Fordmods Logo

Fault code 783 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 16 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Fault code 783
Posted: Tue Dec 07, 2010 2:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 699

Joined: 1st Jan 2006

Ride: Lots, all Fords

Location: Hamilton
New Zealand

I have an EF V8 in a hot rod that keeps coming up with fault code 783. Can anyone identify exactly what the cause of this is and the remedy. I know it's a serial data link error, but there are many conflicting posts on the www that say it's output data for the dash, or trip computer, or climate air or it's a 2 way link with the tcm.

Anyone with first hand experience please let me know

 

_________________

XA Faimont 351C, AU2 XR8 Manual 5.0, DA LTD 5.0, Mk1 Capri 5.0, 1995 Mustang 5.0, EF2 XR8 Manual, EF2 Fairmont Ghia 5.0, AU3 XR8 Auto, AU2 XR8 Auto, AU2 XR8 Manual Ute, TE Cortina 5.0 Manual, DU LTD 5.0 soon to be manual

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Fault code 783
Posted: Tue Dec 07, 2010 2:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 627

Joined: 5th Dec 2009

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: GREEN ED XR6

Power: 249 rwkw

Location: CENTRAL WEST QLD
QLD, Australia

Have the same fault code in my ED with the BBM and EL ECU its due to the ECU not getting info from the dash is what I was told nothing to worry about.

 

_________________

AU2 engine with Hoppers head/cam performance package & spool rods / CP pistons ,Snort 1200 plenum, T56 Manual & Billet short shifter, Front & Rear Slotted rotors, Pedders lowered suspension, LSD and tuned with EMS stinger 4424 347rwkw THE ED XR6 IS BOOSTED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Fault code 783
Posted: Tue Dec 07, 2010 2:56 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

its the Serial link to the Dash, not from the dash. Like most lines - it can detect when nothing is connected to it.

one possible solution is to terminate the line.. Find out what kind of impedance (resistance) the dash has at its serial in connector, and terminate the serial out line appropriately.

Nigel
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Fault code 783
Posted: Tue Dec 07, 2010 3:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 699

Joined: 1st Jan 2006

Ride: Lots, all Fords

Location: Hamilton
New Zealand

Thanks for the reply. I'd prefer to fix the fault code if possible.

 

_________________

XA Faimont 351C, AU2 XR8 Manual 5.0, DA LTD 5.0, Mk1 Capri 5.0, 1995 Mustang 5.0, EF2 XR8 Manual, EF2 Fairmont Ghia 5.0, AU3 XR8 Auto, AU2 XR8 Auto, AU2 XR8 Manual Ute, TE Cortina 5.0 Manual, DU LTD 5.0 soon to be manual

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Fault code 783
Posted: Tue Dec 07, 2010 3:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Your only way to actually fix the fault is to put the dash in (which will then terminal the serial line - it needs engine temp I think) or one of the other accessories that uses it (trip or Climate???)

by terminate, I mean put a resistor of appropriate resistance across the terminal so that the ECU "thinks" the serial data is connected. Its an internal data line (not the obd2 line) which was used to share engine information around the car.

Nigel
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Fault code 783
Posted: Tue Dec 07, 2010 3:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 699

Joined: 1st Jan 2006

Ride: Lots, all Fords

Location: Hamilton
New Zealand

Thanks

There is no dash / climate / ac etc.

I guess the resistor goes to earth? Starting high and work lower would seem the logical way?

cheers

 

_________________

XA Faimont 351C, AU2 XR8 Manual 5.0, DA LTD 5.0, Mk1 Capri 5.0, 1995 Mustang 5.0, EF2 XR8 Manual, EF2 Fairmont Ghia 5.0, AU3 XR8 Auto, AU2 XR8 Auto, AU2 XR8 Manual Ute, TE Cortina 5.0 Manual, DU LTD 5.0 soon to be manual

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Fault code 783
Posted: Fri Dec 10, 2010 9:10 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 699

Joined: 1st Jan 2006

Ride: Lots, all Fords

Location: Hamilton
New Zealand

OK I went from 680K down to 340R from pin 43 to earth and the fault code 783 still happens. Any other ideas? Maybe signal return instead of earth?

