Fordmods Logo

falcon au series 2 or 3 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: falcon au series 2 or 3
Posted: Tue Jun 02, 2015 10:56 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 57

Posts: 23

Joined: 8th May 2015

Ride: ford au2 ute

Location: gin gin
QLD, Australia

A few quick questions ...1 ) on the ecu bracket holding the ecu in...I see 1 empty hole top ...middle Hole had a plastic bung in it ....bottom hole has the bolt rivet holding the ecu bracket .....OK had anyone removed there ecu...did you drill out the rivet ...or grind off the head of the rivet ? Or chisel it off .....is it a real bolt and thread rivet ? Can you just thread in a new bolt ? What's the go here ...I live way out of town so don't want to get stranded at home ...lol 2 ) can you just swap your ecu on a series 2 or 3 ....or do you need to swap other parts as well....what's the go ....let me know ...thanks
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: falcon au series 2 or 3
Posted: Thu Jun 04, 2015 12:22 am 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

fordutie wrote:
A few quick questions ...1 ) on the ecu bracket holding the ecu in...I see 1 empty hole top ...middle Hole had a plastic bung in it ....bottom hole has the bolt rivet holding the ecu bracket .....OK had anyone removed there ecu...did you drill out the rivet ...or grind off the head of the rivet ? Or chisel it off .....is it a real bolt and thread rivet ? Can you just thread in a new bolt ? What's the go here ...I live way out of town so don't want to get stranded at home ...lol 2 ) can you just swap your ecu on a series 2 or 3 ....or do you need to swap other parts as well....what's the go ....let me know ...thanks



it is a m6 shear head bolt, if you can undo it with a pair of vice grips or by hitting it around the edge with a centre punch or chisel to undo it. you can replace it with a std m6 bolt.
I have only had one actually unscrew easy, the others I have either ground the head off or drilled through the head. then used the other hole by tapping a thread and using a m6 bolt..

due to smartshield,once you swap the ecu you need to either get a auto electrician with a scan tool or take it to ford to mate the ecu to the bem and keys otherwise it wont start..

or you need the bem and keys from the car you get the ecu from (matching mated set)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: falcon au series 2 or 3
Posted: Thu Jun 04, 2015 2:00 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 57

Posts: 23

Joined: 8th May 2015

Ride: ford au2 ute

Location: gin gin
QLD, Australia

Thanks troyman....I had a gut feeling from looking it was 6 to 8 bolt...just had no spares to try the upper hole..--yes I was sure only series 1 could do ecu swaps with easy but us lucky series 2 and series 3 ....had the long process...however I not sure if I need a swap out ecu ...as yet ...the prior owner said he thought the ecu was playing up and messing with the trip computer and dte ..and few other things .....I try and find a replacement bolt for the hole first then attack that rivet one ...thanks :-) cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: falcon au series 2 or 3
Posted: Fri Jun 05, 2015 1:36 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Posts: 492

Joined: 13th Jul 2013

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

drill a small hole in the center not all the way thru and use suitable easy out, or hit a torx head bit in slightly larger than hole and turn out with a socket to suit
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 9:25 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names