Fordmods Logo

manual conversion 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 16 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: manual conversion
Posted: Sat Feb 08, 2014 4:51 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 13

Joined: 22nd Apr 2013

Ride: 96 ef xr6

Location: canberra
ACT, Australia

hey guy im looking for a bit of info. just fitted up a tremec t5 to my xf 302 just waiting on starter. it has an ecu out of an eb falcon im wondering if i will need to chip the ecu or if there is another way of running the t5 any info will help cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: manual conversion
Posted: Sat Feb 08, 2014 4:56 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

ford boi wrote:
hey guy im looking for a bit of info. just fitted up a tremec t5 to my xf 302 just waiting on starter. it has an ecu out of an eb falcon im wondering if i will need to chip the ecu or if there is another way of running the t5 any info will help cheers


If you are using the EB V8 ECU then all is good as the E series V8's had a seperate computor for the Auto.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: manual conversion
Posted: Sat Feb 08, 2014 5:03 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 13

Joined: 22nd Apr 2013

Ride: 96 ef xr6

Location: canberra
ACT, Australia

yeah nice one would i have to remove this computer ?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: manual conversion
Posted: Sat Feb 08, 2014 5:05 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

Was the car equipped with V8 & Auto and your now converting it or is this a new install V8 and all?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: manual conversion
Posted: Sat Feb 08, 2014 5:13 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 13

Joined: 22nd Apr 2013

Ride: 96 ef xr6

Location: canberra
ACT, Australia

it was converted before i got my hands on it had an auto box c4 i think it was engineered in 92
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: manual conversion
Posted: Sat Feb 08, 2014 5:14 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

C4 does not use a Computor so you should be fine.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: manual conversion
Posted: Sat Feb 08, 2014 5:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 1044

Joined: 4th Aug 2010

Ride: NA Fairlane, DC LTD

Location: Alice Springs
NT, Australia

Is the separate auto ECU a Pre-Smartlock thing do you know SWC?

When I converted my fairlane I just had to make sure I had the right trans loom and the ECU would still run it all fine, my understanding was it was because it was pre smartlock and the ECUs didnt have the auto trans maps or whatever extra they had when smartlock/BCMs and the electric 4 speeds came along..

or are V8s different again?

 

_________________

[color=#004080]Cheers, Jacob.

NA Fairlane Build thread:
the-garage-f53/my-fairlane-build-lowlane-t94891.html.
Also in the garage....
AU LTD, DC LTD, and Lowlane.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: manual conversion
Posted: Sat Feb 08, 2014 5:21 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 13

Joined: 22nd Apr 2013

Ride: 96 ef xr6

Location: canberra
ACT, Australia

thanks mate thats good news. Hopefully when i get starter should be able to go for a spin yew!!!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: manual conversion
Posted: Sat Feb 08, 2014 5:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 1044

Joined: 4th Aug 2010

Ride: NA Fairlane, DC LTD

Location: Alice Springs
NT, Australia

Sounds interesting if its got a C4.. any pics?

 

_________________

[color=#004080]Cheers, Jacob.

NA Fairlane Build thread:
the-garage-f53/my-fairlane-build-lowlane-t94891.html.
Also in the garage....
AU LTD, DC LTD, and Lowlane.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: manual conversion
Posted: Sat Feb 08, 2014 5:38 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

Lowlane7 wrote:
Is the separate auto ECU a Pre-Smartlock thing do you know SWC?

When I converted my fairlane I just had to make sure I had the right trans loom and the ECU would still run it all fine, my understanding was it was because it was pre smartlock and the ECUs didnt have the auto trans maps or whatever extra they had when smartlock/BCMs and the electric 4 speeds came along..

or are V8s different again?


With the I6 the auto is controlled by the ECU, same for all E Series. With V8's EB to EL, the ECU did not control the Auto, they had a seperate ECU.

It won't need a loom as it was fitted with a C4.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: manual conversion
Posted: Sat Feb 08, 2014 5:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 1044

Joined: 4th Aug 2010

Ride: NA Fairlane, DC LTD

Location: Alice Springs
NT, Australia

SWC wrote:
Lowlane7 wrote:
Is the separate auto ECU a Pre-Smartlock thing do you know SWC?

When I converted my fairlane I just had to make sure I had the right trans loom and the ECU would still run it all fine, my understanding was it was because it was pre smartlock and the ECUs didnt have the auto trans maps or whatever extra they had when smartlock/BCMs and the electric 4 speeds came along..

or are V8s different again?


With the I6 the auto is controlled by the ECU, same for all E Series. With V8's EB to EL, the ECU did not control the Auto, they had a seperate ECU.

It won't need a loom as it was fitted with a C4.


Ok, thanks for that. I thought it may be I6 only..

And yeah, I assumed he was gonna need the wiring for the manual speedo etc, didnt realize it was already custom fitted..

 

_________________

[color=#004080]Cheers, Jacob.

