Fordmods Logo

EL XR6 ECU into EF ? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: EL XR6 ECU into EF ?
Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 8:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1518

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 14 images

Ride: BA XR6 Turbo

Power: 175 rwkw

Location: The Shire, Sydney
NSW, Australia

Hey guys I'm after a new ECU for my EF to take better advantage of my new ITS engine. As much as they'd be nice and I'd no doubt get a decent gain, I don't wanna spend thousands on expensive aftermarket chips.
I'm thinking I'll just go with an XR chip for the better fuel maps and what ever else they may offer.

I'm just wondering if the EFs will run with an EL XR6 ECU given that they went back to distributors with the ELs. I don't know if the EL XR maps were any better than the EF ones but usually the programming gets better over time.

 

_________________

ImageImage

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 10:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1440

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: 320kw BA XR8

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

No EL ECU's wont work in EF's because of the coil pack ignition system.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 10:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1518

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 14 images

Ride: BA XR6 Turbo

Power: 175 rwkw

Location: The Shire, Sydney
NSW, Australia

Thought as much, thanks

 

_________________

ImageImage

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 10:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 3519

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA XR8, XD Fairmont Ghia

Location: Ferntree Gully
VIC, Australia

you spend good $$$$$$ on an engine then let the standard ecu let you down. you have a manual so why not pull out the ford computer and replace it with a motec or autronics ect. then you can map it for performance not for economy and emissions like the standard ones are.
a autronics should set you back a couple of grand.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 10:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1518

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 14 images

Ride: BA XR6 Turbo

Power: 175 rwkw

Location: The Shire, Sydney
NSW, Australia

I've pretty much spent all I have to spend on the engine itself. Plus it comes down to bang for buck. I'll have ~170 rwkw as it stands - I'm not prepared to spend half the cost of the engine or more just for another 10kw or so.

 

_________________

ImageImage

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 10:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 3519

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA XR8, XD Fairmont Ghia

Location: Ferntree Gully
VIC, Australia

the other option is an inline unit like a unichip. i have one in my BA XR6
but you cant program it yourself. it will set you back around a grand.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 10:41 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 3097

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 29 images

Ride: VU SS

Location: Ivanhoe
NSW, Australia

That's true, but $1250 for a UNICHIP aint bad. That could very well get you the extra 10kW, which would make it pretty good value.

 

_________________

EF Fairmont now Sold!
Guides: Polishing|Modifications |Manual Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 10:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1518

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 14 images

Ride: BA XR6 Turbo

Power: 175 rwkw

Location: The Shire, Sydney
NSW, Australia

Yeah if I was going to spend a grand I'd spend a bit extra and get a programmable one. I dont want to spend anywhere near that though.

Arhh, this serious engine modding business is getting old of control. I think I've started a chain reaction :)

 

_________________

ImageImage

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 10:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 3519

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA XR8, XD Fairmont Ghia

Location: Ferntree Gully
VIC, Australia

if you got the unichip you would be pulling it out after a while and replacing it with a fully programable e.c.u that the way modding works unless you bite the bullet ask for the right advice and put the right stuff in first time around.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 16, 2005 2:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 533

Joined: 12th Jan 2005

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

xr8 dismantler wrote:
the other option is an inline unit like a unichip. i have one in my BA XR6
but you cant program it yourself. it will set you back around a grand.


Or you go with a megasquirt II for about $300.

It doesn't matter whaqt you throw at the Megasquirt, it always comes out on top with regards to best bang for your buck in the ECU market
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 16, 2005 3:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1518

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 14 images

Ride: BA XR6 Turbo

Power: 175 rwkw

Location: The Shire, Sydney
NSW, Australia

Yeah a megasquirt is definitely my primary target now :)

MSII isn't actually out as such yet is it ? Still the MS1 with add on boards and stuff ? I was going to hang out a little longer but if the MS1 with add ons is just as good than I'll go ahead with that.

 

_________________

ImageImage

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 11 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 7:10 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names