Engine dies when I give it a boot full 

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

Post subject: Engine dies when I give it a boot full
Posted: Thu Sep 25, 2014 7:55 pm 
Fordmods Newbie

Ride: Fairmont Ghia AU III

QLD, Australia

Hi,

If I give my car a bootfull when I take off or when I go around a corner the engine dies as if its not getting any fuel. Happens more when I have less than half a tank.

What should I check first, maybe the fuel pump?

Thanks

2002 AU III Fairmont Ghia
2004 Focus 1.8 SR (Wifes car)
2000 Yamaha R6 (Toy)

Post subject: Re: Engine dies when I give it a boot full
Posted: Tue Oct 14, 2014 10:25 pm 
Fordmods Newbie

Ride: au fairmont ghia

QLD, Australia

Hi
I have the same car and have the same problem. Thank god im a mechanic and found the cause because paying a mechanic to find this problem would cost a fortune
There is a fault with actual fuel tank.
I fitted brand new fuel pump and level sender and to my suprise found almost half a tank of fuel even though the old and brand new gauge said empty. I checked the level sender using multi meter and found nothing wrong with the new or old level sender
Fitting new fuel pump did not fix problem.
As you said put your foot down or go fast around a corner fuel pressure is lost and car almost stalls
The only way to fix the problem was to fit an EL fuel tank i had that i knew had no issues. The AU fuel pump does not fit EL tank so i had to cut old plug and rewired the EL plug to use the better EL fuel pump .

Posted: Tue Oct 14, 2014 10:25 pm 
Fordmods Newbie

Ride: au fairmont ghia

QLD, Australia

Hi
I have the same car and have the same problem. Thank god im a mechanic and found the cause because paying a mechanic to find this problem would cost a fortune
There is a fault with actual fuel tank.