260
DAZFAB......Now Mobile
Mink = GAY
DAZFAB MEMBERS ,,,,DA22LE, XTT909, TERRORISTGHIA, TROYMAN, SWC, FAT245

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 29, 2008 9:39 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 20

Joined: 11th Jan 2008

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Sounds good Dazzle. Have you got a buildup thread somewhere you can link me to? Interested to see how well the EL fits into a GQ/Mav.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 29, 2008 9:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 51

Posts: 918

Joined: 6th Aug 2007

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: BA XR8

Location: Kellyville
NSW, Australia

Ray,

i have a thread on overclockers.com.au.....u might be able to view some of the thread, if not, i can email some pics if you want.....

try http://forums.overclockers.com.au/showthread.php?t=582396&page=7 the link may not work as you might have to be a member, but you never know.

Cheers

Daz

 

_________________

BA XR8 Boss 260
DAZFAB......Now Mobile
Mink = GAY
DAZFAB MEMBERS ,,,,DA22LE, XTT909, TERRORISTGHIA, TROYMAN, SWC, FAT245

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Tachometer Signal (Engine Conversion)
Posted: Sun Dec 01, 2013 6:26 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 3

Joined: 10th Jul 2011

Ride: xr6

Power: 760 rwkw

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

guys just reading you posts on you convershons and im doing a bf in to a FJ80 just wondering how you guy went with the sump on the ditt ??? any mods needed
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 2:17 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names