Fordmods Logo

glenneaux's megasquirt thread - (Now actually in the car!) 

 

Page 4 of 8 [ 117 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next

 
Posted: Mon Oct 10, 2005 1:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1279

Joined: 5th Apr 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Toyota Supra RZ

Location: Burwood Nights
VIC, Australia

Seeing as i have a megasquirt II on the way,

whats the go with the stock ford injectors. Are they low or high impedance? :P
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 10, 2005 1:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 8655

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 37 images

Ride: V8 EF Futura

Location: Adelaide CBD
SA, Australia

glenneaux wrote:
Seeing as i have a megasquirt II on the way,

whats the go with the stock ford injectors. Are they low or high impedance? :P


High

 

_________________

I promise..... I will never die.

Fordmods Administration Group MINOR PUNKED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 10, 2005 2:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1279

Joined: 5th Apr 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Toyota Supra RZ

Location: Burwood Nights
VIC, Australia

4.9 EF Futura wrote:
glenneaux wrote:
Seeing as i have a megasquirt II on the way,

whats the go with the stock ford injectors. Are they low or high impedance? :P


High


Thanks! :-)

I'm getting so pumped but have to wait so long (a week or so) to play with the MS :(
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 10, 2005 8:11 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 347

Joined: 28th Nov 2004

Ride: XF Wagon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

G'day

Who did you order you ms from? I ordered mine from diyautotune.com 2 weeks ago 2day. I sent my money order on the day and received various emails from them confirming my order. I sent them an email last tuesday to see if they got my money order and have had no reply from them yet. I'm starting to get a little worried.

Cheers

 

_________________

If its too loud your too old!!!!!!!!!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 3:38 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

diyautotune is a very reputable place. You'll get your order. Mine took 3 weeks or a bit more (not from them but). Wierd how they aren't replying, normally the guy there is good with customer service. Just give it a couple more weeks, and then try and find out what's going on.


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 10:09 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1279

Joined: 5th Apr 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Toyota Supra RZ

Location: Burwood Nights
VIC, Australia

I ordered mine from glensgarage and it shipped last thursday (US time) and i was advised 7-10days. so hopefully before the end of the week i'll have a MSII/V3 PCB kit.

---

Also

last night i got everything to make the stim. Bar DB37 connector but i'll work around that for the time being. Got everything except for the 1M ohm pot had to get 2M ohm pot :\

So tonight i'll be putting that together!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 10:04 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 7

Joined: 12th Oct 2005

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

4.9 EF Futura wrote:
Both versions of megasquirt (MEgasquirt n spark extra/Megasquirt II) have support for 12x12 spark advance tables.

I used to chat regularly with a guy from the corral.net (mustang forum in the US) who did a lot of testing for the developers of MS. Last i heard, MSnS-e was the most reliable version... had most (all?) the features of MS 2 but apparantley some relibability probs with MS 2.


I'm also on the MS list, and most of these issues come down to construction - many people can't solder properly!

Since the MSII is constructed by the end user, any reliablity issues are the result of poor construction, or poor quality componnets (since the end user buys them too). If its a pre- made kit, then the problem is with the kit assembler, rather than with the design.

Dave
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 10:42 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

The assembly is definately a key role in the durability and lifeltime of a megasquirt. But there is also the code, and the different and various conditions its put under, which would take an infinite time to test. The code is done within an application, and reliability also comes to when people reuse that code.

So, the building is not always the problem.(although most of the time it is)

Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 13, 2005 10:19 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1279

Joined: 5th Apr 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Toyota Supra RZ

Location: Burwood Nights
VIC, Australia

omfg

last night i put together my megastim (got parts from local jaycar distributor) on a piece of veroboard. So far so good.

I rock up at work and sitting on my desk is my megasquirt II kit from glens garage. f**k yeah !! :)

So today im gonna be itching to get out early hehe!

---

also a note: The package is very professional and well packaged. Very schmick, can't reccomend glensgarage any higher!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 13, 2005 12:07 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

awesome...can't wait to see the result.


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 14, 2005 10:08 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1279

Joined: 5th Apr 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Toyota Supra RZ

Location: Burwood Nights
VIC, Australia

Last night i began putting together my megasquirt II V3 PCB.

Soldered in the DB9 and DB37 plugs and completed the first section that is, the power supply.

Then i tried to test it and weird results. I assumed my stimulator so i wired my 9V battery directly to +12 and GND on the DB37 connector. Checked out the test points again (namely on the IC socket, checking for 5V) and it was correct where it should be.

Now that i think about it, my megastim wasn't connected to ground but i'll check that out tonight and keep going with the megasquirt!

Work so far.
Image
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 14, 2005 11:13 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1518

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 14 images

Ride: BA XR6 Turbo

Power: 175 rwkw

Location: The Shire, Sydney
NSW, Australia

The V3 looks alot different to the 2.2's I've been making...
What's that large square area full of holes ?

 

_________________

ImageImage

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 14, 2005 11:18 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1279

Joined: 5th Apr 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Toyota Supra RZ

Location: Burwood Nights
VIC, Australia

thats a prototyping area where you can jimmy up extra circuits to handle extra things.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 14, 2005 11:53 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1279

Joined: 5th Apr 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Toyota Supra RZ

Location: Burwood Nights
VIC, Australia

I guess i'm kind of directing this at NFGhia (i think thats him ;))

But soon im gonna be calibrating my MSII to use the ford temp sensors...

The MegaSquirt-II code is set up for the standard General Motors temperature sensors. If you are using other sensors, you can use the 'Calibrate Thermistor Tables' dialog under 'Tools'. You enter the bias resistor value and three temperature/resistance points, and the table is created and downloaded to MegaSquirt-II for you.

Bias resistor value is the value of the resistor on the board yeah?

Three temp/resistance points.. bit of help here?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 14, 2005 11:54 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

before you go on, just check on U5 (the voltage regulator) what voltage you have using the centre pin as ground. Check the left leg, and the right leg. The left leg should have the 9V battery voltage, and left should have ~4.99. No from the non banded side of D13 (I think, the nigelated one at the top, you shouldn't have installed anything around it yet), check from the non banded side as ground, all those pins on the MCU (pins 1,20, and 31 I think), and see what you get. Make sure that you are not geting 8.8 volts... (thats what happened to me).

Seems to be going along well, congrats. Let us know if you need any help.


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 4 of 8  [ 117 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 7:09 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names