Fordmods Logo

J3 Chips 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: J3 Chips
Posted: Wed May 29, 2013 11:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 552

Joined: 3rd Oct 2006

Ride: EL XR-6

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

can J3 chips get corrupt by any chance?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: J3 Chips
Posted: Thu May 30, 2013 7:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 844

Joined: 12th Aug 2007

Gallery: 22 images

Ride: AU2 XR8 ute & 91 EA bitsa

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

IMO, I'd say no unless something shorts/malfunctions in the ECU or around the pins for the chip.

I had an incident where a J3 started overfueling on the way home from a tuner. No idea why it started acting up. Unplugged it, put it in again and no problems since.

 

_________________

AU2 XR8 with Raptor VL, ported Yella Terra GT40P heads, Scorpion 1.6 RRs, XE264HR-14 Comp Cam, ceramic coated Hurricane Headers, 60lb injectors, Walbro 255, 200cfi cats, 3" exhaust & Snow Performance water methanol injection

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: J3 Chips
Posted: Thu May 30, 2013 7:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 25

Posts: 4599

Joined: 30th Aug 2010

Ride: BF XR6,

Location: NEWCASTLE
NSW, Australia

The j3 port can get dirty. Try cleaning it

 

_________________

BF XR6
xr8 snorkel,typhoon lower snorkel,territory intake pipe,20% underdrive kit,pacemaker extractors,high flow cat,xforce exhaust,t56 conversion hd turbo clutch/ flywheel,m86 3.45 lsd,custom tune187.1rwkw as an auto

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: J3 Chips
Posted: Thu May 30, 2013 11:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 552

Joined: 3rd Oct 2006

Ride: EL XR-6

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

yeah as u mention in ur post shortshift the j3 chip was overfueling. well my was doing the same thing it throw heaps of fuel in the EL xr6 and I only recently got 200kms to a tank on a average of 18L to 100kms so I took it out to see the car goes and the fuel average start coming back down to normal I hope but now the idle is s**t bloody thing nearly stalls on me pain in the a*** lol
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: J3 Chips
Posted: Fri May 31, 2013 3:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1140

Joined: 27th Feb 2005

Ride: Supercharged EF Fairmont

Location: T.I. Performance HQ
VIC, Australia

Follow the installation instructions to the letter, and make sure the J3 port is 100% clean. If it's not, you may face issues.

If the chip has been inserted or removed when the engine is running, it may damage the chip. If the instructions were followed this should not be possible.

If you follow the directions they are pretty much bullet proof!

Cheers,
Jason
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 5 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 11:58 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names