Fordmods Logo

ghia ecu in futura 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 15 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: ghia ecu in futura
Posted: Sat Jun 01, 2013 6:12 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 23

Posts: 201

Joined: 24th Aug 2012

Ride: 1987 telstar/2004 BA XR6 5spd

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

hey guys, iv done some serching on google and here but havnt been able to find the answer im looking for...

would there be any issues in putting a 96 ef2 fairmont ghia auto ecu into a 95 ef futura manual?
from what i have been able to gather i dont NEED the resister mod for the car to run ok...im just a little worried about the extras the ghia has over my car..climate control, speed sensitive power steering ect...would that cause any odd issues?

i wana do this for 2 reasons..1 i wana try a ECU i know is in good working order to try and work out a power loss issue and 2 i wana see if the xr spark and fuel maps give the car any extra up and go :)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ghia ecu in futura
Posted: Sat Jun 01, 2013 6:44 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

if your running a auto ecu in a manual car you do need the resistor trick otherwise your thermo fans will run on full speed because the auto ecu wont be getting a trans temp signal...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ghia ecu in futura
Posted: Sat Jun 01, 2013 6:52 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 23

Posts: 201

Joined: 24th Aug 2012

Ride: 1987 telstar/2004 BA XR6 5spd

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

i know that will happen but it dosnt really bother me...it's not a permanent thing just want to see if there is a difference in power..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ghia ecu in futura
Posted: Sat Jun 01, 2013 6:56 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 1110

Joined: 27th Dec 2011

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: ef falcon futura

Power: 154 rwkw

Location: Koo Wee Rup
VIC, Australia

i dont think you'll see any difference. and if there is a difference, i dont think it'll be enough to feel it.

 

_________________

ef futura, pacemakers, 2.5inch catback, k&n panel filter and 3.45 lsd. extractors/cat, ticky head, custom cam grind, t5. now onto cosmetics.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ghia ecu in futura
Posted: Sat Jun 01, 2013 7:08 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

if its from a ef2 ghia that had a tickford engine it will be just like fitting a xr6 ecu...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ghia ecu in futura
Posted: Mon Jun 03, 2013 6:06 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 23

Posts: 201

Joined: 24th Aug 2012

Ride: 1987 telstar/2004 BA XR6 5spd

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

i put the ghia ecu in with the resister mod and it revs out a look easier and smoother and feels more responsive..how ever it seems to be hunting a little...
never did with the factory manual ef futura ecu :S
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ghia ecu in futura
Posted: Mon Jun 03, 2013 6:08 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

just give the ecu a few days to learn its closed loop/idle
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ghia ecu in futura
Posted: Mon Jun 03, 2013 6:13 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 23

Posts: 201

Joined: 24th Aug 2012

Ride: 1987 telstar/2004 BA XR6 5spd

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

awsume :) i shall update..im trying to find a 3 bar xr fuel reg to go with it too :)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ghia ecu in futura
Posted: Mon Jun 03, 2013 6:18 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

I have one, was only used for a short time.. $50 plus post if your interested??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ghia ecu in futura
Posted: Mon Jun 03, 2013 6:24 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 23

Posts: 201

Joined: 24th Aug 2012

Ride: 1987 telstar/2004 BA XR6 5spd

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

maybe...my mate is gonna see if he can find the reg that was on his ghia...if not ill take yours...where abouts in syd are you if you dont mind me asking? i go to epping every now and then to see my dad and i could pick it up while im down there if it's not to far away
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ghia ecu in futura
Posted: Mon Jun 03, 2013 6:53 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

no problem...
I sent you a pm..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ghia ecu in futura
Posted: Wed Jun 05, 2013 5:58 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 23

Posts: 201

Joined: 24th Aug 2012

Ride: 1987 telstar/2004 BA XR6 5spd

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

just an update, even with the base idle screw all the way out so there is a gap between it and the throttle it was still ideling over 1000rpm...took the auto ecu out and put the old factory 5spd one in and no more hunting more ideling issues :)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ghia ecu in futura
Posted: Wed Jun 05, 2013 6:04 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2750

Joined: 22nd Jan 2009

Ride: '91 EB Wagoon

Location: Geeelong
VIC, Australia

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ghia ecu in futura
Posted: Wed Jun 05, 2013 6:07 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 23

Posts: 201

Joined: 24th Aug 2012

Ride: 1987 telstar/2004 BA XR6 5spd

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

i dont know...i did the resister mod to it...it turned the thermos off and slightly lowerd the rpm...but was still over 1000rpm...when it was warm it would idle between aprox 850rpm and 1300rpm..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ghia ecu in futura
Posted: Wed Jun 05, 2013 6:09 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

even with the resistor trick at the end of the day its still an auto ecu, so some of the dashpot settings for idle control are still different..
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 15 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 4:10 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names