Fordmods Logo

Fordmods Advertising

J3'ed EF6 throwing 511 codes?.. Normal? 


Page 1 of 1 [ 2 posts ] 

 Post subject: J3'ed EF6 throwing 511 codes?.. Normal?
Posted: Tue Aug 06, 2013 12:52 pm 
Parts Gopher
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 82

Joined: 24th Jun 2009

Ride: EF XR6

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

Hey all.. just checking with the collective on 511 faults (KOEO) that keep getting thrown.
Don't remember seeing this one until recently, when I swapped to 4DBG/N4AGB_v14a+ (prolly the most solid def we have thanks to Jase and other's hard yakka). It's an EFIIXR6 auto with no major mods, however I'm running a homebrew bank switcher on the J3.

511 normal for J3? Can it be fixed in the bin? Cause any issues?

As to the 511, the intarnets search button did give a few Aussie hits the net only gives a shows it's common on chipped stangs in the US.. some say it's normal for all J3 prom overrides, others say it's new/recently appeared on their chipped ECU's.. and some say their car has been playing up since it appeared.

Someone also said it was a bad J3 connection.. will try another chip..

Another few threads might shed more light on what a 511 means, how it gets there/how to avoid it - seems to be related to the bin's checksum? And the calibration/KAM/EEPROM data? ..whether there's a mismatch between bin eeprom layout, or perhaps the bin's checksum range mistakenly includes EE mem locations?
Anyway that's just what I made out of the bits I've read so far. It's all a bit too deep for a dabbler like me, without ploughing more man-weeks into yet another side-project :)

Reset the EEC last night and reloaded my base calibration.. Got this from MG @ Tweecer. Pretty much exactly what you said, except he updated the strategy. Thought it would be good info for you too..

"511 is due to the change in the calibration. set the checksum base
address to zero to clear that one. The others are the cause for the
shifting, PIP is used throughout the strategy for different things
including trans functions. TFI, distributor, etc....

You can check the TP signal with the key on, engine off and RT logging.
Sweep the throttle slowly to the floor and back watching/logging the tps
voltage and see if you get drop outs/spikes in the voltage."

Also, MG updated the VEX1 and AHCA strategies to fix the problem..

"I located the checksum base address for VEX1 and AHACA, they have both
been uploaded to the Software Updates folder in the files section. Save
them to our data folder at C:\Program Files\STKR 1.30\Data\"
 Post subject: Re: J3'ed EF6 throwing 511 codes?.. Normal?
Posted: Wed Aug 07, 2013 4:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
User avatar

Posts: 1134

Joined: 27th Feb 2005

Ride: Supercharged EF Fairmont

Location: T.I. Performance HQ
VIC, Australia

Short answer is, yes it's a checksum mismatch, and no it will not affect any other operation.




T.I. Performance - Performance Tuning for your Ford. J3 Chips, DIY Tuning Kits, Wideband O2 Controllers and much more!

Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 2 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum



It is currently Tue Oct 25, 2016 5:51 am All times are UTC + 11 hours



(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names