Fordmods Logo

Few EEC4 issues after a conversion.............. 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Few EEC4 issues after a conversion..............
Posted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 1:59 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 41

Posts: 4629

Joined: 23rd Nov 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: 5.0 AU's and 5.0 Maverick

Power: 139 rwkw

Location: Sydney West
NSW, Australia

Hi all
I have fitted a 5.0 from a NCII Fairlane into my Ford Maverick 4x4. Hooked it all up and got it to run but Im having a couple of issues I need to address. Hoping someone here can shed some light on it.

I need to fit a diagnostics plug as I didnt pull it out of the wreck. Where abouts does it connect to the ecu harness? I have the complete ecu harness in the 4b and have 2 plugs left over. One has had numerous wires cut out of it during the conversion process and the other one is untouched.
Any ideas on me fitting the diagnostics to it?

When I put the air con on it will stall when pulling up to the lights ect. The aircon is not connected to the ecu in anyway as I did not know how to do it. Can someone tell me how to do it so the IAC will work properly? I suppose I could just adjust the base idle to keep it all running but I need the diagnostic plug fitted to do that and to set the timing.

I ahve a few other little probs but will get to them after I have cleared this up.

Any help is appreciated.
Matt

 

_________________

xr6turnip wrote:
More people paid for a ride in a VT commodore then an AU Falcon so the VT is superior.
Based on that fact my Mum is the best around!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 12:09 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 433

Joined: 16th Nov 2004

Gallery: 29 images

Ride: ef

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

mate it sounds like you need to get hold of a eb or nc manual for the wiring diagram. i have a 6 schematic which is probably no good to you, but it shows where the wires attach to the loom etc. looks pretty straight forward.

 

_________________

there are three types of people in this world:
those that can count and those that can't

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 03, 2008 2:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 41

Posts: 4629

Joined: 23rd Nov 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: 5.0 AU's and 5.0 Maverick

Power: 139 rwkw

Location: Sydney West
NSW, Australia

fordriver1 wrote:
mate it sounds like you need to get hold of a eb or nc manual for the wiring diagram. i have a 6 schematic which is probably no good to you, but it shows where the wires attach to the loom etc. looks pretty straight forward.


Mate if you can send it to me to have a look at I will be very happy. It might be somewhere to start. I bought a Max Ellorys on the basis that it was going to tell all. It is about as useful as tits on a bull!

 

_________________

xr6turnip wrote:
More people paid for a ride in a VT commodore then an AU Falcon so the VT is superior.
Based on that fact my Mum is the best around!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 05, 2008 4:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 51

Posts: 918

Joined: 6th Aug 2007

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: BA XR8

Location: Kellyville
NSW, Australia

Hey,

I was thinking of doing this conversion, but went for the I6 instead. As for your A/C prob, you should put the switch input to the ecu which is pin 41, and pin 10 for NF-NL Failane, cant see why it would be different. I got this info from my Ellerys manual. Failing this you could get a voltage switch from jaycar to bump up the idle when you turn on the A/C.

Hope i helped.

Cheers

8-) Daz 8-)

 

_________________

BA XR8 Boss 260
DAZFAB......Now Mobile
Mink = GAY
DAZFAB MEMBERS ,,,,DA22LE, XTT909, TERRORISTGHIA, TROYMAN, SWC, FAT245

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 2:38 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 61

Joined: 27th Jul 2007

Ride: XG

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

cant tell you the pin numbers or wire colours as i dont have the diagrams any more, but when i did my engine swap (currently havnt connected the ac)the v8 requires input signal for air on to bump up the idle (which is what you are trying to do ,sorry i cant help there)but also has an wire out put from the ecu that will control a relay for the ac clutch to disengage ac when on wide open throttle.

so from all that useless info dont get the two mixed up when you work out which one it is

it would work fine with out the wot clutch cut out.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 11:53 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 18

Posts: 101

Joined: 17th Apr 2007

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

EVL098

Have you found the info you want yet ?

I have a spare complete EEC IV and a EEC V harness and can locate them and supply the wire colours and their locations etc if needed.

In a nutshell the diagnostics plug wire harness is just back from the 3 main relays that come with the main harness.

JD
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Few EEC4 issues after a conversion..............
Posted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 9:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 41

Posts: 4629

Joined: 23rd Nov 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: 5.0 AU's and 5.0 Maverick

Power: 139 rwkw

Location: Sydney West
NSW, Australia

Im going to drag this one back out kicking and screaming!
Still havent sorted out the diagnostics plug. Still need to find the info.
If anyone can help me out with where to hook it up to the ECU it would be great.
I am looking ta just getting a BPT harness with it all done and nice and new but it is $900 I could easily spend elsewhere on the truck if avoidable.

 

_________________

xr6turnip wrote:
More people paid for a ride in a VT commodore then an AU Falcon so the VT is superior.
Based on that fact my Mum is the best around!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Few EEC4 issues after a conversion..............
Posted: Tue Feb 01, 2011 11:27 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1140

Joined: 27th Feb 2005

Ride: Supercharged EF Fairmont

Location: T.I. Performance HQ
VIC, Australia

Find an ECU pinout for the model you got the car from. There is only 1 wire for the diag output.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re:
Posted: Thu Feb 03, 2011 7:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2450

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: NL V8 Fairlane

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

DA22LE wrote:
As for your A/C prob, you should put the switch input to the ecu which is pin 41, and pin 10 for NF-NL Failane, cant see why it would be different.


The ECU has a scalar(switch) or something itself to bump up the idle so much when the aircon is on. It should just be a matter of ensuring you have the aircon switch attached to that pin on the ecu which is what already Daz said.

 

_________________

There are 10 types of people in this world.
Those who know binary and those who don't.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 6:00 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names