Fordmods Logo

Microtech installation help 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Microtech installation help
Posted: Sat Nov 06, 2010 7:50 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 226

Joined: 8th May 2007

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Im wiring a microtech lt-10 stand alone into my ef fairmont manual. I can leave the computer out of the car, correct? If i do that i noticed that the ecu has a/c wires abd fan control relays, if i leave the ecu unplugged would my a/c and fans still work?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Microtech installation help
Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2010 4:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 3406

Joined: 7th Feb 2005

Ride: AU2 Ute

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

There is no need to remove your stock computer.

Run the microtech so it controls the spark and injectors and leave the stock ECU in to run everything else.

The install will take a lot less time and be just as good.

If you leave the stock ECU in you can let it control the ISC(air con idle up, cold starts etc), thermofans and fuel pump.

You can get the microtech to do all those things too but its more work for no gain in my opinion.

There will be an input on the microtech you can wire the aircon to so when you turn the aircon on the idle will increase slightly.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Microtech installation help
Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2010 5:21 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

afaik you will need to keep the ef ecu connected, as im pretty sure the cluster gets its speed,water temp and tacho info from the factory ecu?? although i could be wrong.....
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Microtech installation help
Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2010 6:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 3763

Joined: 25th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EFII 5.8 NOS TerroristGhia

Power: 274 rwkw

Location: Sydney Australia
NSW, Australia

TROYMAN wrote:
afaik you will need to keep the ef ecu connected, as im pretty sure the cluster gets its speed,water temp and tacho info from the factory ecu?? although i could be wrong.....



You are right. The dash will not work if the microtech is used as a standalone. Also if it is an auto, the factory ECU runs that as well.

Brett

 

_________________

The Terrorist ED Retired due to RUST.
The TerrosistGhia, EF Ghia 351 EFI 5 Speed.
Millennium Falcon, Sleeper EL DOHC 6 Speed Manual EFI LPG
Member#1131
I didn't Vote for Multiculturalism, DID YOU!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Microtech installation help
Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2010 11:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 862

Joined: 8th May 2005

Ride: BA Wagon Turbo, Ba Fairlane G220

Location: Colac
VIC, Australia

TerroristGHIA wrote:
TROYMAN wrote:
afaik you will need to keep the ef ecu connected, as im pretty sure the cluster gets its speed,water temp and tacho info from the factory ecu?? although i could be wrong.....



You are right. The dash will not work if the microtech is used as a standalone. Also if it is an auto, the factory ECU runs that as well.

Brett


Incorrect.. This microtech was out of my car. I was using it as a stand alone had no problems with the dash not working.

 

_________________

Congo Green Ba Wagon With F6 6 Speed Manual Driveline.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Microtech installation help
Posted: Mon Nov 08, 2010 2:43 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 226

Joined: 8th May 2007

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

The cluster is not the problem, ive got climate control as u had just a/c. Thats the problem im having with the climate control
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 1:22 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names