Fordmods Logo

Has this PCM ben prepped properly for a J3 chip? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Has this PCM ben prepped properly for a J3 chip?
Posted: Tue Feb 08, 2011 8:47 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 55

Posts: 373

Joined: 9th Feb 2006

Ride: AU Wagon

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

The subject says it all, really. Check out the pix, this is an AU1 PCM which apparently needs the solder pads near the J3 connector joined horizontally with wires to allow a J3 to function properly. The car this PCM came from had a cam & chip combo years ago - the car used to go totally autistic & refuse to start every few weeks, requiring a tow to a workshop and reflash of the ECU with a $$$cantool. I don't believe the pads have been joined or have the little black resistors on the reverse side, but then I'm no expert on this. Can someone who knows their s**t check these out & tell me if my suspicions are right?

Image

Image

Image

 

_________________

AU1.5 Wagon, Raptor ProStreet kit, Pacemaker 4499's with 3" collector, 3" metal cat, 3" pipe, Pex BSO660 & BSO439, BA brakes, Sprintgas mixer LPG system, Airod variable-venturi mixer... stealth FTW Sniper tuned!

To be updated... soon!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Has this PCM ben prepped properly for a J3 chip?
Posted: Tue Feb 08, 2011 10:11 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Need better (bigger) pics.

But you shouldn't need to make any electrical modifications to the ECU.

Just ensure all the water proofing goo is removed from the J3 connector. So you get a good connection to the chip. Some people recommended a light sanding, I just spent a lot of time cleaning the connector with a plastic edge (the black plastic cover, to be exact).

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Has this PCM ben prepped properly for a J3 chip?
Posted: Tue Feb 08, 2011 10:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2091

Joined: 3rd Apr 2008

Ride: EF Fairmont, XG Ute

data_mine wrote:
Need better (bigger) pics.

But you shouldn't need to make any electrical modifications to the ECU.

Just ensure all the water proofing goo is removed from the J3 connector. So you get a good connection to the chip. Some people recommended a light sanding, I just spent a lot of time cleaning the connector with a plastic edge (the black plastic cover, to be exact).


The instructions for the TI Performance J3 specify that what the OP is talking about, is completely necessary.

E-Series units need no modification. He is working with an AU item though.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Has this PCM ben prepped properly for a J3 chip?
Posted: Tue Feb 08, 2011 10:46 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

SLO247 wrote:
data_mine wrote:
Need better (bigger) pics.

But you shouldn't need to make any electrical modifications to the ECU.

Just ensure all the water proofing goo is removed from the J3 connector. So you get a good connection to the chip. Some people recommended a light sanding, I just spent a lot of time cleaning the connector with a plastic edge (the black plastic cover, to be exact).


The instructions for the TI Performance J3 specify that what the OP is talking about, is completely necessary.

E-Series units need no modification. He is working with an AU item though.


Fair enough, I never played with AU ECU's.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Has this PCM ben prepped properly for a J3 chip?
Posted: Tue Feb 08, 2011 11:17 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 55

Posts: 373

Joined: 9th Feb 2006

Ride: AU Wagon

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

data_mine wrote:
Need better (bigger) pics.

Sorry, that's the best I can get with my mo-pho. They are IMHO at least as good as the pix on the TI Performance website but.

I can try with a better camera if it's too hard to tell. There's a Fuji S1600 lying around here somewhere, but despite 15x optical zoom it doesn't really do macro mode. Close-ups just blur so I'm not confident of getting better.

The connections are to the left of the J3 connector in the first photo, and to the right in the 2nd and 3rd.

Apparently soldering is only required on Series 1 AU's, not on earlier or later cars. I suspect the workshop that did the job were also unaware of this. They've long since gone bankrupt...

 

_________________

AU1.5 Wagon, Raptor ProStreet kit, Pacemaker 4499's with 3" collector, 3" metal cat, 3" pipe, Pex BSO660 & BSO439, BA brakes, Sprintgas mixer LPG system, Airod variable-venturi mixer... stealth FTW Sniper tuned!

To be updated... soon!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Has this PCM ben prepped properly for a J3 chip?
Posted: Wed Feb 09, 2011 2:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1140

Joined: 27th Feb 2005

Ride: Supercharged EF Fairmont

Location: T.I. Performance HQ
VIC, Australia

I thought my pics were OK if you zoomed in, but the PDF has compressed them... will try to update... anyway, this pic:
Image
Seems to indicate you have the black resistors, so you don't need to solder.

Your J3 port, however, appears a bit gungy. Might want to give it a going over as per the guide or data_mine's instructions.

ps: To take better macro pics, use macro mode, zoom about 1/2 way (no digital zoom), and ensure you are a good 30-40cm away from the surface of the ECU. Take the pic in the highest res possible then crop it up.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Has this PCM ben prepped properly for a J3 chip?
Posted: Mon Mar 07, 2011 7:08 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 55

Posts: 373

Joined: 9th Feb 2006

Ride: AU Wagon

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

galapogos01 wrote:
this pic: <snip> Seems to indicate you have the black resistors, so you don't need to solder.

Your J3 port, however, appears a bit gungy. Might want to give it a going over as per the guide or data_mine's instructions.


I can't even see the black resistors looking at the board in bright daylight. They must be bloody small.

So the J3 port is dirty, that's no surprise considering the workshop that did the job has since gone bankrupt. But again, I can't really tell. What looks to be wrong with it?

 

_________________

AU1.5 Wagon, Raptor ProStreet kit, Pacemaker 4499's with 3" collector, 3" metal cat, 3" pipe, Pex BSO660 & BSO439, BA brakes, Sprintgas mixer LPG system, Airod variable-venturi mixer... stealth FTW Sniper tuned!

To be updated... soon!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Has this PCM ben prepped properly for a J3 chip?
Posted: Mon Mar 07, 2011 7:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1140

Joined: 27th Feb 2005

Ride: Supercharged EF Fairmont

Location: T.I. Performance HQ
VIC, Australia

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Has this PCM ben prepped properly for a J3 chip?
Posted: Sun Mar 20, 2011 10:22 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 262

Joined: 15th Aug 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: Au fairmont seires I

Location: Sunshine coast
QLD, Australia

hey mate i have a au fairmont series 1 and i had a chip that i had to solder for. only in au series 1's though. i think i have a pic some where but i may have deleted it. but check out that link to tiperperformance cos it shows u which ones to do.

 

_________________

People hate the au series but i wouldnt have it any other way!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 4:00 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names