Fordmods Logo

ELM327 OBD2 scanner tool not connecting to AU2 ECU 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: ELM327 OBD2 scanner tool not connecting to AU2 ECU
Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:25 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 165

Joined: 9th Jan 2007

Ride: 75th AUII Ghia

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

I have a ELM327 OBD2 scan tool which I bought and I use a few softwares with it. I wanted to see if I could pull up some codes from the AU2 6cyl Fairmont I have 2000 model and it always errors out at the point it tries to establish a connection with the ECU.

It detects the tool and communication port and baud-rate to communicate to the tool correctly and when it gets to talking to the ECU - it failed asking to turn car off then ON. I have a few softwares on my laptop - AutoDoctor, PCM-OBD2, ScanTool.net - all fail at the same point.

I use it nicely on my JEEP WH with no issues but just not on the AU2 Fairmont (XR Series 75th Fairmont).

It would be nice if it could talk to the Ford's ECU so I can skip paying the ridiculous $25 at the mechanic for a 10 second scan.

If anyone has tried this and what software they use.

Im starting to think the OBD2 protocol used to talk to the ECU is too modern for it and maybe an older tool can do the trick.

Thanks
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ELM327 OBD2 scanner tool not connecting to AU2 ECU
Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:28 pm 
NSW Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 7331

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: TE50

Location: ɹǝpun uʍop
NSW, Australia

Troyman should be able to advise what software works with the falcons.

 

_________________

Image

I have a car.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ELM327 OBD2 scanner tool not connecting to AU2 ECU
Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:55 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 165

Joined: 9th Jan 2007

Ride: 75th AUII Ghia

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

it's definitely got the OBD2 connector on the AU2
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ELM327 OBD2 scanner tool not connecting to AU2 ECU
Posted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 12:58 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 429

Joined: 3rd Jan 2005

Ride: AU XR6 with BF Turbo engine

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

I dont think the AU is OBD11. As the snap on scanner I use has different plugs for AU and the B series stuff.

 

_________________

RIP :( 1x confused Falcon..EL Falcon with full AU running gear...VCT, 5 speed, IRS, AUII front suspension, brakes, and steering RIP

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ELM327 OBD2 scanner tool not connecting to AU2 ECU
Posted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 1:24 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 165

Joined: 9th Jan 2007

Ride: 75th AUII Ghia

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

thanks, Im thinking you're right. I think it's OBD1 - just the plug is the same as that I use on the JEEP which is an OBD2 16-pin rectangular plug
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ELM327 OBD2 scanner tool not connecting to AU2 ECU
Posted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 3:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 41

Posts: 4629

Joined: 23rd Nov 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: 5.0 AU's and 5.0 Maverick

Power: 139 rwkw

Location: Sydney West
NSW, Australia

AU isn't OBD 2.
Its fords version which isn't compatible.
You can use Forscan and I think an ELM427 dongle.

 

_________________

xr6turnip wrote:
More people paid for a ride in a VT commodore then an AU Falcon so the VT is superior.
Based on that fact my Mum is the best around!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ELM327 OBD2 scanner tool not connecting to AU2 ECU
Posted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 4:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

You can use your ELM Dongle, but like has been pointed out, you have to use Forscan Software (Its free).

AU isnt OBD2 compatible - that didnt happen until the BA.

Nigel
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ELM327 OBD2 scanner tool not connecting to AU2 ECU
Posted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 5:21 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 165

Joined: 9th Jan 2007

Ride: 75th AUII Ghia

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Thanks for the replies. I'll try my ELM dongle and with the Forscan software
The ELM327 dongle says it covers OBD1, OBD2 so will have another go, cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ELM327 OBD2 scanner tool not connecting to AU2 ECU
Posted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 5:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

I use a generic ebay ELM with forscan - it works fine. I also use a bluetooth one.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ELM327 OBD2 scanner tool not connecting to AU2 ECU
Posted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 9:14 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 165

Joined: 9th Jan 2007

Ride: 75th AUII Ghia

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Thank you everyone, it worked

Forscan and my ELM327 dongle pulled up the DTC logs on the AU2
This included the P0758 that the mechanic found with his so called "$10,000 dollar machine" (these are the words he uses) so he said which took him 10secs and I had to pay $25 for it.

I'll run the scanner next time there's issues before I take it to the shop

(Maybe Ford should do like the JEEP where it diagnoses itself and give out the codes)

Thanks again.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 3:52 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names