Fordmods Logo

faulty idle 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 12 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: faulty idle
Posted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 5:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 973

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Ride: el wagon

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Hi there thrillseekers, I need a bit of help here:

EF I6, with Tickford lpg system. The car has a faulty idle when on petrol. It is not steady. It ranges between 500 rpm amd maybe 1000 rpm, and generally "hunts". It runs fine on petrol after getting over the idle, and runs fine on gas too, idles ok on gas. A timing light on the crankshaft shows the timing moving quite a bit

I have:

replaced the ECU (thanks to a very kind Fordmodder) which fixed it for a bit, but now it is back to what it was.

Replaced the injectors (they were stuffed) with reco ones

Made sure there are no air leaks.

Replaced the fuel filter.

Checked the codes both Key On Engine Off and Engine Running, no result.

I am thinking maybe the O2 sensor, as I can disconnect it with the engine running and it makes mo difference, or, the MAP sensor, which may have been damaged by lpg backfires

Any suggestions :? :(
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: faulty idle
Posted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 6:56 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3363

Joined: 27th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: MCMXCV Falcon

Location: G town
VIC, Australia

check tps, map, isc valve, o2....

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: faulty idle
Posted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 10:05 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 973

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Ride: el wagon

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Yeah, it seems I gotta get out my multi-meter and do a bit of checking (again)

Check and cleaned the ICS, no difference.

I am also wondering could the cam angle sensor be buggered? I guess it would not be unknown for that to happen. The car has done 300K plus
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: faulty idle
Posted: Tue Jun 02, 2009 10:12 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 52

Joined: 7th Nov 2006

Ride: NF fairlane

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

hey creeture3 have you found out wats wrong with it yet?

 

_________________

Is There Life After Death Touch My Car And Find Out!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: faulty idle
Posted: Tue Jun 02, 2009 10:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 973

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Ride: el wagon

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Nah, given up, gonna take to an "expert" and see if they can figure out what's wrong, 'cos i bloody well can't :( :?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: faulty idle
Posted: Tue Jun 02, 2009 10:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3737

Joined: 22nd May 2006

Ride: BF F6 Tornado - #0077

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

vac leak somewhere, check ALL the lines. also clean the tb and the ISC.

 

_________________

** For Sale ** http://www.fordmods.com/ford-parts-for-sale-f17/assorted-e-series-parts-t124697.html

F6 Tornado 2006 Build

Is it about sex? The engine in my car? Or a cure for cancer?
No?

Then f**k off

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: faulty idle
Posted: Tue Jun 02, 2009 11:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 973

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Ride: el wagon

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

If it's a vac leak, it's really well hidden. Cleaned and checked and replaced isc with a known good one: no difference

replaced tb with known good one: ditto

I haven't got any hair left to rip out so gonna give somebody else a go.

I'll let you know
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: faulty idle
Posted: Tue Jun 02, 2009 11:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 756

Joined: 21st Nov 2005

Gallery: 25 images

Ride: 1999 AU futura

Location: griffith
NSW, Australia

Seeing how you mentioned changing the ECU and it fixed it for abit.I would say that you have a ECU fault.I would either be testing the ECU or getting a new unit.

Also seeing how you replaced almost every other thing,i would look further into the ECU.Check the ECU plug and wiring.Cause i know on gas/petrol vehicles they burnout earths in the ECU.Have sold a few ECU's through work.

 

_________________

COMING SOON,XD WITH A TURBO...CLEVO STYLE

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: faulty idle
Posted: Tue Jun 02, 2009 11:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3363

Joined: 27th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: MCMXCV Falcon

Location: G town
VIC, Australia

KRUPTD wrote:
.Cause i know on gas/petrol vehicles they burnout earths in the ECU.Have sold a few ECU's through work.


do you mean the dualfuel ecus specifically?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: faulty idle
Posted: Wed Jun 03, 2009 12:04 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 756

Joined: 21st Nov 2005

Gallery: 25 images

Ride: 1999 AU futura

Location: griffith
NSW, Australia

I'm not too sure on the tickford lpg ECU's but on the cars converted to dual fuel they end up burning out an earth in the ECU and will cause dramas.

I'm pretty sure the tickford ECU's are designed much better than a standard one.

Other steps you can try is to pull the cover off your ECU and check for small burn marks or the smell inside the cover can determin if you have something that has shorted out.

Could be a dry solder joint.

 

_________________

COMING SOON,XD WITH A TURBO...CLEVO STYLE

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: faulty idle
Posted: Wed Jun 03, 2009 1:11 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3737

Joined: 22nd May 2006

Ride: BF F6 Tornado - #0077

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

there was a thread ages back about capacitiors in ECU's dieing and causing real s**t idle.

the other option is just blank off the ISC and set it manually

 

_________________

** For Sale ** http://www.fordmods.com/ford-parts-for-sale-f17/assorted-e-series-parts-t124697.html

F6 Tornado 2006 Build

Is it about sex? The engine in my car? Or a cure for cancer?
No?

Then f**k off

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: faulty idle
Posted: Wed Jun 03, 2009 7:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3363

Joined: 27th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: MCMXCV Falcon

Location: G town
VIC, Australia

fiftyone wrote:
there was a thread ages back about capacitiors in ECU's dieing and causing real s**t idle.

the other option is just blank off the ISC and set it manually


yeah ive been trying to find that for ages

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 12 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum
cron

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 9:40 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names