 

_________________

XA Faimont 351C, AU2 XR8 Manual 5.0, DA LTD 5.0, Mk1 Capri 5.0, 1995 Mustang 5.0, EF2 XR8 Manual, EF2 Fairmont Ghia 5.0, AU3 XR8 Auto, AU2 XR8 Auto, AU2 XR8 Manual Ute, TE Cortina 5.0 Manual, DU LTD 5.0 soon to be manual

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Fault code 783
Posted: Fri Dec 10, 2010 9:45 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

I would have thought much higher resistance for this. Megs prolly. The Dash wouldnt load that line up much at all.

Nigel
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Fault code 783
Posted: Fri Dec 10, 2010 11:09 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 66

Posts: 2548

Joined: 18th Mar 2006

Ride: EF-XR8chaser

Location: wollongong
NSW, Australia

code 783---serial link to dash--trip,climate,etc.,is faulty. thats whats in my log list.

 

_________________

R.I.P HANS HARTMAN

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Fault code 783
Posted: Fri Dec 10, 2010 11:13 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Correct hwever the code is open or short. Soif it's not connected you will also get anerror
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Fault code 783
Posted: Sat Dec 11, 2010 7:16 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 699

Joined: 1st Jan 2006

Ride: Lots, all Fords

Location: Hamilton
New Zealand

680K was the highest value resistor I had available. I'll try a 10M & 1M when I can get into town to the shops.

 

_________________

XA Faimont 351C, AU2 XR8 Manual 5.0, DA LTD 5.0, Mk1 Capri 5.0, 1995 Mustang 5.0, EF2 XR8 Manual, EF2 Fairmont Ghia 5.0, AU3 XR8 Auto, AU2 XR8 Auto, AU2 XR8 Manual Ute, TE Cortina 5.0 Manual, DU LTD 5.0 soon to be manual

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Fault code 783
Posted: Sat Dec 11, 2010 8:23 am 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

what you need to find out first, is the serial link a voltage, pwm or a wave signal.ect ?.
if its pwm or wave a resistor wont do anything..

the fault code will not effect the ecu operation or the car performance.
imo. i would not wory about it.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Fault code 783
Posted: Sat Dec 11, 2010 8:37 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 699

Joined: 1st Jan 2006

Ride: Lots, all Fords

Location: Hamilton
New Zealand

The official Ford workshop manual says it's a 0-12V pulse wave, requiring an oscilliscope to view.

There must be a way of tricking the ecu into thinking the equipment is still connected, without actually having the original equipment connected. I really don't like having any fault codes showing.

 

_________________

XA Faimont 351C, AU2 XR8 Manual 5.0, DA LTD 5.0, Mk1 Capri 5.0, 1995 Mustang 5.0, EF2 XR8 Manual, EF2 Fairmont Ghia 5.0, AU3 XR8 Auto, AU2 XR8 Auto, AU2 XR8 Manual Ute, TE Cortina 5.0 Manual, DU LTD 5.0 soon to be manual

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Fault code 783
Posted: Sat Dec 11, 2010 8:46 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

What about driving a transistor or a max232 or similar serial buffer? That would provide a similar load

Driving a resistor especially high impedance should work. The short detect stuff is independent or the serial data stream
Nigel
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Fault code 783
Posted: Sun Dec 12, 2010 6:02 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 699

Joined: 1st Jan 2006

Ride: Lots, all Fords

Location: Hamilton
New Zealand

A 10M to earth did not work either, I still get the code. Maybe it is a 2 way link, despite the name being "data output link". Or maybe the sensing circuit is via signal return or something else, rather than earth??

 

_________________

XA Faimont 351C, AU2 XR8 Manual 5.0, DA LTD 5.0, Mk1 Capri 5.0, 1995 Mustang 5.0, EF2 XR8 Manual, EF2 Fairmont Ghia 5.0, AU3 XR8 Auto, AU2 XR8 Auto, AU2 XR8 Manual Ute, TE Cortina 5.0 Manual, DU LTD 5.0 soon to be manual

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 4:23 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names