Fordmods Logo

general ecu help? 

 

Page 2 of 2 [ 22 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2

 
 Post subject: Re: general ecu help?
Posted: Wed Oct 26, 2011 7:12 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 24

Posts: 189

Joined: 12th Mar 2011

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUI XL Falcon

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

mmmm that may be the problem! i remember Ash telling me about the different security for when i swap the engine over. hmmm is there anything i can do about it or is it not worth it?

 

_________________

MA77US' AU Ute Build.
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: general ecu help?
Posted: Wed Oct 26, 2011 7:19 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

if they are different, dont bother not worth the hastle..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: general ecu help?
Posted: Wed Oct 26, 2011 7:20 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 24

Posts: 189

Joined: 12th Mar 2011

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUI XL Falcon

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

yea screw it. i will need that ecu for xr6 engine though?

 

_________________

MA77US' AU Ute Build.
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: general ecu help?
Posted: Wed Oct 26, 2011 7:29 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

not really, unless the xr6 engine is a vct engine??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: general ecu help?
Posted: Wed Oct 26, 2011 7:36 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 24

Posts: 189

Joined: 12th Mar 2011

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUI XL Falcon

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

nah just the standard xr6. ill keep it just incase though

 

_________________

MA77US' AU Ute Build.
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: general ecu help?
Posted: Wed Oct 26, 2011 7:50 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 262

Joined: 15th Aug 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: Au fairmont seires I

Location: Sunshine coast
QLD, Australia

im also iteretsed in finding out, my car is sometimes playing up gears wise and i think it could be the ecu. i have an au series 1 fairmont, so if i buy an au series 1 fairmont ecu will it go right in and work or will it play up due to smart lock or whatever it is.

 

_________________

People hate the au series but i wouldnt have it any other way!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: general ecu help?
Posted: Fri Oct 28, 2011 9:06 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1140

Joined: 27th Feb 2005

Ride: Supercharged EF Fairmont

Location: T.I. Performance HQ
VIC, Australia

Guys, you can't just swap Smartshield ECUs. The ECU has to be paired with the vehicle via a WDS. Trying to start it 3 times without a matching key will immobilise the vehicle requiring a WDS to get it to start.

With a J3 (or Flash Tune) you can get around all of this by putting the XR6 equivilant tune on the chip.

Cheers,
Jason
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 12:08 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names