Fordmods Logo

j3 chip rev hang 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: j3 chip rev hang
Posted: Sun Feb 01, 2015 10:06 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 23

Posts: 151

Joined: 13th Jun 2012

Ride: Fairmont AU I

Location: Melton, vic
VIC, Australia

Hey guys so I've put a j3 in for my manual conversion in my AU1 and its revving high and hanging.. I have adjusted the idle screw all the way out and the car still barely idles with the ISC unplugged, plug it in and it revs high. Car runs perfect with it unplugged and idle screw doing the work.
Unplugged the j3 chip and the car runs perfectly with the ISC plugged in and no rev hang. I'm leaning towards a tune problem?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: j3 chip rev hang
Posted: Mon Feb 02, 2015 7:41 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

What is the J3?

Sounds like the idle speed within the tune is set high.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: j3 chip rev hang
Posted: Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:14 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 23

Posts: 151

Joined: 13th Jun 2012

Ride: Fairmont AU I

Location: Melton, vic
VIC, Australia

Its a stage 2 chip from TI performance.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: j3 chip rev hang
Posted: Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:22 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

Have you contacted him to see if he can help?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: j3 chip rev hang
Posted: Mon Feb 02, 2015 9:30 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 23

Posts: 151

Joined: 13th Jun 2012

Ride: Fairmont AU I

Location: Melton, vic
VIC, Australia

Yes I have but he believes its an ISC or idle screw problem or a vacuum leak.. Where it is not
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: j3 chip rev hang
Posted: Mon Feb 02, 2015 10:35 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 3705

Joined: 27th Sep 2006

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: ED Falcon

Power: 133 rwkw

Location: Leeton
NSW, Australia

I had the same problem with mine... I ended up spending the couple of hundred on the programmer and changing the idle speed and dash pot (which the decay back to idle rate) as far down to a normal point and dashpot quick as I could get it to drop and still wasn't happy with how quick it dropped the revs back to idle...

This was one of the contributing factors as to why I pulled it out, fitted an AU motor and factory PCM and never bothered tuning again... Had bad experiences with my J3... If I couldn't load a tune in like a BA onward I couldn't be bothered, or I'd go for a full aftermarket PCM first... Most people seem to get on fine with their J3's... I work with electronics so I'd like to think I handled it right and installed it correctly... But from day one it was a headache...

See how you get on with your dashpot...

Cheers,
Tim

 

_________________

93 Red ED 5spd Manual Build Thread

Performance: Complete AUII VCT Wiring & Power Train, Pacey Headers, 2.5" Exhaust, Exedy Clutch, DBA Rotors
Visuals: FG XR Wheel, XR Front, 17's, BA 5 Spd Shifter, BA Ghia Window Switches, NL Cluster
Tunes: 8" Pioneer Sub, JBL Speakers, Clarion Double DIN Headunit

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: j3 chip rev hang
Posted: Mon Feb 02, 2015 11:37 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

Atlas600 wrote:
Yes I have but he believes its an ISC or idle screw problem or a vacuum leak.. Where it is not


Do you have the programing gear?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: j3 chip rev hang
Posted: Mon Feb 02, 2015 1:28 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 23

Posts: 151

Joined: 13th Jun 2012

Ride: Fairmont AU I

Location: Melton, vic
VIC, Australia

No I don't.. Not particularly interested in spending all that money.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: j3 chip rev hang
Posted: Mon Feb 02, 2015 2:07 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

Atlas600 wrote:
Yes I have but he believes its an ISC or idle screw problem or a vacuum leak.. Where it is not


Go back to him and explain the issues again. If it idles fine without the chip but idles high with the chip then it sounds like a program issue.

If it was ISC or idle screw, then it would be there without the chip as well.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: j3 chip rev hang
Posted: Mon Feb 02, 2015 5:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1140

Joined: 27th Feb 2005

Ride: Supercharged EF Fairmont

Location: T.I. Performance HQ
VIC, Australia

Idle speed in the tune is set to 600rpm.

There is something else at play here - Brodie was talking about idle issues prior to requesting a J3 (which I explained the chip may not be able to resolve). Unfortunately I can't diagnose this car via the internet, and have already offered a full refund.

Not every problem can be solved with a mail order tune :)

Cheers,
Jason
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 11:59 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names