NA Fairlane Build thread:
the-garage-f53/my-fairlane-build-lowlane-t94891.html.
Also in the garage....
AU LTD, DC LTD, and Lowlane.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: manual conversion
Posted: Thu Apr 24, 2014 9:54 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 1966

Joined: 13th Aug 2005

Ride: 2000 Au wagon

Location: some where in nsw
NSW, Australia

SWC wrote:
Lowlane7 wrote:
Is the separate auto ECU a Pre-Smartlock thing do you know SWC?

When I converted my fairlane I just had to make sure I had the right trans loom and the ECU would still run it all fine, my understanding was it was because it was pre smartlock and the ECUs didnt have the auto trans maps or whatever extra they had when smartlock/BCMs and the electric 4 speeds came along..

or are V8s different again?


With the I6 the auto is controlled by the ECU, same for all E Series. With V8's EB to EL, the ECU did not control the Auto, they had a seperate ECU.

It won't need a loom as it was fitted with a C4.


not quite right , the ea and eb 1 had seperate engine and trans controllers

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: manual conversion
Posted: Thu Apr 24, 2014 10:09 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 1044

Joined: 4th Aug 2010

Ride: NA Fairlane, DC LTD

Location: Alice Springs
NT, Australia

naughtyfalcon wrote:
SWC wrote:
Lowlane7 wrote:
Is the separate auto ECU a Pre-Smartlock thing do you know SWC?

When I converted my fairlane I just had to make sure I had the right trans loom and the ECU would still run it all fine, my understanding was it was because it was pre smartlock and the ECUs didnt have the auto trans maps or whatever extra they had when smartlock/BCMs and the electric 4 speeds came along..

or are V8s different again?


With the I6 the auto is controlled by the ECU, same for all E Series. With V8's EB to EL, the ECU did not control the Auto, they had a seperate ECU.

It won't need a loom as it was fitted with a C4.


not quite right , the ea and eb 1 had seperate engine and trans controllers


Yeah thats right because the early ECUs can be used for auto or manual, just need to swap the loom.. But Electric 4 speed versions have/need the right ECU, and then the V8s are all like the early versions and dont matter auto to manual, is that right?

 

_________________

[color=#004080]Cheers, Jacob.

NA Fairlane Build thread:
the-garage-f53/my-fairlane-build-lowlane-t94891.html.
Also in the garage....
AU LTD, DC LTD, and Lowlane.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: manual conversion
Posted: Thu Apr 24, 2014 2:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 3440

Joined: 23rd Dec 2007

Gallery: 32 images

Ride: BA XR6T (mix of BA, BF and FG)

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Lowlane7 wrote:
naughtyfalcon wrote:
SWC wrote:
Lowlane7 wrote:
Is the separate auto ECU a Pre-Smartlock thing do you know SWC?

When I converted my fairlane I just had to make sure I had the right trans loom and the ECU would still run it all fine, my understanding was it was because it was pre smartlock and the ECUs didnt have the auto trans maps or whatever extra they had when smartlock/BCMs and the electric 4 speeds came along..

or are V8s different again?


With the I6 the auto is controlled by the ECU, same for all E Series. With V8's EB to EL, the ECU did not control the Auto, they had a seperate ECU.

It won't need a loom as it was fitted with a C4.


not quite right , the ea and eb 1 had seperate engine and trans controllers


Yeah thats right because the early ECUs can be used for auto or manual, just need to swap the loom.. But Electric 4 speed versions have/need the right ECU, and then the V8s are all like the early versions and dont matter auto to manual, is that right?



My old EA II ghia had a 4 spd BTR tranny too.. and that had it's own TCM module for the auto..
Basically with the EB2 they moved the TCM into the ECU, before that it was a seperate module like it is for all of the V8's.


cheers

Frank
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: manual conversion
Posted: Thu Apr 24, 2014 6:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 699

Joined: 1st Jan 2006

Ride: Lots, all Fords

Location: Hamilton
New Zealand

If the V8 ecu is originally from an auto vehicle, then you need a chip, otherwise torque truncation mode activates. This drops up to 12 degrees advance at wide open throttle, which dramatically reduces power. If you need a chip, get one with the CORRECT manual binary loaded to avoid problems. These are EB1 1DGA/1DHA requires 1DFA, early EB2 1DEB/1DJB requires 1DDB, late EB2 1DEC/1DJC requires 1DDC and ED 3DFA requires 3DEA.

 

_________________

XA Faimont 351C, AU2 XR8 Manual 5.0, DA LTD 5.0, Mk1 Capri 5.0, 1995 Mustang 5.0, EF2 XR8 Manual, EF2 Fairmont Ghia 5.0, AU3 XR8 Auto, AU2 XR8 Auto, AU2 XR8 Manual Ute, TE Cortina 5.0 Manual, DU LTD 5.0 soon to be manual

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 6:04 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names